We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and damp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Rated as a 4 star hotel id give 2 star freezing room heater Dosent work smells of damp and seriously needs blackout curtains or a switch to turn the outer lights off(room 22) night shift man was very healpful

Room Tip: Outer rooms are good just not room 22 very cold as heater Dosent work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sunset007hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

A group of us went here Friday night for Fizzy Friday. It was £20 a ticket and for that you got a visit to the horderves table where there are meats, fish, pasta, rice, etc then to he dessert table where there were around 5 choices. Pete Murphy was the entertainment and was really good. Only downsides was that there weren't enough champagne flutes and not much space to dance. I would recommend and I will go again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MaisieMooD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We were due to stay for the bank holiday weekend I said due as when I saw the whole comedy show it felt like a bad episode of Faulty Towers and we ended up driving 3hrs back home. And it wasn't cheap either £300 for 2nights with no breakfast I could have stayed to the Burnside in Windermere for that price!

First we arrived at lunch time to be told the room was not ready and guests where still around so it would not be cleaned before 2pm at least I thought fair enough we will have Sunday lunch on site then get our room then.

Then the unfriendly reception lady (she could not crack a smile!) told us she had to check with the chef to see if we could be served they somehow managed to find us a table..the meal was sooooo long it took 1h30 to be served our Sunday Roast! We were surrounded by elderly people who complained when we opened the door as it felt like a sauna (being in an orangerie/conservatory type of room) it was just like visiting my great aunt in a nursery home. After 20minutes I felt 80 myself...

Thirdly, we were told our room was ready and the barman would take us there!?! What do you mean take us there? Yes we had to walk 150yards to this isolated and odd apartment because there was no car park on site!! Basically you had to walk there on the main road with your bags, child, dog and bump (yes 6months pregnant too) then had to go back up hill to the main building! Once there we found out they gave us the wrong set of keys and others guests had ours.
The apartment itself was strangely built but quite clean to be fair but impracticable to access with pram or wheelchair as there is a huge staircase to get to your flat with again an odd way to insert keys to get in! We were rescued by the cleaners or we would have had to go back to the main reception for the third time!
We ended up giving the keys back and were told sorry you feel this way goodbye.

So to cut a long story short I don't understand how they managed to sustain their business for so long. What should have been a special weekend ended up being a nightmare to the point we had to drive back home. The manager is never able to comment or probably always busy hiding away from unhappy guests I guess!
I spoke to Booking.com people and I am in touch with them to take things further as the way they treat and deceive people is a total disgrace!
In brief, avoid at all cost!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank MrsCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This Bank Holiday Saturday night, my friend Anne and myself attended the Clarence House Hotel's first theme night, under the name of 'Saturday Night Smooth' which we later learned was the first of many theme'd dinner evening's planned. Knowing this be assured we've booked for the next one to be staged in November, and what's more we're staying over so that the driver can indulge in a drink of bubbly. (The diver being the typist of this review!
We're no stranger's to the Clarence House Hotel meaning my friend and I along with our late friend Alison used too come once a month to the Ladies Luncheon Club, which the three of us used to look foreward too immensely as it was quite a drive over from Seascale/Ravenglass on the west coast come rain or shine, but it was alway's well worth the drive. Seeing that we've both recently lost our Husband's and their aniversaries were looming and plus loosing our third member of the Luncheon club Alison we decided to have a remembrance dinner to celebrate their lives and the joy that the three of them have given us during all the year's that we'd known them.

What can I say about Saturday Smooth night, only it was fabulous, the food was just wonderful, and the entertainment was so so good, the young threesome were very talented and boy! could they belt out a show stopper from either a Broadway Mucial, Film or super smooth jazz ballad.
If you want to celabrate in style, that special date in your life, why join us at the next special Saturday Night Smooth at the Clarence House Hotel, the surroundings of elegant dinning room, plus the enjoyment of a fabulous 3 course meal, with entertainment all make's for a very special evening.
By the way we have every intention of rejoining the Ladies that Lunch again! missed that so much.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Driving into the grounds of the hotel was very nice, we thought we had made the correct decision to stay there for two nights, beautiful building, we took our dog along as agreed with the hotel, we checked in and were shown to our room, next to the laundry room, noisy and staff walking past our window was not what we wanted so asked to change rooms.
We were given another room, which we appreciated, however, the attitude of the receptionist became diabolical. The second room was like the first, dates with a terrible carpet...what shocked us the most was a spotlight on the ceiling hanging off, wallpaper not stuck to the wall properly, receipts from previous occupants, dead spiders in the walldrobe, skirting boards hanging off, they are supposed to serve evening meals every evening, but no food was being served on our last night, previous occupants had left toiletries which has not been removed until the next morning, so all in all it was not worth the money and we will not be staying again, my advice is, look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.3 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
254 reviews
2.2 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
814 reviews
18.8 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Dunes Hotel
Dunes Hotel
#8 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
135 reviews
26.4 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,231 reviews
34.9 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range: $146 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing