We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Plateau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plateau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Booked the 2 bedroom apartment. Included all amenities necessary and was small but just enough space for 4 people. New spa installed the day we arrived, which was amazing. Staff friendly, helpful and nice to chat with. There's a few nice restaurants nearby and everything in the village is within walking distance. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Bring your own hairdryer as we couldn't seem to find one.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongariropark, Guest Relations Manager at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with Plateau Lodge. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful so appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Tongariro National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

An absolute awesome stay with the Plateau Lodge. Rooms were clean and warm, bathroom, lounge & kitchen facilities were also clean and always available for use. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable.The lodge is located just off the highway but close to restaurants, petrol stations and 4 square. (be mindful that the petrol station and 4 square close at 7pm on Saturdays). Me and two others booked 3 beds in the dorm rooms for 2 nights. it was $30 per night and paid for a return shuttle from Tongariro $35. The also have a spa pool which can be booked for 30 minute periods, we had a spa after our hike. Lovely facilities, i would recommend for families, travellers and locals.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roy-trip2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Wonderful news and thank you for the comments. We are are great destination with great outdoor adventures which suit all styles of people. The Summer hiking is still a favorable season and winter being grand with glistening snow on the ground.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Good location, great views, incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff (I had to change my Tongariro northern circuit plans due to the weather) clean rooms, quiet lodge, big clean kitchen with great facilities, only downsides are the paid wifi and the mattresses which are quite thin (could feel the springs lying on my side). But would definitely recommend for a solo traveller.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

A definite recommendation, clean friendly everything we needed. Hot tub was clean. Would have liked free wifi. Very helpful owners, family run, nice lounge to wait in the following day as ourbus left at 3 pm

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Fantastic news about your stay with us. Not only Plateau Lodge is a great place to stay but op explore a Dual Heritage National Park in great weather is a great experience. Our spa pool is brand new we have had to replace last month since the original hot tub decided to not work any more. Please enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The room had 4 beds, 2 chairs and a sink, unpleasant smell, lots of flies and bugs. It is simpler than a hostel, and probably not be as clean. The shuttle to the crossing hike costs NZ$35 round trip. They charge 2% credit card fee so I paid $50 cash, and got $10 and a coin back. Later found it was a $2 coin. Hope it was an honest mistake!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oceanflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Many thanks for your honest feedback. Im suprised about the not clean part- as by all our other comments we are very clean. Its a basic room as you choose for a basic room we do have rooms with bathrooms & kitchens - Shuttle price is the same as everyone else for a round trip no surprises there and credit is 2% cash & Eftpos is free its your choice on how you would like to pay. It does state this in all confirmations.
Bugs & flies sorry cannot help mother nature, when we have a hot day they do come out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.4 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,701 reviews
12.8 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
25.6 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
543 reviews
0.3 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
428 reviews
0.1 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plateau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Address: 17 Carroll Street | National Park Play Centre, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $61 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Fully self contained two bedroom apartments Camper van sites with power and free use of facilities on site Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle: Cost is $40pp 6am-7am-8am-9am-& 10.30am departures returning all afternoon from 1.30pm to 6pm One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing