We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We were well taken care of by the owners and they were so gracious, kind, helpful, warm and accommodating. They helped us plan and book our daily itinerary and showed genuine concern in making sure we enjoyed our trip. Their cook, Ate Jane, made such delicious dishes (our favorites were crab with taro leaves in coconut cream, stingray, calamari) that we happily gained weight! We stayed in the big room (1 double bed and one 1 single bed) fronting the ocean that had a balcony. It had an AC, fridge and tv although we only used the AC. The bathroom was also big and water pressure was strong. Purified drinking water was provided in the common area upstairs and the native rice cakes for breakfast (free and comes with coffee) were pretty good too! We walked to Maribina Falls (15-20mins) and had a wonderful experience. The brothers Karlo and Aja (owners) were very knowledgeable and helped coordinate the daily chartered trike rental (Kuya Dan was our kind and soft spoken trike driver for 3 days) and boat rental to the Caramoan Islands (Manong Marco was the name of one boatman I think). All in all, Monte Karlo is a great place to stay and you won't regret it :-)

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calisimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

-Hostel Location: About 5min to virac downtown by tricycle(around 20p per trip).
-Sea view room: Spacious, quiet, relax. Bath room is also quite big. Wifi signal in the room.
Nice bay view(can see sun rise and sun set on the balconey).
-Owner: Very nice and accommodating to guests. Home feeling.
-Food: You can order meal in the hostel(cooked by service lady Jean) or go to downtown restaurant by tricycle(step out on the road side & calling a passing by tricycle).

Hope to back here again someday with friends.

Room Tip: selet the sea view room .
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank easytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here one night. First, for the location, this is FAR from Codon Port (45 mins to an hour I guess?) but relatively near to Virac Airport (20 mins, tops). Just so you know how far it was, we paid P700 for a tricycle from the port to the inn, and then P100 from the inn to the airport.

The room we took was the biggest one, it was reasonably priced at P1500, good for 2, + P200 for an extra head. Breakfast consisted of light native kakanin and coffee. The bathroom was big and clean.

Really the only complaints we have are the fact that during our stay, there was a blackout that lasted 8 hours. It was really hot inside the room, but we stayed out at the veranda to at least enjoy the sea breeze. Also, I don't know if it was because we were the only guests there, but they turned off the water! You have to ask them to turn the pump on before doing your business.

The owners and the other people handling the resort are GREAT, just great. They are very accommodating and really do their best to make you feel at home. They're wonderful hosts and I would return despite the blackouts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eltsyrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Spent two nights in this Inn and i must say it's clean, affordable, big rest room (for room 5), central to most places you'd like to get to when in Virac Catanduanes. They have decent wifi, and their light breakfast of native rice cakes is good! Aja, Karlo "long", and tita Fely made us feel very welcome. Their contacts around Catanduanes made our stay very memorable. Catanduanes via Codon port is the best jump off point to the Caramoan (than Naga). Benticayan (the island's peak), Puraran beach are some places you ought not to miss! Rooms range from 800-1,400 pesos only! Grab this place! Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank KB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel from April 1 through 7 this year of 2013. Great building structure is awesome by itself, being the back side of the building structure is contoured to the mountain made of 30ft high or so solid stone. My room located on the second floor has its own balcony which faces the pacific ocean, and fits a bunch of friends to hangout with.... how cool is that huh? The bathroom is spacious and even has a hot and cold shower, which is rare for a remote island standard. And the best part, the staff are all respectful and always there to help with a smile. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room on front side facing PAcific Ocean called Shann's room hoghly recommend ($35 or so a day is well worth the money).
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews