We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming”
Review of Le Vieux Relais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pepieux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vieux Relais
Ranked #1 of 2 Pepieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Pleasant, neat, good breakfast with hot croissants, supper was delicious and delightful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2009

My wife and i stayed 4 days at Le Vieux Relais. Nothing was too much trouble. In an unobtrusive way Val and Mike gave advice on where to go and what to see Our room was large and immaculate; the food outstanding ( ask for Val's chocolate cake).. If marks are to be awarded out of 10, Le Vieux Relais would receive 11. It was one of the best B & B's in France we have ever stayed in

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broteham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed in Le Vieux Relais for 4 nights at the beginning of September. This chambre d'hote perfectly combines original features and a real feeling of authenicity along with all the modern comfort one needs after a day of exploring medieval villages! The room was immaculate, extremely spacious and I loved the details like the wooden shutters and beams!

The location of Le Vieux Relais was good for exploring the Languedoc and was handy for so many beautiful sites and things to do. Val and Mike have a great knowledge of the area and are happy to advise on what is worth doing. We got to see some fabulous little villages we would have missed without their help.

We dined in with Val and Mike on the evening we arrived. The food and company was fantastic and it was a nice way to relax after a few hectic days in Paris. We ate in local restaurants, recommended by Val and Mike for the other evenings and we were not disappointed.

All in all a fabulous place to experience life in a French village and to explore some spectular scenary, wrapped up with the benefits of local knowledge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndseyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

After finding Le Vieux Relais on the web, Mike and Val were able to find space for us at pretty short notice and were ready with a welcome (even if we were a bit late arriving!).
How to describe the stay? As a guest you become part of the experience, because Mike and Val are very inclusive and the fact that breakfast and dinner are at big tables with everyone who's in for breakfast or dinner eating together, adds to the community feel and the chat was lively every evening as hosts and guests talked over the day together. That's not to say you couldn't find your own space if you wanted to and our rooms - we switched for a couple of nights as part of being fitted in - were both really clean and comfortable. Mike and Val have plenty of local knowledge and were happy to suggest trips out and help book them, too. Wendy's wine tour was a particular favourite. We had a pretty good night out with the fireworks at the nearby lake on Bastille Day, too. Otherwise, you were left to your own devices. You could argue that Mike takes the 'local' bit a touch too far with the Jean Reno impression - but then no-one's ever seen the two of them in the same room together, so you never know. The food was excellent and good value. Recommend Mike's lamb and Val's chicken salad. Pepieux is well situated for diving off into the Languedoc in any direction. Best bits - the place, the hosts and the people you meet. Probably best of all, you get the impression that if you were to return you'd feel as comfortable as if you'd never been away. Worst bit - Flying to Nimes, which let's face it is no real hardship, although next time we'll go to Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Wilfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

What a wonderful place. Le Vieux Relais is a charming old building, packed with original features. We stayed in the St Chinian room, which was huge and had a beautiful tiled floor. The pool area at Le Vieux Relais is lovely and it was great to be able to have a dip in the pool after a long day of sight seeing.

Val and Mike, the hosts, were extremely helpful and gave us ideas and suggestions about the excursions that we could do each day. There is so much to see in the area, with mountains, the beach , various lakes and historical towns all within driving distance. I loved le cite at Carcassone with its winding streets and wonderful shops and restaurants.

We ate at Le Vieux Relais every evening that they were serving dinner. The meals were served in their outside dining area, which was part of the old stable block. Most of the main courses were cooked by Mike on the BBQ and the food was amazing. I will definitely go back to Le Vieux Relais for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Vieux Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Relais

Address: 1 rue de l Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Pepieux
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pepieux
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Relais as seen from the village square. In the 18th century Le Vieux Relais was a coaching station situated on the corner of the village square. Today it is a well situated relaxing oasis that affords a unique insight into French village life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing