We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely setting just off the beach”
Review of Emerald Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Cove
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We were lucky enough, to get unit 7 which is right next to the beach access gate. As it is off-season we were the only guests. The unit was clean and reasonably well stocked with utensils, and a small braai. We were unaware of the fact that no towels or teacloths were provided, it was the first time this has occurred when using self-catering accommodation in SA.. We did get to see the most beautiful sunsets/rises/and moon rises, from the beach.

Room Tip: Unit 7, access to beach, sound of the sea, no cars a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 691annd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your quiet stay.
I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and you were informed of this on your confirmation, but we would have happily supplied them had you asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2016

We received a very warm welcome from the hosts, and the accommodation is right next to the beach and within walking distance of a couple of nice restaurants and bars. The bed is comfortable and there is secure parking at the front of the property. However, the chalets are a little tired and the communal areas in particular could do with updating. Our oven was broken, and any food we left in the cupboards was crawling with ants. We were also disappointed that there were no towels provided, no washing up liquid, tea towels or cloths to do the washing up. Given the other places we have stayed around South Africa for a similar price, we were disappointed with Emerald Cove.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cactus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

I am sorry you were disappointed, and wished you had drawn our attention to the oven and ants so we could have dealt with those problems while you were here, the broken oven was only a trip switch ! I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and our guests are duly informed before they arrive, however with booking.com guests from afar, I do provide them and it was an oversight that the locums that were in charge while I was away did not let you have towels and dishcloths, but I’m sure they would have obliged had you asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Fully equipped self catering cottages, overlooking lovely pool with a gate at the top of the property that opens out to a stunning beach. Perfectly situated with a shopping mall nearby and a dive centre across the road. Great security and a perfect holiday place I would highly recommend. The hosts are so helpful and friendly. You leave and want to plan your next trip there, as you go out the gate.

Room Tip: There is a wifi hotspot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Divejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you found our location so great and we would love to welcome you back when you plan that next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Emerald Cove and it was hard to leave to go home. While we grew up in SA and know that the best holiday beaches in SA are on the south coast of Natal, we travel all the way from the UK to enjoy the pleasure and we always feel very welcomed by Judy when we arrive. The cottages surround a small swimming pool which is perfect for keeping the kids busy while we prepare a BBQ for dinner. There are always other kids of similar ages staying in one of the other cottages, so there is plenty to keep the little ones occupied.

The cottages are clean and have everything you would want in a self catering accommodation. Judy even has beach toys and umbrellas and is always accommodating when we have anything that we need. They are cleaned daily, including dishes, so you really can relax.

It's the access to the St Michaels beach and nearby rock pools that are the selling point for us. We go out the back gate and are on the beach. The beach has a tidal pool, lagoon and a fun swimming beach, so swimming for all levels. The rock pools are full of life. Beautiful views as well.

It's a short drive to the shops for supplies and there are a number of restaurants and other shops in the two malls that are within 10 minutes drive from Emerald Cove. There is also a nearby snake park.

For the more adventurous, there are numerous wonderful beaches to explore down the coast (including one with a nearby waterfall) and Wild Coast Sun which has a water park, golf, casino and other activities.

Always a family favourite.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

Thank you for ending our year on a high note with such a nice review. We love having you and your lovely family here and look forward to having you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Judy stayed up late to graciously welcome me from my flight, which was much appreciated. I also found out that she had upgraded to me to a much larger cottage closer to the wifi as I was staying for three weeks. This was much appreciated, thank you Judy, it made the evenings much more enjoyable!

The cottages are really fantastic, beautifully appointed and very spacious. The kitchen was well equipped, with a microwave, hob, fridge/freezer and all the utensils you could need. I couldn't have bene happier with it.

The lovely pool is surrounded by the other cottages, and the beach is right behind the house. You can hear the waves from the residence which is brilliant. :)

Judy was so helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty to help me organise my visits and make my stay comfortable. She took me shopping and even to the airport in Margate to get a rental car on a couple of occasions, I couldn't have hoped for a better welcome. She also bought me a huge chocolate cake and bottle of wine for my birthday which, when you are traveling on your own, is particularly appreciated!

The shopping centre is ten minutes walk away, and has everything you could need, including a cinema.

All in all, a great place to stay, especially if you are diving Protea Banks.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Thank you for your very kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
You were a lovely guest and always appreciative of any small thing we could do to make your stay more comfortable.
Thank you also for the photos which show off the chalet so nicely with that lens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelly Beach
0.9 km away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
11 reviews
1.4 km away
No photo provided
Shelly Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Shelly Beach
2 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairway Guest House
Fairway Guest House
#7 of 16 in Port Shepstone
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Shore Breakers
Shore Breakers
#3 of 4 in Shelly Beach
5 reviews
0.5 km away
HillBillion Estate
HillBillion Estate
#1 of 1 in Shelly Beach
7 reviews
2.8 km away
Tropical Beach B&B
Tropical Beach B&B
#1 of 4 in Shelly Beach
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Cove

Address: 1286 Marine Road | Shelly Beach, Shelly Beach 4265, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Shelly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shelly Beach
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront, self-catering thatched chalets. On the shores of the warm Indian Ocean Emerald Cove is the perfect place to enjoy the pleasures of a beach holiday and explore the KwaZulu Natal South Coast. Swimming Pool, direct beach access, AA Highly recommended, and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Attractions of the area include: Oribi Gorge, whale and dolphin watching, 7 world class golf courses, many beautiful beaches, nature walks and hiking trails, and crocodile farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Emerald Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing