We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
699
51
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
51
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben cruzpalapa baratm cavemayan ruinshorseback ridingevery morningyoga deckzip lininggoat cheesedaily specialson siteour honeymoonpacked lunchthe open air restaurantowners and staffsan pedrowonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Mystic River. We particularly enjoyed the special care and attention we received from the staff. Tom and Nadege are excellent hosts. The grounds are beautiful, and the cabanas very comfortable. We found the entire experience to be a really good value with world-class activities at your doorstep, delicious food, attentive service, comfortable lodging, and gorgeous surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

After travelling through Antigua, Lake Atitlan, and the beach in San Pedro, we arrived at Mystic River to wind down our trip. Tom and Nadege have created a little utopia on the river. The grounds are gorgeous and thoughtfully laid out, the cabins are elegant and in outstanding condition, the staff went out of their way to make my wife and I feel welcome, the food at the restaurant was some of the best we had on our trip, and the trips to Tikal and Barton Creek were arranged with guides that were extremely knowledgeable and very personable. We looked at several other resorts out in the San Ignacio area and I am damn glad we stayed at Mystic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstuartbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at Mystic River for 6 nights before heading to Ambergris. We were picked up at the airport by Angel and shared the van ride with another couple going to the Lodge. Would highly recommend their transfer service, as the Lodge is somewhat remote and accessed via 6 miles of dirt road.
The suites are large and comfortable. We especially liked the private balcony facing the river and the cozy fireplace. Every morning we had hot coffee delivered to our door. Breakfasts were fantastic. Watching the exotic birds eat fruit from a tray placed at eye level a few feet from the dining area was amazing. Excursions were arranged by Gina and Nadege and we were picked up and delivered back to the Lodge. The tour guides were all very personable and knowledgable. The palapa bar was a delight with Leo's "specials" every night. Every evening we had a lovely dinner at their open air restaurant. The food was gourmet quality and reasonably priced. After dinner some of the guests gathered around the large fireplace with the owners Tom and Nadege and shared experiences. Great camaraderie! We were usually tired after a day of exploration and welcomed staying in and being pampered by the attentive staff. They even baked a birthday cake with candles for my husband's birthday.The WiFi was accessed in the open air restaurant area. The whole place was a photographer's dream!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at Mystic River Dec. 28 and 29. We only had 2 nights and one full day at this beautiful resort. Tom and Nadege have built a wonderful jungle lodge set perfectly along the banks of the river. The 6 cabins are all located with a river view. Despite our concern at the lack of heat in the rooms when we arrived (a strange cold front had blown in) the fireplaces in the rooms kept everyone warm throughout the night. The restaurant was open all day and late at night and offered a full range menu at any time. Leo served amazing drinks at the bar and provided lovely conversation. All of the staff at Mystic River are friendly and go out of their way to make sure that you have everything you need. When we arrived back after a day in the Mayan Caves and were soaking wet they literally took the shoes off our feet to dry them. Our stay was too short and we will definately be back should we find ourselves in the Belizean jungle again. Thanks Tom and Nadege!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Excellent place to stay! Beautiful room! Beautiful location on the Macal River! Excellent dinner! We arrived tired and this was our first night in Belize. It was so comfortable that we slept 12 hours. Highly recommended! Enjoyed the canoe ride on the river...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artladyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews