We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bay Gardens Hotel(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$517
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm Resort(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
US$358
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heritage House Rodney Bay(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
US$271
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie's Hotel(Gros Islet)
US$92
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,459)
Filter reviews
7,459 results
Traveller rating
4,937
1,616
515
225
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,937
1,616
515
225
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla toccrepesclub levellondon pubour honeymoonenglish pubbutler servicemain poolspeedboat tourconcierge roomjerk shackred lane spast luciafort rodneyno pressurelagoon poolpigeon island
Filter
Updating list...
6,130 - 6,135 of 7,459 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and were overall very disappointed with the resort and staff. We had very high expectations based on reading other reviews and seeing photos of the rooms. Our room was very nice, but not what we expected. The sandals website advertises premium beverages, but 80% of the time we were told they did not have our request stocked and we weren't asking for much... Bacardi, White Wine... simple typical request. No one here is in a hurry and we often waiting 5 to 10 minutes just to order a drink.

Our first night at the resort we ate at Barefoot and waited more than 45 minutes for our entree to be served. Our dining experience took more than 2 1/2 hours just to eat a very simple 4 course meal (salad, appetizer, entree, dessert). Andrew (another waiter) saw us waiting and tried to make it right... but again the LAZY staff didn't seem concerned that we had waited so long and made time to chat right in front of us. Which only made us more upset.

The beaches were always very crowded from the standpoint of a beach cabana... there were several empty but had signs that they were reserved for other guests. :-(

The water sports were a different story... we had immediate assistance most of the time and loved the scuba guides and use of the hobby cats!

It was our honeymoon so we of course had a good time, but we will not return to a sandals resort.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasmarshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at the Sandals Grande St. Lucia for our honeymoon in late September. The weather was awesome- low 90's and sunny. Only 2 days with about 5 minutes of rain. Humidity was the only bad thing- got pretty sticky. Pools were great- main pool has swim up bar with excellent drinks and service. Lots of different restaurants to choose from- Italian restaurant had best food and the Old London pub was a fun hangout for a few drinks. Rooms were very cozy and extremely clean- room service did a thorough job. Would recommend kayaking and snorkeling- both free through the resort. Would also recommend the zip-lining tour. BEAUTIFUL scenery, exciting adventure. Wear comfortable clothes- the ride to and from there is a about an hour each way. Would highly recommend this resort to any newlyweds looking for a fun, romantic honeymoon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emb08Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My new bride and I stayed at the SGSL from Sept. 21-28, 2009, and we absolutely, positively loved it (I'm 29, she's 30). Prior to the trip, I was wrestling over which Sandals to stay at in St. Lucia. I finally decided on the Grande, and then had to struggle with the decision of which room to go with. We opted for the concierge level oceanfront and I couldn't have been happier with the choice. We visited all three Sandals properties and we liked the vibe of the Grande the best. I would maybe like to stay at the Regency one day because it seemed very nice, as well. We had dinner at Kimonos at it was our most enjoyable dinner experience by far. My wife was not thrilled about how spread out the property was, but I didn't mind walking around. It felt like its own little village.
The staff at the Grande is really what made it. It took us a little while to get used to everyone smiling at you and saying hello whenever they passed in the hallways. The concierge office was always willing to get you whatever you needed. My wife celebrated her 30th birthday and they decorated the room with balloons, flowers, and a cake.

Food was good, not great. We attempted to eat every meal and that is not something we are used to at home so it made both of us a little bit sick. But that was our faults for over-indulging. Barefoot By The Sea was our favorite restaurant, both food wise and atmosphere. Bayside was good to grab something quickly off the buffet. Toscanini's was good, but there was an unpleasant smell both times we were in there. Josephines was OK and had good pizza. The Olde London Pub was fun, and we enjoyed our one dinner there. We ordered room service for breakfast almost every morning and late night a couple of times and we were never dissapointed.

The beach was gorgeous and the pool was always alot of fun. It was difficult to get chairs under cabanas or palm trees on the beach, but chairs without shade were always open.

I don't think we would have done anything different. The concierge level was completely worth it. We are drinkers, so the stocked bar in the room was huge. Room service and the extra perks from concierge were worth the extra money.

All in all, Sandals SGSL made our honeymoon! Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skobabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

What an absolutely wonderful place for a honeymoon!!!

My wife and I chose St. Lucia because my longtime friend and his wife went there for their honeymoon and stayed at the Sandals Regency 6 years ago, have been back, and have not stopped talking about it since! We decided to stay at the Sandals Grande because it was a bit smaller and more intimate, but still big enough to have enough people for a bit of a nightlife. The staff at the Sandals Grande were so very nice and accomodating. They would all tell you, "How can I help you? I am here to please you." Are you kidding me?? We were so amazed at their friendliness and hospitality!! These people are so nice and work so hard to live up to what they tell you, and you get the feeling that they ask you because they want to, not because they have to. Even the locals in St. Lucia were very nice. I am convinced this is the nicest place on earth...both the scenery and the people combined.

Thank you Sandals Grande staff for making our honeymoon all that we could have ever asked for.

A few pointers if you go there:
-Find Keisha the Culinary Relations person...she can hook you up with cook-to-order meals in the restaurants at no additional charge...yum yum!
-Find Davidson, a bartender in the bar near the lobby, at night and have him prepare you one of his special drinks (the blue one with about 8 ingredients was our favorite!!)...amazing bartender!!
-Go to the local street party on Friday nights and check out the local scene...neat experience!
-Take a local tour with Cosol Tours, which we found on TripAdvisor. So much fun and so much to see for a great price!!

Now stop thinking about it and book your trip...you won't regret it...so much fun!

No pressure, no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BJAllstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We just got back from 7 nights at Sandals Grande St. Lucia. First of all we were 2 couples in our 50's surrounded by honeymooners. It was so much fun watching all the couples make friends with each other and party at the pool and join in on the games and competitions. We never felt out of place. Everyone was very nice. We were told by several people which restaurants were best and which ones to stay away from. All the advice turned out to be wrong. So just try everything and judge for yourself. We did 2 excursions, both we signed up for on the beach. One was with Darvin to go to the zip line in the rain forest. There are 2 trips. One takes 1 1/2 hours to go to. We took the one that was only a 30 minute ride. Rode up the gondola in the rain forest and did 11 zip lines. Very fun and beautiful scenery. Got back to the resort in time for lunch. The second excursion was with Julian, a fast boat ride to volcano (we passed on paying the extra 5.00 to see it and were told later we made a good decision), native lunch at a restaurant, snorkeling which was great and hike to a mineral water fall. St. Lucia is a beautiful island, so lush. The Grande was the nicest of all 3 Sandals in fact we had tons of people coming over all the time from the other 2 resorts to use our beach. So if you don't make it over to the Halycon or Regency, you haven't missed anything. Lots of talk about going to the Regency for dinner at Kimono's-the Japenese restaurant. Wasn't what it was all cracked up to be, pleasant but nothing to be disappointed about if you can't get it. The food at the Grande was just as good. We spent tons of time in the London Pub at our resort because it had sports on TV all the time......remember we weren't honeymooners. To sum up, it is a fabulous place, the staff was extremely friendly and so were the island people. Everyone wanted to make sure you were enjoying yourself. The rooms were very nice, always very clean, great A/C and great turndown service and we stayed in the least expensive rooms! Food was about what you expect from an all-inclusive. We were told to stay away from Toscanno's and it wound up being our favorite. Josephine's has excellent pizza! Bayside breakfast buffet, typical buffet, but Toscanno's has a more elegant atmosphere for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Procailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews