We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant on West Bay Beach”

Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: This is the heart of the resort where guests gather to enjoy a meal, talk about their day of adventures, and join in the various activities available. The perfect spot to quench your thirst with a tropical drink or a fresh fruit smoothie and watch the beautiful Roatan sunsets. Start your evening right with a 2 for 1 drink from 4pm – 6pm. Try an appetizer like calamari, chicken wings, or nachos. Enjoy one of our signature dinner plates such as coconut shrimp, lobster with tropical sauce, or a whole fried fish. The Thirsty Turtle is truly the focal point of West Bay beach and offers fun games, live music, karaoke, fire dancers, crab races and other activities throughout the week. There is something for everyone at Bananarama!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Thirsty Turtle tonight to try their bbq rob special. BIG MISTAKE! The ribs had been cooked way too long. No juice what so ever. They were hard and crunchy. The service was equally as bad. Ate there three years ago several times and the food was delicious. I cannot recommend eating at this restaurant to my worst enemy. Terrible food and awful service. I will never eat there again. Must have changed ownership. Has really gone down hill in 3 years.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tim, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our establishment with us. We are truly sorry to hear that your experience with us that evening was anything less than the exceptional experiences you had with us in the past. We simply hold ourselves to a much higher standard and can only offer you our assurance that your review will be addressed, and used in the improvement of our establishment. This is not a usual occurrence by any means, and we only hope that you will consider returning to enjoy the Thirsty Turtle for what so many others have, great food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2021

We stayed at Bananarama Dive and Beach Resort, which is also amazing. This place is a part of the resort. I can't say enough about the staff. Food is good and affordable. Try the Monkey Lala! They often have live music and the vibe is very fun.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angelameis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

We ended up eating here multiple times over our week's stay. It's inexpensive, fast, with great service, and shaded tables. We especially liked the chicken quesadilla and the french fries. Pizza is great too.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2021

We're happy to be your go-to on West Bay, serving you great food is our pleasure! Thank you for the great review and for always visiting us while you're on West Bay, we look forward to seeing back soon and wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

This was one of the worst places we ate while we were here visiting. The pizza was gross, everything was overpriced. There are better places on the beach/west bay

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, they are a great resource for us to use and improve our establishment for future visitors. We are sorry to hear that your visit with us did not live up to your expectations, we hold ourselves to a much higher standard than what you had experienced and apologize that you experienced anything less than our best. We will use your review to improve for future guests, and we only hope you are one of them. Wishing you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

A lot less crowded but the Thirsty Turtle vibe is alive and well. Staff, as usual, is fantastic. Closes at 8 because of island wide quarantine.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank thomasbZ8170EH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Thank you for a great review, we always love to read when our guests have a good time with us. We have been less busy than normal but still try to make the most out of the situation we, and the world has been put in! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.