We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Tucan(Santa Elena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Establo(Monteverde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconia Hotel(Monteverde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
810
314
64
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
314
64
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutterfly gardencosta rica expeditionsbutterfly roombalcony roomcloud forestel jardinprivate dinnerheated poolsanta elenabeautiful groundsresplendent quetzalsmall balconyevery eveningfrog pondrestaurant staffwhite faced monkeysthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We will always remember the special surprise dinner in the butterfly garden inside the hotel.
Even though the butterflies were asleep most of the time, they were nearby and very gracious hosts! The service was excellent, too. We enjoyed great food, including the vegetarian menu. The kitchen staff was nice enough to make us a hot breakfast burrito to take on our early morning walk in the cloud forest the next day. Our lower level room opened out to a lovely garden area where we enjoyed our morning coffee. This hotel would be excellent except that the bathrooms are quite small and in need of renovation.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room on the upper level that faces the cloud forest. The lower level has a nice garden and easy pool access, but the views and privacy on the upper level are much better.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2015Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

2015Mary also reviewed our lodge in Tortuguero, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens; it’s so good to see that she enjoyed both stays!

If you’d like to have special celebration or a romantic dinner while you are a guest at the lodge; all you need to do is make a reservation to dine in the Butterfly Garden, there is no additional charge.

I’m glad that you liked our vegetarian menu, our menu and prices are online, so it’s easy to have a look beforehand and get an idea of the style. We think our food is what a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. If you enjoy a cocktail before dinner, the bar serves up creative cocktails. Like the Jigüiro, with fresh guava juice, rum, triple sec and squeezed lemon.

You’re right about the bathrooms, they are small. If readers would like to get a better sense of the bathrooms, there are photos on Trip Advisor and on our site. What makes them small is that the toilet and shower are separate from the sink, mirror and closet. This works if the guests sharing the room prefer some privacy, but when that’s not needed, it is a bit small. Depending on how things go this year, we will be looking into the possibility of a remodel of the bathrooms, but it’s a long process, first the budget, then the proof of concept and the final approval. Fingers crossed!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Loved everything about our two nights at the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens. Service was great, grounds were beautiful, food (we had breakfast and dinner) was excellent. Enjoyed walking the trails right on the property and the lovely gardens. Loved the fireplace by the bar on a cooler night. The pool was nice and relaxing. Took advantage of the night hike offered that was held right next to the property. Also went to the Monteverde Reserve which was close by and beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

I love it when guests like Mary Pat P really dig in and enjoy everything that the lodge has to offer, she stayed for just two nights, so she had to have arrived in the afternoon of the first day and she still had time to walk the trails on the property and explore the gardens, spend some time at the pool during the heat of the day and then time by the fireplace for a cool evening, explored the cloud forest at night and hiked the Monteverde Reserve during the day.

In addition to this, if you add a night to your stay, you would be able to do a Canopy Walkway, a Zip Line, more hiking if that’s what you like, visit the hummingbird gallery and orchid garden AND explore the art galleries, restaurants and attractions in the town of Santa Elena.

We are happy to assist with planning and reservations for activities. Recommended stay 2-4 nights.

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

It was a nice size room but it did have a small bathroom which was very dark. We did have the benefit of a small balcony but the weather at the time was very windy so unfortunately could not be fully used. The grounds are lovely and the butterfly garden was great. The breakfast was very good and the meal in the evening was very good. The swimming pool was quite small. They supply coffee, tea and cake in the reception area, free of charge, which is a nice bonus.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a first floor balcony room.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

I’d like to clarify for readers that are considering a stay at Monteverde Lodge, our first floor rooms or Downstairs Forest View Rooms, DO NOT have balconies. There is just one exception, which is a room where we did build a terrace as a proof of concept. When you reserve a Forest View Downstairs Room, you should not expect a balcony or terrace because it’s unlikely that you will be assigned the only downstairs room that we have that has this feature.

If it’s important to you to have a balcony, the Upstairs Forest View Balcony Rooms are the way to go!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour with Costa Rica Expeditions. It is owned by that organisation and has the same high standards. The rooms are well appointed (although the teens did object to no television). The hotel has fantastic trails and we saw large numbers of monkeys when we went walking. The restaurant was an excellent dining experience with the breakfast being one of the best we experienced in our five weeks of touring.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Monteverde Lodge and with Costa Rica Expeditions.
You mention two things that I’d like to expand on.

The first is teens objecting to not having a TV in the room, you didn’t share how it went with that, I hope they found entertainment outside! I realize that in your case, being on a five week trip and coming all the way from Australia, there were probably moments that you really welcomed a screen to keep the kids busy!

We realize that it’s kind of old fashioned of us to be steadfast on the no TV policy but we’ve received so much feedback from families and couples saying that they did things that they wouldn’t have done otherwise because we don’t have TV’s, that we continue to think that this is a good thing.

The lodge has comfortable areas to sit by the fire or in the garden where you can talk or play table games. We’re even happy to prepare a picnic lunch and provide a blanket and some shade so that you can take lunch out to the garden.

You also mentioned breakfast, one of Costa Rica’s many special experiences! Don’t miss out on what we call “Gallo Pinto” this literally means painted rooster, but really is a combination of rice and beans that is loved by our guests. Accompany that with sweet fried plantains, white cheese, tortillas and a fried egg and you be ready to hike in the Cloud Forest!

Here’s to no TV’s! What’s the worst that could happen? The best?

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

There are trails within the property, a free coffee station, library, beautiful landscaping and a wonderful pool area. Lots of activities to keep you engaged (they even had a butterfly garden and the option to reserve it for a private romantic dinner) and great meals!! I would so totally recommend this as the place to stay at if you only spend on ONE luxury property during all of your Costa Rican adventure!

Room Tip: The patio to their ground floor rooms (their cheapest) is amazingly colorful and beautiful and breath taking. Even though the room doesnt seem too spacious in pictures, it wasnt bad for real, and the patio just made up for any lack of feel-good :)
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kprachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

If you’ve read kprachi’s review, you will see that she says:

“I would so totally recommend this as the place to stay at if you only spend on ONE luxury property during all of your Costa Rican adventure!”

We are honored that kprachi decided to splurge and stay with us; she seemed to really enjoy our Garden Rooms (I love them too!) and I’m delighted that we gave her such a sense of luxury and comfort.

I want to clarify that Monteverde Lodge & Gardens is not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination! We like to call it “Rustic Elegance in the Cloud Forest” it’s quiet, laid back and tranquil. The service style is personalized, informal and caring. The rooms are practical and cozy. We are not luxurious!

Go to the Amenities link here on Trip Advisor to read more about our lodge and our rooms. Also, visit our site.

We encourage your to do your research to make sure that we are a good fit!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews