We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2015

While visiting several destinations in Costa Rica, I stayed two nights here, close to Monteverde Cloud Forest reserve. Friendly staff, lovely grounds, and good food at reasonable prices. It was a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the lower-priced "Garden View" rooms, and was entirely satisfied with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigEasyTraveler-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear BigEasyTraveler-23,

Thank you for the kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and our hotel grounds. We recommend to our guests that they reserve at least a morning or an afternoon for exploring the gardens, swimming in our solar heated pool, and watching the forest move and change as the day progresses from one of our look outs.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 479 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2015

The resort is in the midst of the tropical rain forest. Resort itself is luxurious, clean and very eco conscious. The bar and restaurant are comfortable, like a mountain lodge and the food is very good. I highly recommend the beef tenderloin skewered on sugar cane. Delicious! Staff is extremely helpful setting up adventure excursions. Highly recommend their choice for the SkyTram Zipline Expe

Room Tip: Secure a room with a balcony and a rain forest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeteecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Eeteecee,

I’m glad you found our Lodge to be luxurious and clean. We like to refer to our ambiance as “rustic elegance.” We’re certainly not a fancy lodge, but it’s important that we are comfortable, clean, and above all welcoming. Great food and drink is also very important, and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

The beef tenderloin on a sugar cane is a perennial favorite amongst our guests. Our chef likes to marinade the beef in honey, ginger and garlic before he skewers it on a piece of sugar cane. As you can see, he’s a pretty creative guy, and very in touch with the ingredients of his native Costa Rica.

Thanks for your review.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Monteverde is so beautiful. It is a cloud forest. The trees are stunning. The hotel is in the cloud forest so the view from the room is incredible. The walls of the rooms are glass.
Staff were friendly and arranged a great tour to sky trek zip line. Breakfast is
Included. The complementay coffee and cake is nice after being outside.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank default982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear default982,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, I’m glad you enjoyed some complimentary Costa Rican coffee in the lobby after a day exploring the cloud forest. We keep it fresh everyday from 9:30 to 5:00 pm, accompanied by a treat from our kitchen.

It sounds like you really connected with the cloud forest, and I agree with you – the trees are remarkable, like nowhere else I’ve seen. I thought I’d clarify for other readers about the walls of our rooms; they’re not actually made of glass. We have two main room categories, and our forest view downstairs rooms offer a corner bay window from which you can watch the forest, which is probably what default982 is referring to. They give a pretty great view into the trees. Our upstairs rooms have private balconies that allow you to sit and look down into the forest. The upstairs rooms come at a slightly higher price than the downstairs.

Thanks again for the review; we hope to see you back in Monteverde one day.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

This lodge was amazing in every day. Beautiful gardens and trails, so many animals to see, delicious food and accomodating waitstaff (we loved the many vegan and vegetarian options), and very friendly staff overall, especially at the front desk. We loved our stay here - I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. I would love to return!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Dear Rachael M,

It sounds like you had a lovely stay - we’re so glad you enjoyed it! We’ve doing our best to continuously improve our vegan and vegetarian options, both in variety and in quality. Our Chef is passionate about innovating with Costa Rican cuisine, and wants to develop some dishes our kitchen can do exceptionally well in honor of the increased interest in vegetarian and vegan cooking. We hope to have you back.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Our expectations were exceeded by the beautiful hotel property, large rooms with views of the cloud forest, the superb hotel personnel, and delicious complimentary breakfast/cakes & coffee in the lobby. We were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary ice, cookies, & farewell (milky & alcoholic) drink delivered to our room on our last night. We had pre-arranged the Don Juan 3 in 1 Coffee Tour by e-mail through the hotel and it was done promptly and professionally. The tour was EXCELLENT as it was FUN, educational, interactive, and gave delicious samples. The front desk personnel were SO accommodating with our requests to book a night walk for us while we were out for the day at Selvatura Adventure Park (Zip-lining was AMAZING!). One staff member even helped us call a taxi driver to take us straight to the trail that lead us to the Strangler Fig tree to climb. We would never have found it on our own. The enclosed butterfly garden, the outdoor pool, and nature trails on the hotel property were delightful. We even saw toucans, a sloth, and a coati! We made many lasting memories.
We were a family group of 6 that stayed for 2 nights in mid- May and only wished we could have stayed longer! We HIGHLY recommend this hotel and hope to return one day!

Room Tip: Forest View Balcony room was quiet and had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Dear Linda M,

Nothing makes us happier than hearing we exceeded expectations; Legendary Service & Unforgettable Memories is our motto, and when we surprise people is when I think we’re most living up to it.

It sounds like you really took advantage of everything both the lodge and the area have to offer. Even with so many activities in the area, we really encourage our guests to plan on spending a morning or afternoon in the gardens. We have several places where you can read, meditate, bird watch, journal or just be with your travel companions (and it sounds like you had plenty of good ones!). We are happy to pack a picnic basket for lunch and provide a blanket and pillows so you can get comfortable on the grass.

I’m really glad you enjoyed our staff’s goodbye gift – the milky alcoholic beverage you mentioned is their take on a coffee liqueur. We hope to see you again someday, and you may want to check out our sister property – Tortuga Lodge & Gardens on Costa Rica’s Caribbean coast, for your next trip. You can find it on Trip Advisor as well.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,388 reviews
0.8 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
515 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.3 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $233 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 forest view downstairs rooms. 12 forest view balcony rooms (a little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips"). 1 downstairs room is wheelchair accessible. • Beds: 2 downstairs rooms and 2 upstairs rooms have 1 king bed. 10 downstairs rooms and 10 upstairs rooms have 2 double beds. • All rooms have: in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: cuisine: What a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing