We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very homey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Virac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here one night. First, for the location, this is FAR from Codon Port (45 mins to an hour I guess?) but relatively near to Virac Airport (20 mins, tops). Just so you know how far it was, we paid P700 for a tricycle from the port to the inn, and then P100 from the inn to the airport.

The room we took was the biggest one, it was reasonably priced at P1500, good for 2, + P200 for an extra head. Breakfast consisted of light native kakanin and coffee. The bathroom was big and clean.

Really the only complaints we have are the fact that during our stay, there was a blackout that lasted 8 hours. It was really hot inside the room, but we stayed out at the veranda to at least enjoy the sea breeze. Also, I don't know if it was because we were the only guests there, but they turned off the water! You have to ask them to turn the pump on before doing your business.

The owners and the other people handling the resort are GREAT, just great. They are very accommodating and really do their best to make you feel at home. They're wonderful hosts and I would return despite the blackouts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eltsyrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Spent two nights in this Inn and i must say it's clean, affordable, big rest room (for room 5), central to most places you'd like to get to when in Virac Catanduanes. They have decent wifi, and their light breakfast of native rice cakes is good! Aja, Karlo "long", and tita Fely made us feel very welcome. Their contacts around Catanduanes made our stay very memorable. Catanduanes via Codon port is the best jump off point to the Caramoan (than Naga). Benticayan (the island's peak), Puraran beach are some places you ought not to miss! Rooms range from 800-1,400 pesos only! Grab this place! Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank KB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel from April 1 through 7 this year of 2013. Great building structure is awesome by itself, being the back side of the building structure is contoured to the mountain made of 30ft high or so solid stone. My room located on the second floor has its own balcony which faces the pacific ocean, and fits a bunch of friends to hangout with.... how cool is that huh? The bathroom is spacious and even has a hot and cold shower, which is rare for a remote island standard. And the best part, the staff are all respectful and always there to help with a smile. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room on front side facing PAcific Ocean called Shann's room hoghly recommend ($35 or so a day is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Monte Karlo is great for short stays to visit Maribina falls and to explore the various beaches in the south and the southwest of the island. It may be convenient moving to Puraran beach for a couple of nights if you plan on taking surfing lessons more than once or practising for longer periods. If not, Monte Karlo is a good base if you'll just go for a day trip to Puraran.

This family-run inn is homey and yet private, and within walking distance from Maribina falls. Where possible, I suggest walking along the beach to get to the falls and back.

The people of Catanduanes I've met were generally polite and friendly, but the folks at Monte Karlo went out of their way to be extra courteous and hospitable.

From the inn at San Vicente -

Motorised tricycle same-day roundtrip prices per trike (driver waits):

- Puraran beach plus Bato church and Radar station = 1000 - 1200 PHP (Philippine pesos)
- Amenia, Magnesia and Bosdak beaches = 700 PHP
- Twin Rock resort plus Mamangal beach = 700 PHP (can be combined with previous set of beaches, just add a couple hundred more)
Tips most welcome! :)

Motorised tricycle one-way fare to Codon port per trike is 500 PHP should you decide to take an outrigger boat to Caramoan.

Motorised tricycle fare to Virac proper (for instance, to Jollibee or to Blossoms Restaurant) is 10 PHP per person or 50 PHP per trike.

From the airport, the standard fare per trike is 150 PHP to Virac proper up to San Vicente.

Enjoy Catanduanes!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hyperope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Me and my friend stayed at this tourist inn last April 9-13, 2012. It's located in San Vicente, Virac (about 5 minutes from the poblacion by tricyle, which costs only 5 pesos per head). It faces the sea and gives you a good view of Mayon Volcano's silhouette on a clear day. The cost of accommodation is really within everybody's reach (1000-1,500 pesos per room, including breakfast). I believe Montekarlo was originally a private house later converted into an inn. It is owned and run by the Aguilar Family, who warmly welcomes and attends to the needs of the house guests. Thanks a lot to Tatay Lindoy and Nanay Hayne for the excellent way they treated us! They also arranged our visit to Caramoan and to Puraran Beach and gave us some practical advices as to dos and donts during our trips. The place is a walking distance from Maribina Falls and to videoke bars that line up the National Highway to the poblacion. The number of rooms is quite limited, so be sure to make your reservation ahead of time. Contact numbers: +639286989559 / +639497341044 / +639053230230. :D

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CzarEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn

Address: 186 San Vicente, Virac, Luzon 4800, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Catanduanes > Virac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Virac
Price Range: $792 - $1,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Karlo Tourist Inn is the best place to stay if you happen to visit Catanduanes. It was a family residential house turned into a modest Bed & Breakfast Inn with a mission to accommodate tourists and travellers who would like to explore the rustic beauty of Catanduanes Island, in a relaxing homey ambience. It offers 5 average-sized private bedrooms with a complimentary light morning meal for you to get started your day. Situated in a waterfront bay area of south Catanduanes, you will enjoy the panoramic views of a magnificent sunrise and a calming sunset, the refreshing breeze of the Pacific Ocean, a glimpse of majestic Mayon Volcano on a clear day, cooling mountain breezes and constant lulling sounds of the waves. Most of our guests love to stay with us not only because of its homelike feel, along the coastal road overlooking the bay, but also it is close to many tourist attractions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Hotel Virac
Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn Virac, Catanduanes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing