We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$147
View deal
Booking.comUS$148
PricelineUS$148
Hotels.comUS$147
eDreamsUS$148
TravelocityUS$147
CheapTicketsUS$147
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
442
99
14
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
442
99
14
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch alvie small hotel large portions wonderful hotel friendly welcome comfortable room local produce lovely meal a wonderful stay friendly hotel both nights log fire evening meal breakfast was delicious porridge aviemore drambuie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2021

We ate in the restaurant, very friendly and accommodating. Food was amazing - recommend the truffle polenta, brilliant!

Very good catering for allergies and good advice on the options available in the menus.

Date of stay: October 2021
1  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. Glad you found us accommodating for allergies, we do try hard to meet all guests needs. Hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

From website - I was expecting a large Country House in extensive grounds alongside the loch - but first impressions are of a country pub alongside a busy road and a fairly busy railway line - in fact neither give the right impression!! As others have said - it is a friendly, well managed hotel serving good quality food - well worth a visit - but do not expect a Stately Home!!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Not a stately home no but a historic Inn and well-loved family business. I'm so glad initial impressions were not founded for you, we work hard to provide a great experience and while our hotel is small we aim high, to create a lovely guest experience. Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021

My husband and I enjoyed our 2night stay at the Rowan Tree , Jonny and Tamasina made us feel so welcome , the staff were all very attentive and friendly , our room was beautiful and spotless . The food was delicious , we had dinner on both nights and would recommend highly to all my friends and family . The breakfast was delicious and great to be served instead of self service which is the norm in most hotels these days . The hotel is in a great location. With lovely views of loch Alvie , also very close to visiting the strathspey area . We also had a lovely trip on the steam train ,which I also highly recommend.

Room tip: Back of hotel will have quiet rooms , we were room 9 to the front of hotel which was lovely
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christinehW8469LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Great to hear you found us welcoming and attentive. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We put a lot of thought into our dining experiences, it's great to know our breakfast service and quality was appreciated and enjoyed. Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Our second stay here, reflecting how much we enjoyed it first time around. Travelled September, stayed 3 nights. Location is perfect for us. Staff are really welcoming and truly kind. We took both Grannies away with us so had three rooms. All rooms were well appointed , spotless and comfortable. Communal areas within the hotel are similarly pleasant spaces to sit and chat. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner each day and can only praise the food and service. For a small country hotel you can only be impressed. Staff are friendly and thoughtful, making this an obvious hotel to recommend to others. We all had a wonderful stay, making it an easy choice for a return visit.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmatt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Fantastic to have you as returning guests, recommending our hotel. Such kinds words, thank you for taking the time to review. We are a small hotel but we aim big and want our guests to have a relaxing and comfortable stay with great food and service. So glad we could meet this aim for you. We look forward to having you stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

The hotel owners (Jonny and Tamasina) were really friendly and welcoming, and all the staff were great. Situated in a very convenient location, with nice walks right from the front door. A well-stocked bar, and the quality of the restaurant food was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petesH1092RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Good to know you felt welcomed and found our food and bar excellent, we are lucky to have so many wonderful local suppliers of whiskey, beer and gin to enhance our bar. Look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews