We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Negroman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Mystic River. The room was the best on our whole 6 week trip and the quality of food in the restaurant was excellent. Staff were friendly and attentive and Nadege was always on hand to chat as well - it's refreshing to see a hotel owner who genuinely enjoys spending time with her guests. I would also recommend taking time to explore the many hiking trails above the property.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Mystic River. We particularly enjoyed the special care and attention we received from the staff. Tom and Nadege are excellent hosts. The grounds are beautiful, and the cabanas very comfortable. We found the entire experience to be a really good value with world-class activities at your doorstep, delicious food, attentive service, comfortable lodging, and gorgeous surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

After travelling through Antigua, Lake Atitlan, and the beach in San Pedro, we arrived at Mystic River to wind down our trip. Tom and Nadege have created a little utopia on the river. The grounds are gorgeous and thoughtfully laid out, the cabins are elegant and in outstanding condition, the staff went out of their way to make my wife and I feel welcome, the food at the restaurant was some of the best we had on our trip, and the trips to Tikal and Barton Creek were arranged with guides that were extremely knowledgeable and very personable. We looked at several other resorts out in the San Ignacio area and I am damn glad we stayed at Mystic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstuartbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at Mystic River for 6 nights before heading to Ambergris. We were picked up at the airport by Angel and shared the van ride with another couple going to the Lodge. Would highly recommend their transfer service, as the Lodge is somewhat remote and accessed via 6 miles of dirt road.
The suites are large and comfortable. We especially liked the private balcony facing the river and the cozy fireplace. Every morning we had hot coffee delivered to our door. Breakfasts were fantastic. Watching the exotic birds eat fruit from a tray placed at eye level a few feet from the dining area was amazing. Excursions were arranged by Gina and Nadege and we were picked up and delivered back to the Lodge. The tour guides were all very personable and knowledgable. The palapa bar was a delight with Leo's "specials" every night. Every evening we had a lovely dinner at their open air restaurant. The food was gourmet quality and reasonably priced. After dinner some of the guests gathered around the large fireplace with the owners Tom and Nadege and shared experiences. Great camaraderie! We were usually tired after a day of exploration and welcomed staying in and being pampered by the attentive staff. They even baked a birthday cake with candles for my husband's birthday.The WiFi was accessed in the open air restaurant area. The whole place was a photographer's dream!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at Mystic River Dec. 28 and 29. We only had 2 nights and one full day at this beautiful resort. Tom and Nadege have built a wonderful jungle lodge set perfectly along the banks of the river. The 6 cabins are all located with a river view. Despite our concern at the lack of heat in the rooms when we arrived (a strange cold front had blown in) the fireplaces in the rooms kept everyone warm throughout the night. The restaurant was open all day and late at night and offered a full range menu at any time. Leo served amazing drinks at the bar and provided lovely conversation. All of the staff at Mystic River are friendly and go out of their way to make sure that you have everything you need. When we arrived back after a day in the Mayan Caves and were soaking wet they literally took the shoes off our feet to dry them. Our stay was too short and we will definately be back should we find ourselves in the Belizean jungle again. Thanks Tom and Nadege!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negroman
4.8 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
2.3 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
1.6 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
13.7 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
18.5 km away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic River Resort

Address: Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, Negroman, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio > Negroman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Negroman
Price Range: $213 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize at its finest! Nestled on a steep bank of the beautiful Macal River, eco-friendly Mystic River Resort offers the best of all worlds to those who travel to Belize. In this oasis of privacy, serenity and rejuvenation, there are no crowds, just the soothing sound of birds, rustling trees, soft breezes and breath-taking views. We are a full-service Jungle Resort with an open-air restaurant, bar, spa, splash pool, yoga deck, adventure desk, luxurious accommodations with studios, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites – some featuring private plunge pools and outdoor showers! All our units offer king size beds, fireplace and private patio along with majestic views of the rain-forest and the river. Mystic River Resort, is located 7 miles from the twin towns of San Ignacio and Santa Elena, surrounded by incredible serene wilderness – it is the best place to find the perfect something – or nothing – to do. We look forward to welcoming you- at the Mystic River Resort. Your MMR Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mystic River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic River Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing