We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Pompei's Bondi

Pompei's Bondi
Ranked #5 of 404 Restaurants in Bondi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bondi Beach
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a beautiful lunch today at Pompei's, I had the Ravioli Di Margo and my partner had the "pasta special" slowed cooked beef with orecchiette and we shared the caprese salad, absolutely delicious.

Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoMenegaldo, Manager at Pompei's Bondi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Marie J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're happy to read you had a satisfying experience with us. Our ravioli are a signature dish, and one of the most appreciated by our guests. They're handmade one by one following the original recipe of George Pompei's grandmother, you can actually watch a very quick video on our Facebook page that shows how we do them.

Thanking you once again for your nice feedback, we all hope to seeing you soon again, dining with us.

Regards
Matteo Menegaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

We had a nice lunch at Pompei's after our Coogee to Bondi coast walk. There is seating available inside and outside. Pasta special was a ragu sauce that was delicious. Pizza was good, not great. Portions sizes were generous and we enjoyed takeaway gelato for dessert. Restaurant was not busy during our time there during the off season.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoMenegaldo, Manager at Pompei's Bondi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Kathy1966,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Pompei's; we're delighted to hear you had a good experience dining at us. If there's anything we can do on your next visit to improve our pizzas, please let us know!

Customers tips are always appreciated and often very helpful to improve our performance.

Please come visit us again soon, and thank you once again for your feedback!

Regards
Matteo Menegaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

AMAZING FOOD!!!!! Really high quality food. Friendly people. The gelato is unreal! I recommend the blood orange gelato !! Super fresh

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoMenegaldo, Manager at Pompei's Bondi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi Mark S,

Thank you very much for reviewing us, we're glad to read your appreciation about our food and sorbets!

We all hope to have a chance to welcoming you soon again!

Regards
Matteo Menegaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Received what was meant to be a margarita pizza last night and pasta dish and I truely would have done better.
How can you get such a classic pizza wrong. Firstly the pizza was freezing cold and the tomatoe base was watering, the cheese was terrible. I never had such a bad pizza, the pasta was watery, tasteless and the meat you could have bounced off a wall.
Very very disappointed, and I was going by googles ratings.

Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoMenegaldo, Manager at Pompei's Bondi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Clare B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and share your experience and thoughts about the home delivery you recently ordered from Pompei's.

I thought it best to throughly investigate what may have gone wrong about your experience as reviews like yours are extremely rare at Pompei's.

I hope you are aware how a 1 out of 5 review will impact negatively on our business and the fact that we have only received only five such reviews (including yours) in our 18 years of operation. I would very much appreciate if you were to reconsider your review or remove it after reading our viewpoint and details as set out below.

The two items you ordered with us are amongst our most popular choices, both for dining in or home delivery, and so far, we have never had such a complaint about them.
The cheese we use for the pizza is a premium quality fiordilatte mozzarella, and the recipe of our ragù all bolognese follows the original and traditional recipe that is classified and protected by the powers that be in the city of its origin, Bologna. Our version strictly adheres to the original recipe and is not the common version often served swamped in tomato sauce and know as spaghetti bolonese.
You may not like our version but that’s how this particular traditional sauce should be.

Your experience with us involves a third party, the delivery company, which could impact on the quality of your experience. To this day, we have had an excellent relationship with them who are able to most satisfactorily deliver our freshly prepared food even in difficult conditions.
Naturally, the dining in experience where the food is whisked to the table the second it comes out of the oven or out of the pan will be a different experience to a delivery service option and I'm sure you are aware of this.

I have listed the full timing report for your order in response to your comment about our frozen cold food:

Order #534

Created at 2017-07-29 19:44:20
Submitted at 2017-07-29 19:44:23
Restaurant Ack'ed at 2017-07-29 19:44:43

Driver Assigned At 2017-07-29 20:10:58
Driver Ack’ed Assignment at 2017-07-29 20:11:14
Driver Arrived at Restaurant 2017-07-29 20:11:26 (14 mins)

Driver Picked up Order At 2017-07-29 20:25:11
Delivered At 20:34:06 (9 mins)

To make it easier to understand, the driver had to wait about 10 mins to get the food because it wasn’t ready yet (8pm on a Saturday night is peak hour) so the driver received the food hot from the oven and pan.
The order has been delivered to you in 9 minutes and I'm sure you’ll agree that 9 minutes is a very reasonable time, especially on a Saturday night, and I can absolutely confirm that our pizza doesn’t get frozen cold in such a short time. Both the pizza and pasta was delivered in an insulated hot bag and box.

I personally hope you’ll consider to cancel your review, because it’s something we really consider that we don't deserve as we put so much effort in every dish which we prepare.

I would very much look forward to seeing you dining with us at the restaurant for a totally enjoyable experience.

Best regards

Matteo Menegaldo
Pompei’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We went to Pompei because it was recommended in a book of the world's b we best pizza restaurants.

Maybe it was the time of day, but the service wasn't great and the pizzas were just ordinary.

Toilets weren't great and to get there had to go through unused restaurant room that smelt a bit.

Overall pretty underwhelmed by the experience.

Thank Manon365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoMenegaldo, Manager at Pompei's Bondi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Manon365,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

We're sorry to hear your experience with us didn't meet your expectations; I personally wasn't aware we were on a world best pizzas book, so thank you for reporting it.

Pizza hasn't got just a way to be done, and our pizza is a Northern Italian style version. We proudly use a selection of premium ingredients, from San Marzano tomato sauce and fior di latte mozzarella, pizza dough does 48 hours of maturation.

I assure not many pizza places in the Eastern Suburbs put the same attentions and efforts on this stage, not to mention pizza topping are fresh, and for fresh I mean all veggies are washed, cut, grilled or cooked by us, no canned stuff.

There's a lot of work behind every single ingredient topping up our pizzas, and luckily the vast majority of our guests appreciate it.

It's good to see your review considers the conditions of our toilets and the smell of the backroom, we do our best to make sure the toilets are always in perfect conditions, so next time please let us know right away if there's any issue, and we will be able to provide, for the next guest using it, and also to avoid seeing it written on a review.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Regards
Matteo Menegaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pompei's Bondi also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Pompei's Bondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing