We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in National Park”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Had a great stay at Discovery Lodge Tongariro. We had planned to stay for 2 nights and do the crossing (with shuttle) in the middle. Unfortunately, the weather forecast upon our arrival was quite poor and they were forced to cancel the crossing shuttle for the upcoming morning. They were very nice, understanding of our situation, and forthright in their advice on what to do instead. They allowed us to cancel our 2nd night free of charge enabling us to get back to Auckland faster for our flight to Queenstown (they also offered a free room upgrade if we chose to stay).

Our room was super clean and beds super comfy. It was a great place to stay (I'd say best in the area) and if we return to the area we will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ficus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Discovery's winning card is that it provides the earliest shuttle to Tongariro, but at the end of Easter we had to drive to the finish and get the bus from there to the start - we still had to pay $30 per person. In addition, we elected to stay one night, and informed them on that night; they deducted money from my card for a second night (which they reimbursed). No wifi, so couldn't check other shuttle services so felt locked into using theirs. On the plus, they provided info on temperature to dress for, clean, adequate cooking and charging facilities.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Discovery Lodge Tongariro was my home, by way of a tent for a week - was sad to leave. Very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable staff (good advice regarding weather & walks); nice relaxing communal lounge, dining, kitchen area and warm showers after a long day on your feet. If it weren't for the super early shuttle, I wouldn't have made the last bus for the Tongariro Crossing :) The onsite restaurant also serves good decent food. Would go back again :)

Room Tip: Can only comment on tent site: choose a spot near the edge with a slight angle, otherwise when it ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WJP357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

After reading comments on the Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here for TAC. They do offer the earliest shuttle (we took the one at 5:25am and arrived around 5:45am) and multiple afternoon pickups. We stayed in the backpacker room which was clean and quiet. There is centralized heating system in the room but took us a few minutes to figure out how it works as there was no instruction. The water pressure was low in the shower but we managed to clean ourselves lol. The receptionist was friendly and service was good. The kitchen was very basic and kinda dirty. The experience was good overall, I would stay here again in the future.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank 102tingtingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

If you are planning to do the Tongariro Crossing using their shuttle service - be sure to have their required minimum gear or you will be turned away and unable to hike (fully waterproof jacket, plenty of warm layers, sturdy footwear, sun protection, food and water, provided map). It is for your safety as conditions on the crossing can change quickly and put you in danger (hypothermia even in summer). Two of our group members and 4 others were turned away due to ponchos instead of waterproof jackets - talk about devastated... We rented 3 studio chalets (3 couples) as this lodge offers the earliest shuttle to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing trailhead. We were late getting in (after 9p), but I notified the desk staff ahead of time - they had our keys and shuttle instructions taped to the door for us, and our packed lunches in the fridge. The chalets are gorgeous! There are 2 units per chalet, but we had no issues with noise. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, and had a kitchenette. For those on the shuttle the next AM, we arrived to the trail before any other hikers and had a great start. Pick-ups at the other end run regularly and return you back to the lodge. There is a laundry room on-site, but only a few machines, so it can involve a wait to get a machine.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
9 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
9.3 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
450 reviews
24.3 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
533 reviews
3.5 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
3.6 km away
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $19 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing