We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Our family of five recently spent 5 nights at Bananarama. We booked it through Expedia and so paid a bit too much (book directly!). That said, it was still a great value for our family as it included breakfast and our cabana easily accommodated all five of us (King with two futons for kids ages 4, 7, 9 and two adults). Our room was always impeccably clean and the grounds, too. We rarely even had to wear shoes while staying here because we just walked straight from our room on the sand paths to breakfast or the beach. The food was, in general, good. We had a fantastic fish dinner one night. The kids menu is pretty basic and geared towards American kids (which seemingly is great but meant our kids weren't forced to really try much in terms of new food). We went out with one of the dive boats and Kesha took us snorkeling in about 15 feet of water. The boat captain Michael also got in with us. Both Kesha and Michael really made our snorkeling experience great, especially with three little kids in the water! Jason from the activities desk walked us down to Gumbalimba one morning which was great, too. The restaurant staff and the security guards deserve special mention--they were fantastic with our kids and extremely attentive to us as a family. We hope to be back and would definitely consider staying here again. We hope they upgrade their mattresses--especially the futons. That one upgrade would make a big difference.

Room Tip: I would avoid any rooms near the restaurant since you might be kept up a bit late with the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 417addyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere at the bar with a beautiful view and fun music. Had a great time talking to the bartender. Renee makes the best mojito on the island! We will definitely spend more time there during our next visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

The location is great. It's along a stretch of beach with several other hotels. I enjoyed the area because it was low-key. If you want to party late into the night, West End is better. There is a water taxi that will take you into the West End until about 17:00. The land taxi is available at all hours to get there and back.

The resort itself is in need of a serious renovation. The bathroom is small, the shower pipe in my room came out of the wall, the tiles are dirty, and it doesn't look like it's been cleaned properly for some time. It's really a low quality room...and I've stayed at some less than ideal hotels. If it was $20 / night, it would've been fine. At $80 / night, it's overpriced. The staff at the resort and restaurant are very friendly. The resort also provides filtered water coolers in the rooms.

The food at the resort is average. I prefer to eat the local food when I travel. There are a couple of really good shacks, but they're only open until 14:00 / 15:00 - the shack in the large parking lot (no name) and the shack next to the cigar shop in the small parking lot. JavaVine Cafe and Mangiamo in the West Bay Mall are good too. These are all within walking distance.

There is an abundance of annoying vendors on the beach. I'm told the government is planning to crack down on them in the next few months, but it hardly leads to a relaxing experience on the beach. Also, when the cruise ships come in, it can get pretty crowded. Fortunately, it only lasts a few hours and then they leave on their ships. The resort has its own beach chairs, but you'll have to pay for them at other resorts if you want to sit elsewhere.

Overall, it was a good experience. I don't dive or snorkel, but those who do said it's on par with the Great Barrier Reef. I'm told you can snorkel right off the beach.

As for trips, we had a few activities planned with Detour. The ones that actually happened (parasailing and ziplining) were good. The activity staff and Detour representatives were all very friendly and helpful. The owners of Detour (Jason and Jamie) are hardly professional. If you decide to book an excursion, confirm that it's actually happening the day before. You can read my review here: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g292019-d4276835-r539118228-Detour_Roatan-Roatan_Bay_Islands.html. I was less than pleased.

My friend and I did get sick. I rarely get sick on holiday, but the manager at the resort said it's a common occurrence for travelers. There's a pharmacy (farmacia) within walking distance that helped my friend who ended up getting sick on the day we left. As a general rule, it's best to pack diarrhea medicine when traveling. However, this shouldn't deter you. It's a precautionary tale to make sure you have the appropriate medicine. The woman at the pharmacy was very helpful.

Lastly, the bugs and sand fleas are RELENTLESS. Be sure to pack bug spray and anti-itch cream. I would suggest spraying yourself often and generously. The chemical, Picaridin, is supposed to prevent sand flea bites.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

My wife & I spent 2 weeks here in October.
This is a great place. Very laid back & relaxing.
Everyone who works here is very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are clean and kept clean everyday.
The dive shop staff are AMAZING!
We both finished off our Open Water Certification with a very patient & knowledgeable instructor Andrea who was assisted by Kesha. They were both great. We had additional dives with Martin & Zoe who were also great.
We met numerous divers who keep coming back here.
We are planning to return in 2018, but not in october...it was rather rainy.

Room Tip: I'dtry to stay away from the rooms beside the road , office & security post. We were in #16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tall_Guy_Cycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Everytime I visit Roatan I loooove eating at their restaurant located infront of the beach! They always have good music (live sometimes), the staff is super friendly, the food is delicious and they have good prices!!!! Keep it up! Also the hotel is super!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharyZepeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.4 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 km away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
555 reviews
3.8 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
756 reviews
0.2 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: S$112 - S$358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing