We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Establo
Nearby Hotels
Cabanas La Pradera(Monteverde)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belcruz B&B(Monteverde)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Batsu(Monteverde)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens(Monteverde)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveller rating
644
718
426
171
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
718
426
171
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicesteep hillmain restaurantlas riendastour deskcosta ricacloud forestrocking chairslarge propertyzip lineno wifi in the roomsnight walkreception areabreakfast buffetspread outfree shuttlemountain side
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We stayed in the cottages all the way up in the hills. Know that the water pressure in the showers are poor likely due to the height. But this also avails you excellent views of the valley and the clouds during sunset. Large property and plenty for kids to do. Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssriniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

This resort hotel has rooms located at nine levels on a hillside. We were on the fifth level, quite high above the lowest one where the restaurants are. Nevertheless, going to our meals was not difficult, as shuttles were at our disposition promptly when we called. The room I got was very spacious, had two double beds although I was by myself in it and it had magnificent views over some of the Monteverde area as well as the Arenal lake. Moreover, the sunsets that I saw from my room were absolutely breathtaking. Breakfast and dinner were of good Costarican cuisine.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yehuda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

visiting this hotel as part of a tour of beautiful Costa Rica it was a lovely location and the rooms were large and well appointed it is a long way to the restaurant on the side of a hill you need to call a shuttle bus to get you down. there is an ala carte restaurant with a bar there also we had a meal there and it was very poor ,and the bar was dirty, we had to clear a table of glasses etc before sitting down and the staff made no attempt to wipe the table. Which is a shame as it is a wonderful location.

Room Tip: query where the rooms are
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angellous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Luxurious rooms with balconies on an amazing, hilly property. I loved it here, but the property is enormous and does require taking the shuttle bus to the reception area and restaurants if you have trouble walking down the steep terrain. Our group from Gutsy Women Travel included author and journalist Iris Krasnow so we had the double bonus of hearing both her and one of the Quakers who settled in this region speak after one of our dinners...Pura Vida !!! The food was excellent and both speakers were fabulous. I loved the grounds and the views and would definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Luvs2TravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

The rooms are in buildings on the side of a hill. I walk and exercise but it was too steep and too far to walk. You have to call for a car and wait. In the mornings you wait with many other people for a car/van to take a few at a time then return. It rains a lot so even when I was tempted to walk down I didn't want to be that wet. No coffee in the room and no way to walk to the office to get some....We like to sit in the mornings and look out at the amazing view and sip a pot of coffee so this was NOT the hotel for us. We even asked if they had a small coffee maker to borrow and they said impossible, however if you upgrade to a suite for more money they do have coffee makers. For the free buffet you had to PAY $2 for the omelet bar. Not the hotel for us.

Room Tip: Lowest set of rooms!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews