We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,569)
Filter reviews
7,569 results
Traveller rating
5,034
1,625
517
227
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,034
1,625
517
227
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la toc crepes club level london pub our honeymoon english pub main pool speedboat tour concierge room jerk shack red lane spa butler service st lucia fort rodney pigeon island no pressure lagoon pool
Filter
Updating list...
5,688 - 5,693 of 7,569 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Sandals was an amazing place to stay. The people were so friendly and were always willing to go the extra mile. We booked an excursion through Island Routes. Pearl and Bella were the experts on all of the trips. They were very friendly and knowledgeable. Our tour guide was Nilon. He was awesome! Can't wait to visit the island again. No problem. No pressure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawgwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My husband, brother-in-law and his wife travelled together. We arrived on 2/14/11 and departed on 2/23/11. The trip there from Atlanta was on Delta and no food other than peanuts was available. For a plane with 150+ passengers, the flight attendant said they only had 10 sandwiches (this was a 4 hour flight). Arrived at St. Lucia airport and the luggage attendant acted like he worked for St. Lucia--took our luggage about 75 feet and stacked the bags--then essentially demanded a tip. Rip off. The shuttle to St. Lucian Grande was a long ride-over 2 hours as we had rush hour traffic to contend with. Arrived at the resort--very friendly workers greeted us. We at at Bayside--terribly slow service and food was not good. Very disappointing. Room was just okay--nothing great. Looks somewhat dated. Internet service is 42.00/week--terrible service and they credited the charges as a result. We had an oceanfront view--it was okay too, but the grounds were dirt covered and the air conditioning units were noisy and ran constantly outside. They were surrounded by a wooden fence but visible from our view on the 2nd floor. The dirt covered area was large and unattractive. They have security guards 24 hrs. and one of them decided to relieve hinself while I was on the balcony in the early morning. Again, all of the employees were very friendly and service-oriented. The food was good after the first disappointment--but stick to seafood as the beef and pork are tough. We had trouble getting a shaded area to use (i.e. an umbrella or cabana) as these are in short supply and guests get up very early to reserve them--it's first come first serve. We were given a cabana for 3 days however at my request as I have a skin condition that requires avoiding sun exposure as much as possible. The vendors do not cross the fenced off area, but do approach you on the beach. We very much enjoyed the beach barbeque grill and had one other similar meal served outside that was great. My husband was sitting on a metal chair (high seating) and the leg broke. He is not an overweight individual. The swim up bar was fun. The pools are clean and enjoyable. Would I return to this location? No, it takes too long to get there and the shuttle was a pain. Then you have to do it again when you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonni68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This is our first trip to St. Lucia, and the Grande, and we have visited many other resorts, and we found the Sandals, Grande St. Lucian to be just a superb expereince, the quality of the reseort, the rooms, the food, the staff, the location. It was worth every penny spent, and we will return, only this time for a longer stay, as there was so much we didn't get to see or expereince.
Our only down ws that our travel carrier got us to the resort a day late, and our luggage was lost for a day, nothing to do with Sandals Grande St. Lucian.

Any one who wouldlike to expereince a truly relaxing and superb expereince visit Sandals Grande St. Lucian.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonctonMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Sandals the first week of Mar. 2011. I did my research before we went and wasn't expecting the world by the past reviews that I read on blogs. We also won this trip through my wife's work so I couldn't complain with a free trip to a great island. Overall the resort is nice. It's not in the newest condition but it makes the grade. The service at the front desk is not the best. They really don't care about your needs and are quite rude when you request anything out of the normal. The food was okay I would say the breakfast is the best but other than that it's just okay. There is a resturant that is on the resort that I heard was really good but you have to pay extra to eat there which is weird but I guess that is why it's good. The beach is great and very nice. It is though kind of weird that the resort does let a few ventors come through to try to sell you stuff. I would rather not be bothered or feel guilty on buying some crapping gifts. The people on the island and the rest of the stuff besides the front desk are very nice. Most of the employees seem to enjoy their jobs and are quite nice. Overall the resort is nice but not 5 diamond like they says. If I was paying top dollar at this resort I would be pissed because is not 5 diamond. If you can get a room for around $500 a night go or it because at least you get free drinks and most of the food is free. I would spend anymore money per night because of the lack of some services and condition of the hotel. The people on St. Luica island are great people and the island is great.
Enjoy your trip

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nez74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We travel every winter for only one week so it is very important for us to do our research and to pick the resort the best fits our wish list. We have been to several resorts in the Carribbean with our children but this is the second time we have been to an Adults only Sandals (our previous stay was at Sandals Negril in 2009) and our third time with Sandals/Beaches ( we stayed at Beaches Turks and Caicos in 2010 with our son). We have previously stayed in Trelawny and Negril, Jamaica, Puerto Vallarta and the Mayan Riviera, Mexico, Ambergis Cay, Belize, and Puerto Rico.
To be honest, comparing all three holidays with Sandals/Beaches, the best was Sandals Negril. After this experience, we decided to become Sandals Select members and researched other prime Sandals locations. If we had not experienced the level of service that we did at Sandals Negril, that is butler service, in a prime new location, it is doubtful that we would have booked another Sandals vacation. The prime reason was that we were upgraded to the top category with butler service so that was very hard to beat. I think that if you have a top room category with Butler service, especially if you are upgraded, it will be a totally different experience....amazing accomodation and service, no matter what Sandals resort you stay in. We have had butler service and concierge, and depending on the resort, especially Negril, it is worth getting the accomodations associated with Butler service. So...for all of those who are planning to tie the knot next year, forget the fancy wedding - spend the money on the beach at Sandals with Butler service - you will never regret that decision. It will give you one or two weeks of the most amazing experience you will ever have - way better than spending that amount of money on one day. You can be a special couple for 7 days, instead of one.
Sandals has prime property all over the world and have had so for years in places such as Negril, St. Lucia, Antigua etc. so if you are looking to have a room that is fairly new and fresh you will need to get a higher room category in an area that has recently (5 years) been built or recently refurbished. Such is the case in Negril, one of the riverfront penthouse suites, recently built - the room was beautiful, new, steps away from the beach, with a beautiful view. If you have butler service, no need to get up early to get a prime spot on the beach, reservations are made at every restaurant for you with no waiting, no worry. Cold drinks/wine/beer are placed in a cooler by your spot on the beach, you can order lunch from the beach...anything you want. You can also order dinner (again, anything you want) to your balcony for extra privacy. Food was amazingly good...with amazingly fresh food offered outside by the ocean at the Bayside for breakfast and dining under the stars by the ocean at several good restaurants. We come from a cold climate and are absolutely not interested in eating in an air-conditioned restaurant - especially Japanese, or French etc. we want to eat seafood/fresh fish/local gourmet outside as much as possible, in a relaxed but romantic Caribbean setting ...Negril delivers. However, it is all about the room and how new it is that really can make this a special vacation.
Beaches Turks and Caicos had new accommodations oceanfront and amazing food and an amazing beach but lacked the lushness you may want from a Caribbean holiday - however, we would not hesitate to go back if we were with our teenagers.

Sandals Grande St. Lucia was our second adult only vacation. Getting to and from Winnipeg was more time consuming than going to Sandals Negril as it was not a direct flight and we hit a storm in Toronto on the way back which made it an extremely long trip home.

The trip from the International Airport in St. Lucia is long and winding, but not as bad as portrayed in other reviews. We took the shuttle from the resort to the airport for our departure and it was interesting. However, it is worth considering taking the helicopter from the International airport to the local airport for the following reasons:
1. If you have a long day travelling to St. Lucia you will appreciate the 1/2 hr. transfer as opposed to 1.5 hour - 2 hour transfer, after a long day. Some areas of the road have been re-routed because of damage from the hurricane in late 2010 and if you hit rush hour after you have stood in line to go thru customs it is a loooong haul....2 1/4 - 2 1/2 hrs. from touchdown as opposed to 45 minutes by total by helicopter.
2. The helicopter ride was $145.00 U.S. each/ one way booked thru St. Lucia Helicopters directly. So worth it - they were very professional. We booked directly on-line and followed up with a phone call to confirm. Do not book thru Sandals - they wanted $180.00 U.S. each and this did not include the 10 minute transfer from the local airport. It cost us $30.00 U.S. for the transfer to Sandals Grande. We saved $70.00 U.S. by booking directly - no worries, you pay upon arrival.
3. the helicopter ride was one of the highlights of our vacation and we considered it part of our excursion expenses ...it will surpass any of the other excursions - it is amazing, exciting, perfect length of time after a day of travelling, gave us an overall view of the island – i.e. the effects of the 2010 hurricane, banana plantations, the lushness of the island....do not miss this experience.
I was a little reluctant to go on a helicopter, especially on a small island and having 2 dependents, but no worries...you are in very professional hands.
4. We arrived at the concierge lounge long before the people arriving on the shuttle. It was very relaxed and we were able to book our restaurants/cabana early. We also made a change in the location of our room, which was a lot easier if there are not many guests arriving at the same time. The supervisor told us to come back later to reserve the restaurants, but we gently suggested that we would prefer to do as soon as we were shown our room...do it.
Sandals Grande St. Lucia offered the following which we appreciated:
great location...probably one of the best on the islands...calm bay with lots of sailboats and nice, but not overly extensive beach...much longer beach to walk and explore in Negril, although not as picturesque or lush as St. Lucia. Also, such a calm bay...you can snorkel, sail, ski, jet ski in a very calm bay. Many people staying at Sandals La Toc came to the Grande every day to enjoy the calm beach and water sports. The Beach at La Toc was red-flagged every day we were there and they were not able to enjoy the water sports for the entire week at La Toc. - if you are a beach/water sports person stay at the Grande.
If you love good food, the Barefoot at the Grande is best - otherwise take the shuttle to the Regency for excellent dining – Neptune’s was wonderful.
Our room was exactly as ordered - great view, clean, but no upgrade, disappointing after upgrades at the 2 previous Sandals/Beaches. If you want an upgrade do not book during the busiest times... unless you are honeymooning.
We were very disappointed in the breakfast offerings - spoiled by Sandals Negril and Beaches Turks and Caicos where the offerings were way more extensive/varied in the outdoors. If you have a concierge level room, order room service for breakfast the night before, it is as hot as if you dressed and went to Bayside. Toscanini’s is a la carte for breakfast, but air-conditioned/dark and just ok.
We booked a tour with Charlie from Exodus Tours and this was the second highlight of our trip. They are safe and entertaining. We did not want to spend an entire day seeing the island by land if we could do the same on a boat, viewing the amazing coast. If you do the same trip to Soufriere with Sandals it is a much longer trip, with half of it by land - hot, long and not as exciting. - our trip was also a lot shorter, so you are back on the beach by 2:00 - 2:30 pm. as opposed to 2 hrs. later if you took the Sandals tour. We were a little apprehensive to give Charlie a down payment of $100.00 U.S. but, because we read so many positives about the trips on tripadvisor, we gave a deposit...no problem...they delivered, and then some – very entertaining.
By the way never saw a cockroach/bedbug. Also, don't worry if the weather indicates scattered showers as the showers generally occur in the higher elevations, there is the occasional brief sprinkle to keep the island lush.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews