We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Virac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We spent 10 days in this fine place..beautiful views..we will definitely stay there again. the owner was very accommodating..and again the views are fantastic...and the accomidations are quite comfortable

Room Tip: choose room # 5...it has it's own balcony with endless view of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

We were well taken care of by the owners and they were so gracious, kind, helpful, warm and accommodating. They helped us plan and book our daily itinerary and showed genuine concern in making sure we enjoyed our trip. Their cook, Ate Jane, made such delicious dishes (our favorites were crab with taro leaves in coconut cream, stingray, calamari) that we happily gained weight! We stayed in the big room (1 double bed and one 1 single bed) fronting the ocean that had a balcony. It had an AC, fridge and tv although we only used the AC. The bathroom was also big and water pressure was strong. Purified drinking water was provided in the common area upstairs and the native rice cakes for breakfast (free and comes with coffee) were pretty good too! We walked to Maribina Falls (15-20mins) and had a wonderful experience. The brothers Karlo and Aja (owners) were very knowledgeable and helped coordinate the daily chartered trike rental (Kuya Dan was our kind and soft spoken trike driver for 3 days) and boat rental to the Caramoan Islands (Manong Marco was the name of one boatman I think). All in all, Monte Karlo is a great place to stay and you won't regret it :-)

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calisimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

-Hostel Location: About 5min to virac downtown by tricycle(around 20p per trip).
-Sea view room: Spacious, quiet, relax. Bath room is also quite big. Wifi signal in the room.
Nice bay view(can see sun rise and sun set on the balconey).
-Owner: Very nice and accommodating to guests. Home feeling.
-Food: You can order meal in the hostel(cooked by service lady Jean) or go to downtown restaurant by tricycle(step out on the road side & calling a passing by tricycle).

Hope to back here again someday with friends.

Room Tip: selet the sea view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank easytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here one night. First, for the location, this is FAR from Codon Port (45 mins to an hour I guess?) but relatively near to Virac Airport (20 mins, tops). Just so you know how far it was, we paid P700 for a tricycle from the port to the inn, and then P100 from the inn to the airport.

The room we took was the biggest one, it was reasonably priced at P1500, good for 2, + P200 for an extra head. Breakfast consisted of light native kakanin and coffee. The bathroom was big and clean.

Really the only complaints we have are the fact that during our stay, there was a blackout that lasted 8 hours. It was really hot inside the room, but we stayed out at the veranda to at least enjoy the sea breeze. Also, I don't know if it was because we were the only guests there, but they turned off the water! You have to ask them to turn the pump on before doing your business.

The owners and the other people handling the resort are GREAT, just great. They are very accommodating and really do their best to make you feel at home. They're wonderful hosts and I would return despite the blackouts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eltsyrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Spent two nights in this Inn and i must say it's clean, affordable, big rest room (for room 5), central to most places you'd like to get to when in Virac Catanduanes. They have decent wifi, and their light breakfast of native rice cakes is good! Aja, Karlo "long", and tita Fely made us feel very welcome. Their contacts around Catanduanes made our stay very memorable. Catanduanes via Codon port is the best jump off point to the Caramoan (than Naga). Benticayan (the island's peak), Puraran beach are some places you ought not to miss! Rooms range from 800-1,400 pesos only! Grab this place! Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank KB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virac
32.1 km away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
255 reviews
6.6 km away
Catanduanes Twinrock Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Catanduanes Midtown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Marem Pension House
Marem Pension House
#6 of 8 in Virac
14 reviews
0.3 km away
ARDCI Corporate Inn
ARDCI Corporate Inn
#1 of 5 in Virac
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn

Address: 186 San Vicente, Virac, Luzon 4800, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Catanduanes > Virac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Virac
Price Range: $792 - $1,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Karlo Tourist Inn is the best place to stay if you happen to visit Catanduanes. It was a family residential house turned into a modest Bed & Breakfast Inn with a mission to accommodate tourists and travellers who would like to explore the rustic beauty of Catanduanes Island, in a relaxing homey ambience. It offers 5 average-sized private bedrooms with a complimentary light morning meal for you to get started your day. Situated in a waterfront bay area of south Catanduanes, you will enjoy the panoramic views of a magnificent sunrise and a calming sunset, the refreshing breeze of the Pacific Ocean, a glimpse of majestic Mayon Volcano on a clear day, cooling mountain breezes and constant lulling sounds of the waves. Most of our guests love to stay with us not only because of its homelike feel, along the coastal road overlooking the bay, but also it is close to many tourist attractions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Hotel Virac
Monte Karlo Waterfront Tourist Inn Virac, Catanduanes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing