We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours
Ranked #1 of 1 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Though we were new to Jungle travel, Tom & Marge made us feel at home and helped us choose activities that were right for us. They were perfect hosts and made our big adventure fun. Though they have only been innkeepers for a few years they seem like old hands. They must have had a lot of houseguests in their pre-Belizean lives! Every need was met and every question answered. Marge has invented a cooking style that blends local ingredients and western traditions in a spectacular way. If you want real local, she can cook it, if you want a hot dog, you can have that …and everything in between. Banana pancakes were my favorite! We have already compiled a list of things to do on our next trip. Tom’s Eagle Scout award hangs in the dining room and you can see the scouting motto of “Be prepared” in everything they do. These folks really do have it all figured out. Not only did we have a great adventure but we also have friends for life!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAVPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

Tom and Marge made my vacation a wonderful experience! The horseback riding tour was phenomenal-- we went to a secluded waterfall only accessible by horse and had a beautiful picnic and swim. It was easy to book the tours and we were able to see all that there is to see in the stunning Cayo district. The food was home-cooked and delicious and included Belizan specialties. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureSeeker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our family visited Moon Racer Farms during February 2009 with our three young (3, 5, 7) “Energetic” boys. Tom and Marge’s hospitality and patience could not have been better.

MRF is located in the Cayo district, at would I call the crossroads for adventure.Their central location allows for easy access to a wide range of acticvities such as; horseback riding, Mayan ruins, jungle trekking, caves, butterfly farm, birding, rivers to visiting a local produce market.

MRF is an excellent value it was like having our own personal cook, entertainment director and guide. The spacious room and comfortable beds were large enough to accommodate our family. The hammock on the porch and afternoon hot shower were a welcoming comfort.

Tom and Marge provide “Exceptional” personal service going above and beyond what was expected, whether is was suggesting the appropriate activates, having flexible mealtime and meals , giving directions, providing a compatible guide, quietly putting fresh fruit, muffins and coffee on our porch each morning to Tom filling up or gas tank before we left for Ambergris Cay. At times during our visit I forgot we were staying at a B&B and felt like we were visiting with relatives.

We concur with other comments regarding the “continual treats of hospitality” and how heavenly everything tasted and are counting the days when we can return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizebound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Tom and Marge are great people and gave us lots of personal attention; Marge's cooking is top notch and we were fascinated by their adventure in establishing a business living among the local population. Their lodge is removed from town in an area with jungle growth and lots of birds. There is so much to do in the surrounding area, Moonracer gave us a wonderful base of operations. The Howler monkeys at night added to the experience. We felt very welcomed in their home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I would recommend Moon Racer to any age group. We were a group of 4 "seniors", but there was enough of interest, rooms and food appropriate for children as well.
Tom and Marge provided us with plenty to do and have a guide who works with them. The hot shower was a bonus at the end of the day.
The food was excellent, Marge serves an abundance of local dishes in a family-style setting.
They asked us our interests, then planned our 3 days there. They have easy access to all parts of Cayo - from caves and rivers, to rainforest and Maya ruins.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelizetoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
0.3 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
288 reviews
9.5 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
6.2 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
9.7 km away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
409 reviews
0 km away
Clarissa Falls Resort
Clarissa Falls Resort
#1 of 2 in San Jose Succotz
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours

Address: Mile 9 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | PO Box 183, San Antonio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: $49 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small jungle lodge located just outside the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve and Elijio Panti National Park. One two room cabin with two adjoining rooms, each with two queen beds, which may be rented together or separately. These rooms each have a private full bath with hot water shower. Three Camping Casitas with in-room toilets and shared shower with choice of queen or two twin beds. Meals served family style, alcoholic beverages available. Shared kitchenette also available. Hiking from the lodge. Limited internet access, limited electricity. Discount for rentals of entire 2-room cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours Hotel San Ignacio
Moonracer Farm Lodging And Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing