We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
14
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
14
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedstown squareactual castlecastle tourshower cubicleprivate bathroomone night staynext morningon arrivalgreat place to staymusic academyprisoner of war campschool partiesww2soapgermanstefan
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Having arrived at Colditz castle mid Sunday afternoon we were met by Stefan who made us welcome and told us we could have any room gave us the keys to get in the castle and dropped us off in the town,Walking back looking up in the night sky and seeing the castle lit up i n front of us was awsome and gave a feel of reality, the rooms were warm and comftable with en suite bathroom, Breakfast was basic but good, and the icing on the cake a 2hr guided tour in English for 15 euro
over all Great stay

Room Tip: any of the rooms offered
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank griffltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Staff were excellent and kept all in order. Bad night's sleep due to noise in the court yard. No evening meal but just walked out the main gate to a local hostelry. Great tour with Steiffi but got stuck climbing out the vent where Pat Reid escaped., sorry left.
At the end of our stay just glided away.

Room Tip: Its harder to get out of the windows and down the wall on the higher levels
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

My partner wanted to stay at the castle after seeing you could on top gear. We had to join the YHA which at 50 seemed a little strange. However we have used 3 more hostels since.
The place is spotlessly clean. There are lifts if you have mobility issues. You have to make and strip your beds but that was no hardship. The room for two was huge with a private showering and loo ensuite. Breakfast was plentiful. Very good value for money, good free parking and very nice to say you stopped there with the obligatory jokes about making an escap via bed sheets or building a glider.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Much better than expected. Massive rooms and an en-suit you could hold a ball in! You make up and strip your beds but otherwise just like a basic hotel. Food typical hostel, breakfast especially good.
If you want to eat at a typical German inn the Waldschlossen is a few hundred yards from the hostel along the rear approach road, good fun and good food.

Room Tip: We were given a two bedded room but you need to ask in advance.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We stayed in Colditz Youth Hostel as part of an organised Motorcycle tour of Germany, with a WW2 theme. We were in rooms sleeping 4 or 6, but as couples or two single people per room, so we had lots of space and a choice of beds! The hostel is massive, basic but spotlessly clean and half board extremely good value for money. Food is basic but fine, we had chicken, potato wedges and green beans one night and bratwurst, mashed potato and saurkraut the next. Rooms are very quiet. There is a beer fridge at reception, so you can buy a beer, and there's a pleasant terrace to sit out on (also a seating area in reception). Best of all you get a key to let yourself in when you go down to the town. One of our party was found at the gate late one night having being unable to negotiate the lock, but that's another story! We had the extended tour of Coldtiz POW areas, well worth 18 Euro, utterly fascinating. There is a good pub in the town and a nice ice cream place, but not a lot else, if we're honest, but I'd highly recommend making the trip to Colditz.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank LabOwner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews