We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views Sunrise to Sunset, Beautiful Costa Rica in the Cloud Forest”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Amazing rooms. Were were a large group of 20 family members with 18 of us in building 700 and 2 in building 400. We had amazing views all ground floor rooms where you could walk out and see clearly for miles. The room had 2 rocking chairs that you can put outside and just relax and listen to nature. There are no heaters or a/c in the hotel and it's not needed. It was perfect weather the time we were there. The pool area was amazing and the gym looks out into the pool area. We walked to the pool but called for a shuttle back to the room as it was safer for the younger children that were with us. Yes, the hotel is on steep hills and the shuttles are a great idea. It took no time at all to call for shuttle and for it to arrive. Our guide informed us that this hotel one of the best in the area and I can see why. The dinner and breakfast we attended was a buffet. There is no wi-fi in the rooms but with so much nature it wasn't needed. I would definitely return and our entire group of 20 enjoyed there stay very much. The 2 in building 400 liked their room but it was definitely different from ours in building 700. We think they were in a building for adults only. The only downside in building 700 was the vents that are located in the bathroom faced the hallway and if you made any noise in the bathroom anyone walking by in the hallway would be able to hear it. Still didn't ruin our vacation and it was definitely an amazing property and I highly recommend them! A++

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Jubalie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 595 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2015

We stayed in the cottages all the way up in the hills. Know that the water pressure in the showers are poor likely due to the height. But this also avails you excellent views of the valley and the clouds during sunset. Large property and plenty for kids to do. Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssriniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

This resort hotel has rooms located at nine levels on a hillside. We were on the fifth level, quite high above the lowest one where the restaurants are. Nevertheless, going to our meals was not difficult, as shuttles were at our disposition promptly when we called. The room I got was very spacious, had two double beds although I was by myself in it and it had magnificent views over some of the Monteverde area as well as the Arenal lake. Moreover, the sunsets that I saw from my room were absolutely breathtaking. Breakfast and dinner were of good Costarican cuisine.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yehuda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

visiting this hotel as part of a tour of beautiful Costa Rica it was a lovely location and the rooms were large and well appointed it is a long way to the restaurant on the side of a hill you need to call a shuttle bus to get you down. there is an ala carte restaurant with a bar there also we had a meal there and it was very poor ,and the bar was dirty, we had to clear a table of glasses etc before sitting down and the staff made no attempt to wipe the table. Which is a shame as it is a wonderful location.

Room Tip: query where the rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angellous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Luxurious rooms with balconies on an amazing, hilly property. I loved it here, but the property is enormous and does require taking the shuttle bus to the reception area and restaurants if you have trouble walking down the steep terrain. Our group from Gutsy Women Travel included author and journalist Iris Krasnow so we had the double bonus of hearing both her and one of the Quakers who settled in this region speak after one of our dinners...Pura Vida !!! The food was excellent and both speakers were fabulous. I loved the grounds and the views and would definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Luvs2TravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,372 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
0.3 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $147 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing