We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Belizean Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours
Ranked #1 of 1 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I sought out Moonracer after seeing the recommendation from the Belize Zoo, and we were very happy with our stay at Moonracer, the excursions Tom and Marge arranged for us, and our overall experience in the interior of Belize. Marge's cooking was wonderful, and the fresh, warm baked breads delivered to our cottage in the morning were a treat. We decided not to rent a car in Belize (and we were really glad that we didn't) but Tom arranged transports for us during the entire stay and we got to do everything from caving to horseback riding to checking out the marketplace in San Ignacio. Riding through the deep jungle on horseback with Tom was a great experience. One of my favorite memories is our lunch with a local family at their home. This is the real Belize, and I know we couldn't have found it with Tom and Marge's help.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidiMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

Staying with Tom and Marge and enjoying a small part of what the Cayo district has to offer was the highlight of our trip to Belize. We only wish that we had arranged to stay longer.

Tom and Marge handled all of our booking for our day trips to ATM (amazing) and Tikal and made our arrival, stay and departure easy and enjoyable. They were incredibly accommodating during the whole stay and it was remarkable how willing they were to open up their home to us for meals or any reason we decided to pop over.

We would echo all the praise that is mentioned elsewhere about their hospitality and incredible food, and the location is beautiful, but it really was the interaction with Tom and Marge that makes the place so special. We literally had hours of great conversation and it was so interesting to learn about their lives in and before Belize. One of our favourite parts was the having the chance to meet several of their neighbours and friends along the way and getting to experience a less touristy way of life in Belize.

We would happily recommend Moonracer to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bownce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I stayed here with my aunt for three nights and it was the most awesome experience ever! Tom and Marge are amazing hosts, very helpful when trying to decide what to do. And Marge is oneee great cook. Very accommodating. Clean, comfy, pretty much perfect. A welcome break from every day life.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allieg0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Tom and Marge were excellent hosts and made us feel extremely welcome and relaxed. It was more like staying at a friend's house than in a lodge. The property is beautiful and we wished we were able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amaterasu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at Moonracer Farm for a couple of days during our honeymoon. Tom and Marge are the height of hospitality. Homemade muffins, sliced grapefruit, coffee and freshly squeezed juice appeared at our porch every morning when we woke up, and I won't even describe Marge's dinners. The accommodations consist of a very comfortable cabin on their land, which feels very private. There is no electricity in this area of the Cayo, so be prepared to use candles and kerosene lamps. We had our own (nice!) bathroom with hot showers (NOT to be taken for granted in the Cayo) and our own screened porch with a hammock and table.
In theory the cabin has two separate rooms. We were there alone, though, which was ideal. In the cabin, each large room has two queen-size beds and its own bathroom, and my impression is that this configuration would work well for a larger family, two couples traveling together... that sort of thing. I am not sure if I would have liked having strangers in the next room, but it wasn't an issue.
Dinners are with Marge and Tom in their home. We knew nothing about them when we booked at Moonracer and by the time we left felt like we'd made new friends. I should add that their prices are VERY reasonable for the quality and also the care you get when staying here. Marge packed us homemade mac & cheese for our picnic lunch when we did our ATM cave tour (also amazing! do it), and we were the envy of everyone else.
Tom arranged for us to do a small and informal tour with his friend Julio, who is working to make a kind of learning center in the nearby jungle. This is really worth asking about and we felt like we were getting a truly local (and not completely tourist-oriented) perspective.
Overall, a very special experience, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jem83roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
0.3 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
294 reviews
12.4 km away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#13 of 14 in San Ignacio
60 reviews
6.2 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,263 reviews
9.5 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
649 reviews
5.3 km away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours

Address: Mile 9 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | PO Box 183, San Antonio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: $48 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small jungle lodge located just outside the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve and Elijio Panti National Park. One two room cabin with two adjoining rooms, each with two queen beds, which may be rented together or separately. These rooms each have a private full bath with hot water shower. Three Camping Casitas with in-room toilets and shared shower with choice of queen or two twin beds. Meals served family style, alcoholic beverages available. Shared kitchenette also available. Hiking from the lodge. Limited internet access, limited electricity. Discount for rentals of entire 2-room cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours Hotel San Ignacio
Moonracer Farm Lodging And Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing