We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tongariro Crossing Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plateau Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Howards Mountain Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Haus(National Park Village)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA National Park(National Park Village)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Pukenui Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Heights Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
148
99
30
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
99
30
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearliest shuttlebedroom chaletshuttle servicetongariro crossingthe kitchenhot platepacked breakfast and lunchmin drivea wonderful stayplace to staythe buswhakapapa villagepick upsonsite restaurantearly startlady at receptionstarting point
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Discovery's winning card is that it provides the earliest shuttle to Tongariro, but at the end of Easter we had to drive to the finish and get the bus from there to the start - we still had to pay $30 per person. In addition, we elected to stay one night, and informed them on that night; they deducted money from my card for a second night (which they reimbursed). No wifi, so couldn't check other shuttle services so felt locked into using theirs. On the plus, they provided info on temperature to dress for, clean, adequate cooking and charging facilities.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Discovery Lodge Tongariro was my home, by way of a tent for a week - was sad to leave. Very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable staff (good advice regarding weather & walks); nice relaxing communal lounge, dining, kitchen area and warm showers after a long day on your feet. If it weren't for the super early shuttle, I wouldn't have made the last bus for the Tongariro Crossing :) The onsite restaurant also serves good decent food. Would go back again :)

Room Tip: Can only comment on tent site: choose a spot near the edge with a slight angle, otherwise when it rains you might wake up in a puddle.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WJP357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

After reading comments on the Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here for TAC. They do offer the earliest shuttle (we took the one at 5:25am and arrived around 5:45am) and multiple afternoon pickups. We stayed in the backpacker room which was clean and quiet. There is centralized heating system in the room but took us a few minutes to figure out how it works as there was no instruction. The water pressure was low in the shower but we managed to clean ourselves lol. The receptionist was friendly and service was good. The kitchen was very basic and kinda dirty. The experience was good overall, I would stay here again in the future.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank 102tingtingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

If you are planning to do the Tongariro Crossing using their shuttle service - be sure to have their required minimum gear or you will be turned away and unable to hike (fully waterproof jacket, plenty of warm layers, sturdy footwear, sun protection, food and water, provided map). It is for your safety as conditions on the crossing can change quickly and put you in danger (hypothermia even in summer). Two of our group members and 4 others were turned away due to ponchos instead of waterproof jackets - talk about devastated... We rented 3 studio chalets (3 couples) as this lodge offers the earliest shuttle to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing trailhead. We were late getting in (after 9p), but I notified the desk staff ahead of time - they had our keys and shuttle instructions taped to the door for us, and our packed lunches in the fridge. The chalets are gorgeous! There are 2 units per chalet, but we had no issues with noise. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, and had a kitchenette. For those on the shuttle the next AM, we arrived to the trail before any other hikers and had a great start. Pick-ups at the other end run regularly and return you back to the lodge. There is a laundry room on-site, but only a few machines, so it can involve a wait to get a machine.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Our studio chalet was nice and comfortable but, most unfortunately, we hadn't booked to use the shuttle for the crossing as had prebooked with a group (our mistake). Got the impression that our welcome was a bit watered down as we weren't using their shuttle. We half expected food but were told there was nothing for that day or the following morning and "didn't know about the following morning". We used Trip Advisor and found a good place to eat and bought in ingredients for breakfast locally The guy who checked us out was helpfulness personified - such a difference. It is a good base.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews