We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of Le Vieux Relais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pepieux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vieux Relais
Ranked #1 of 2 Pepieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We Looked up Le Vieux Relais after seeing it on the 'James Martin's French Adventure' show and so glad we did.
This 18th century coaching inn located on the corner of Pepieux village is a delightful Chambre d’hôte and we used it as our base for exploring the many nearby sites of the area.
The owners Mike and Val were wonderful hosts and really made us feel welcome and part of the family.
We stayed in the Carcassonne suite which is a lovely large airy suite with arm chairs and fans to keep it cool with an en suite.
Going down to breakfast to the smell of Mike’s fresh bread and croissants was a delight in itself.
Both Mike and Val had a vast knowledge of the area and having told them the places we would like to see they gave advice on times to visit to avoid traffic and also helped with booking etc.
After a day out, it was nice to come back and relax by the pool before having aperitifs and our evening meal.
The evening meals were fantastic and prepared by Mike and Val using local produce accompanied by wine from the area.
Mike and Val are a lovely couple and really go out of their way to make your stay with them perfect.
We would definitely recommend staying here and will be returning ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nca61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in June as part of our 2 week tour of France on a motorbike. Mike and Val couldn't do more to make our stay with them more welcoming. We had some great meals cooked by Chef Mike on his barbecue and enjoyed eating our meals in the cool of the courtyard of their lovely coach House. Relaxing by the pool with a beer after riding around in the heat was just what we needed. Mike and Val gave us some great recommendations on where to visit even taking us to a local market. Thanks Mike and Val for a great time, hope to come back some time. We very much appreciated Mike making us several cappuccinos which we were struggling to find on our tour round France.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank traceyh1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersPepieux, Owner at Le Vieux Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi Tracey, thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed hosting you both and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much, we hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

As regular visitors to Le Vieux Relais we were thrilled to see our favourite Chambre d'Hote feature in chef James Martin's French Adventure on ITV this week. Check out episode 3 on the Languedoc. The rooms, the food, and Val and Mike's warm welcome have never failed to live up to expectations, so its great to see their hard work recognised.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LutonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We hosted our wedding at Le Vieux Relais over 3 days. Val and Mike were wonderful at catering for our needs and for our extended family.

They organised a paella lunch, the wedding day it self and a big breakfast for the day after the wedding.

Val was able to organise essentials such as a hairdresser and wedding cake.

Thank you for making it a wonderful week.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank vicki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We stayed at Le Vieux Relais in late August 2014. We had been on a very fast paced sightseeing schedule, moving every 3 days or so. It was wonderful to arrive there and relax for a change. It is a very charming old coaching station. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

Mike and Val could not have made us feel more welcome. We enjoyed many delicious meals prepared by our hosts. At the same time they have a knack of suggesting places for you to enjoy. After enjoying a day of leisurely seeing the sights we would return for a refreshing dip in the pool followed by a cocktail in the garden. The surrounding countryside is beautiful. You are in the middle of all of these picturesque vineyards. Val and Mike recommended a tour of a couple of the vineyards which included a delicious lunch. It was great fun. We couldn't have had a better ending to our trip. I hope to return many times.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lovejoy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Vieux Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Relais

Address: 1 rue de l Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Pepieux
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pepieux
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Relais as seen from the village square. In the 18th century Le Vieux Relais was a coaching station situated on the corner of the village square. Today it is a well situated relaxing oasis that affords a unique insight into French village life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing