We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
59
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
14
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here. The room was very clean and comfortable. Laurent gave us lots of useful advice on getting around and what to see and do. The breakfast was great. The location was great, near the metro, but we but desided to explore Brussels on foot. it took us only 20 minutes to reach the city center. Near the house there is a free parking. Everything in the house is very cozy and charming - really want to go back there)))

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The room was large and comfortable, the hosts were lovely, the breakfast was great. The bathroom being downstairs can be a problem for some.

The location was unfortunately a let down. We arrived in the evening, the place was directly opposite the train line, and it didn't feel safe as the surrounding areas were poorly lit. Parking was available but a few hundred meters away, given the area we didn't feel comfortable about where the car was parked nor the walk from the car.

Also, the trains would be a problem if you are sensitive to noise as they are quite frequent and very close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorgrapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damedecarreau, Propriétaire at Dame de Carreau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment on our B&B.

I'd like to react to it, as there appears be a misunderstanding as to what we offer here at Dame de Carreau.

We actually offer private accomodation (at very reasonible rates;) We welcome our guests in a dedicated part of our own house, which is one of the legal requirements to be officially recognized as a B&B (chambre d'hôte) in Belgium. We only have two rooms, unlike most B&B's in the UK, which are more similar to hotels.

Our focus is on the contact with the guests. We make our very best to make them feel at home in our place. We can offer them tips on what to visit, where to eat or to shop like locals. But we have no sign on the street, no closed space to leave bikes or a car, and the bathroom is shared between the two rooms.

When your wife wrote to book the Blue room, I advised her that she should book the Pink room, which is quieter, at the back of the house, has a private toilet with a little washbasin and a private salon. But even though you seem to be sensitive to noise, she booked the Blue room.

We always inform our guests about the parking possibilities in our neighbourhood and we always send directions, including a satellite view of our street from google maps from which it is obvious that the metro line is passing close to our place. To most hosts, this is a big asset, as the centre is easily accessed by public transports. We recommended you to take the metro which allows you to reach the city centre in 10 minutes, but you prefered to drive to the centre and leave your car in a pay park.

We are sorry that you felt unsafe in our neighbourhood, that you were concerned about your car and that you're complaining about poorly lit streets. I am confident that you left our place safe and sound and with no damage to your car, as we live in a mixed and quiet neighbourghood where people are always helpful with directions.

This seems to be very much about perception. May I remind you that you were sick and tired of driving when you arrived ? Only this could explain an « average » note because of your perception of our neighbourhood, even though you gave us an « excellent » for service and cleanliness and a « very good » for rooms and value.

You sum it up quite well : « The room was large and comfortable, the hosts were lovely, the breakfast was great. ». This is exactly what makes our guests book our place – and I'm not sure a hotel with a lit car park could offer all that for an average of 50-55 EUR per night.

Kind regards,
Laurent:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The room was very clean and had everything we required. Philip & Laurent the owners could not have made us more welcome. They gave us lots of useful advice on getting around and what to see and do.Even on departure day they were very helpful with advice for our onward journey to Amsterdam. Breakfast was superb and nothing was too much trouble. It is close to the train station and easy to get around by metro but we preferred to walk and right into the center took us only 20 minutes from the hotel. We can only say a huge thank you for making our stay one to remember and would advise anyone to stay here, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: the hearts room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent four nights at Dame de Carreau. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. It was really 2 rooms for an unbelievably modest price. Our 9 year old had his own room. Laurent was a wonderful host. He even let us borrow TinTin the movie, which was a huge hit with our son! The breakfast was a delicious, fresh pastry each morning with cereal, granola, yogurt, juice, toast, cheese, and milk to choose as well. The coffee machine made a great cup of coffee after a long day of sight-seeing. We would highly recommend staying at Dame de Carreau for both the accomodations and the hosts!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesmyth6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

It's a nice little B&B, not exactly in the city center but literally 200 mt from the Simonis metro station, from which you could get anywhere in Brussels in few minutes.
The room was nice and cozy,spacious and with en-suite toilet and small private lounge with couch, TV and DVD player.
The two owners were super friendly and trying to help us with all the info we needed. They even came to pick us up from Brussel midi station.
All in all good value for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews