We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$39
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$71
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
146
99
30
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
99
30
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearliest shuttleshuttle servicetongariro crossingthe kitchenhot platepacked breakfast and lunchmin driveviews of the mountainsevery hourplace to staystudio cabinwhakapapa villagethe buspick upsonsite restaurantearly startrecommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We checked in quite late but that was ok as the staff seem to be there until 8pm which is handy. We had a little room with a private bathroom that was warm and clean. The tv was very average (a tiny old tube tv) and there was no wifi but for the price we paid overall it was great value.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We used a powered site in the campground but would have no problems with any of the other options; those who had the cabins enjoyed them.
The team knows the area well and enjoy sharing that knowledge - it felt as if you were among friends because they know why you're there.
Only tip is to make sure you know when the shuttle is leaving - because they can't wait for more than a couple of minutes. If you're not sure - ASK. If you think you are sure - ask anyway.
The team added to the Crossing and if I was doing it again, this is where I'd stay, probably longer next time. The restaurant isn't always open which is a good excuse to try the Speight's pub in National Park - also highly recommended for a great feed.

Room Tip: There are options from tents to chalets - all good value. You get full use of the facilities whatever you pay.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Had a great stay at Discovery Lodge Tongariro. We had planned to stay for 2 nights and do the crossing (with shuttle) in the middle. Unfortunately, the weather forecast upon our arrival was quite poor and they were forced to cancel the crossing shuttle for the upcoming morning. They were very nice, understanding of our situation, and forthright in their advice on what to do instead. They allowed us to cancel our 2nd night free of charge enabling us to get back to Auckland faster for our flight to Queenstown (they also offered a free room upgrade if we chose to stay).

Our room was super clean and beds super comfy. It was a great place to stay (I'd say best in the area) and if we return to the area we will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ficus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Discovery's winning card is that it provides the earliest shuttle to Tongariro, but at the end of Easter we had to drive to the finish and get the bus from there to the start - we still had to pay $30 per person. In addition, we elected to stay one night, and informed them on that night; they deducted money from my card for a second night (which they reimbursed). No wifi, so couldn't check other shuttle services so felt locked into using theirs. On the plus, they provided info on temperature to dress for, clean, adequate cooking and charging facilities.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Discovery Lodge Tongariro was my home, by way of a tent for a week - was sad to leave. Very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable staff (good advice regarding weather & walks); nice relaxing communal lounge, dining, kitchen area and warm showers after a long day on your feet. If it weren't for the super early shuttle, I wouldn't have made the last bus for the Tongariro Crossing :) The onsite restaurant also serves good decent food. Would go back again :)

Room Tip: Can only comment on tent site: choose a spot near the edge with a slight angle, otherwise when it rains you might wake up in a puddle.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WJP357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews