We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation and horseback riding with Island Riders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rodney Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We went to Sandals Grande St. Lucia and our trip was so memorable. The resort was incredible, the people were friendly and we enjoyed some of the activities that were available outside the resort.

One of our favourites was the horseback riding with Bano and Iva of Island Riders. Bano and Iva are great people who really extened themselves to us and made us feel welcomed on the island.

Their horses were nearby and very comfortable with people. Bano and Iva took us out riding at sunset and we enjoy the dream ride along the beach as the sun was setting, an extremely romantic and memorable experience.

After that we headed into the nearby town and enjoyed a local bar, playing pool and a local restaurant, where the food was fantastic. We then headed back to the resort at night. The experience was so memorable and is something we would definitely do again.

We highly recommend it to anyone that stays at Sandals Grande, St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,718 - 5,722 of 7,041 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and were overall very disappointed with the resort and staff. We had very high expectations based on reading other reviews and seeing photos of the rooms. Our room was very nice, but not what we expected. The sandals website advertises premium beverages, but 80% of the time we were told they did not have our request stocked and we weren't asking for much... Bacardi, White Wine... simple typical request. No one here is in a hurry and we often waiting 5 to 10 minutes just to order a drink.

Our first night at the resort we ate at Barefoot and waited more than 45 minutes for our entree to be served. Our dining experience took more than 2 1/2 hours just to eat a very simple 4 course meal (salad, appetizer, entree, dessert). Andrew (another waiter) saw us waiting and tried to make it right... but again the LAZY staff didn't seem concerned that we had waited so long and made time to chat right in front of us. Which only made us more upset.

The beaches were always very crowded from the standpoint of a beach cabana... there were several empty but had signs that they were reserved for other guests. :-(

The water sports were a different story... we had immediate assistance most of the time and loved the scuba guides and use of the hobby cats!

It was our honeymoon so we of course had a good time, but we will not return to a sandals resort.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasmarshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at the Sandals Grande St. Lucia for our honeymoon in late September. The weather was awesome- low 90's and sunny. Only 2 days with about 5 minutes of rain. Humidity was the only bad thing- got pretty sticky. Pools were great- main pool has swim up bar with excellent drinks and service. Lots of different restaurants to choose from- Italian restaurant had best food and the Old London pub was a fun hangout for a few drinks. Rooms were very cozy and extremely clean- room service did a thorough job. Would recommend kayaking and snorkeling- both free through the resort. Would also recommend the zip-lining tour. BEAUTIFUL scenery, exciting adventure. Wear comfortable clothes- the ride to and from there is a about an hour each way. Would highly recommend this resort to any newlyweds looking for a fun, romantic honeymoon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emb08Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My new bride and I stayed at the SGSL from Sept. 21-28, 2009, and we absolutely, positively loved it (I'm 29, she's 30). Prior to the trip, I was wrestling over which Sandals to stay at in St. Lucia. I finally decided on the Grande, and then had to struggle with the decision of which room to go with. We opted for the concierge level oceanfront and I couldn't have been happier with the choice. We visited all three Sandals properties and we liked the vibe of the Grande the best. I would maybe like to stay at the Regency one day because it seemed very nice, as well. We had dinner at Kimonos at it was our most enjoyable dinner experience by far. My wife was not thrilled about how spread out the property was, but I didn't mind walking around. It felt like its own little village.
The staff at the Grande is really what made it. It took us a little while to get used to everyone smiling at you and saying hello whenever they passed in the hallways. The concierge office was always willing to get you whatever you needed. My wife celebrated her 30th birthday and they decorated the room with balloons, flowers, and a cake.

Food was good, not great. We attempted to eat every meal and that is not something we are used to at home so it made both of us a little bit sick. But that was our faults for over-indulging. Barefoot By The Sea was our favorite restaurant, both food wise and atmosphere. Bayside was good to grab something quickly off the buffet. Toscanini's was good, but there was an unpleasant smell both times we were in there. Josephines was OK and had good pizza. The Olde London Pub was fun, and we enjoyed our one dinner there. We ordered room service for breakfast almost every morning and late night a couple of times and we were never dissapointed.

The beach was gorgeous and the pool was always alot of fun. It was difficult to get chairs under cabanas or palm trees on the beach, but chairs without shade were always open.

I don't think we would have done anything different. The concierge level was completely worth it. We are drinkers, so the stocked bar in the room was huge. Room service and the extra perks from concierge were worth the extra money.

All in all, Sandals SGSL made our honeymoon! Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skobabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

What an absolutely wonderful place for a honeymoon!!!

My wife and I chose St. Lucia because my longtime friend and his wife went there for their honeymoon and stayed at the Sandals Regency 6 years ago, have been back, and have not stopped talking about it since! We decided to stay at the Sandals Grande because it was a bit smaller and more intimate, but still big enough to have enough people for a bit of a nightlife. The staff at the Sandals Grande were so very nice and accomodating. They would all tell you, "How can I help you? I am here to please you." Are you kidding me?? We were so amazed at their friendliness and hospitality!! These people are so nice and work so hard to live up to what they tell you, and you get the feeling that they ask you because they want to, not because they have to. Even the locals in St. Lucia were very nice. I am convinced this is the nicest place on earth...both the scenery and the people combined.

Thank you Sandals Grande staff for making our honeymoon all that we could have ever asked for.

A few pointers if you go there:
-Find Keisha the Culinary Relations person...she can hook you up with cook-to-order meals in the restaurants at no additional charge...yum yum!
-Find Davidson, a bartender in the bar near the lobby, at night and have him prepare you one of his special drinks (the blue one with about 8 ingredients was our favorite!!)...amazing bartender!!
-Go to the local street party on Friday nights and check out the local scene...neat experience!
-Take a local tour with Cosol Tours, which we found on TripAdvisor. So much fun and so much to see for a great price!!

Now stop thinking about it and book your trip...you won't regret it...so much fun!

No pressure, no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BJAllstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodney Bay
28.2 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
10.8 km away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,403 reviews
6.9 km away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
15.7 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
4.4 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Rodney Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rodney Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rodney Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rodney Bay
Price Range: $788 - $2,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing