We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours
Nearby Hotels
The Lodge at Chaa Creek(San Ignacio)
US$545
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Blancaneaux Lodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benque Resort and Spa(Benque Viejo del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
177
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarge's cookingno electricitymountain pine ridgekerosene lampsbig rockgreat cooktoilet and sinkscreened in porchadventurous travelersanswer questions and providevaluable informationgreat hostshot watercayo districtescabecheexpert knowledgeold friends
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Tom and Marge made my vacation a wonderful experience! The horseback riding tour was phenomenal-- we went to a secluded waterfall only accessible by horse and had a beautiful picnic and swim. It was easy to book the tours and we were able to see all that there is to see in the stunning Cayo district. The food was home-cooked and delicious and included Belizan specialties. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureSeeker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our family visited Moon Racer Farms during February 2009 with our three young (3, 5, 7) “Energetic” boys. Tom and Marge’s hospitality and patience could not have been better.

MRF is located in the Cayo district, at would I call the crossroads for adventure.Their central location allows for easy access to a wide range of acticvities such as; horseback riding, Mayan ruins, jungle trekking, caves, butterfly farm, birding, rivers to visiting a local produce market.

MRF is an excellent value it was like having our own personal cook, entertainment director and guide. The spacious room and comfortable beds were large enough to accommodate our family. The hammock on the porch and afternoon hot shower were a welcoming comfort.

Tom and Marge provide “Exceptional” personal service going above and beyond what was expected, whether is was suggesting the appropriate activates, having flexible mealtime and meals , giving directions, providing a compatible guide, quietly putting fresh fruit, muffins and coffee on our porch each morning to Tom filling up or gas tank before we left for Ambergris Cay. At times during our visit I forgot we were staying at a B&B and felt like we were visiting with relatives.

We concur with other comments regarding the “continual treats of hospitality” and how heavenly everything tasted and are counting the days when we can return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizebound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Tom and Marge are great people and gave us lots of personal attention; Marge's cooking is top notch and we were fascinated by their adventure in establishing a business living among the local population. Their lodge is removed from town in an area with jungle growth and lots of birds. There is so much to do in the surrounding area, Moonracer gave us a wonderful base of operations. The Howler monkeys at night added to the experience. We felt very welcomed in their home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I would recommend Moon Racer to any age group. We were a group of 4 "seniors", but there was enough of interest, rooms and food appropriate for children as well.
Tom and Marge provided us with plenty to do and have a guide who works with them. The hot shower was a bonus at the end of the day.
The food was excellent, Marge serves an abundance of local dishes in a family-style setting.
They asked us our interests, then planned our 3 days there. They have easy access to all parts of Cayo - from caves and rivers, to rainforest and Maya ruins.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelizetoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Having been in Belize for 5 months we thought we had unearthed all the hidden gems that the country had to offer... until we happened across the instantly amiable Tom & Marge. Leaving their homes in the US they have manged to create, with expert craftsmanship, a place that radiates tranquility, beauty and above else, warmth from the hospitality they are at and ever-ready to provide deep in the heart of the Belizean rainforest.

After being welcomed to the farm, we immediately nestled into the artfully crafted beds that oozed comfort. As we lay in silence, the vibrant sounds of the various forms of life that inhabit the pristine jungle surroundings, reverberated through the walls of the cabin. A call of the Toucan (national bird of Belize) could be heard as hummingbirds hovered in a tree adjacent to our window. All five of us had a endured a difficult week with the various volunteer projects we had been working on, but this swiftly dissipated as the jungle worked its mystic ability to envelope its visitors with calm serenity.

The evening was a joyful and delectable delight as we sat around a family table and enjoyed generous helpings of mouthwatering food accompanied by freshly baked bread fresh out of the oven. Tom and Marge graciously hosted the fabulous meal with their tales and anecdotes of life in Belize that entertained us all eagerly listening whilst gorging on exquisite home-made cake, washed down with proper tea (that's coming from an Englishman).

After a deep and restful slumber, Tom awoke us with a fresh pot of coffee and we trundled over to the dining area where Marge swiftly loaded are plates with banana pancakes and fresh fruit. We were all in disbelief at the the continual treats of hospitality and how heavenly everything tasted. We were being spoiled rotten and it felt wondrous!

The day was spent on a horse trek along a trail through the thick canopy of the jungle, meandering at a peaceful pace that allowed us to fully absorb the jungle experience. Whilst crossing through the various tropical terrain, streams and and stopping to see spectacular panoramic views; we were expertly guided by Marge on horses that seemed at complete ease with their surroundings. Once we were through the jungle we entered the completely contrasting, yet equally stunning, pine forest where we could pick up the pace and canter along with beaming smiles.

Lunch was spent at a waterfall that was as mesmerizing as every sight the trek had bestowed upon us. Without wasting any time we jumped off the rocks into the natural swimming pools to for a refreshing swim before tucking into more tasty treats. We chilled for a bit in the idyllic settings before returning back on a different route back to the farm.

It was with heaviness that we left as the tranquility of our time spent there was unparalleled by any other place we have visited/stayed in Belize (which is a lot). Despite the sheer beauty of the place, the hospitality of Tom and Marge is what will linger in our minds and was truly appreciated. As one of us said: "they are legends"... I can't agree more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cycleasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews