We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chequers Hotel(Dalton-in-Furness)
US$93
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
The Red Lion(Dalton-in-Furness)
Number 19 Guesthouse(Dalton-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
177
68
43
34
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
68
43
34
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfizzy fridaychristmas decorationsafternoon teachristmas lunchsconesbirthday partythe main hotelsalmoncourse mealfantastic foodlittle touchescooked to perfectionlake districtfull englishclarenceconservatorymolton
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

On Wednesday evening of this week my wife and I were looking for somewhere to have our evening meal.
We chose the Clarence House Hotel in Dalton.
It was a good choice, as the food, service, and surroundings were all excellent.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful.
We have spent many fantastic nights at Clarence House in the past, and this visit was no exception.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed at Clarence House on the night of 25th October in room 4 . We had a friendly welcome on arrival and shown to our room which was clean and spacious with a four poster bed. After a walk we returned for dinner in the restaurant which was good and served by friendly team of staff. There was a party of 20 in the restaurant but we were still served efficiently. Breakfast the following morning was equally as good with a nice selection of options.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be most friendly and helpful . We would return to this hotel. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank helen_leedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Terrible. Arrived on a Sunday and told no food Sunday pm. Room damp and smelt foisty. Sofa filthy, bedding falling apart, carpets and wallpaper torn, electric sockets loose, TV didn't work as did some lights. Had to get out of bed to turn off lights, dusty and cobwebby, dirty glasses. Left after 2 nights and booked into Premier Inn which was much nicer! More 2 star than 4. A rip off for what it was.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank YJHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived with some trepidation having read some of the reviews and couldn't have been more surprised! The entrance was very pleasant with a nice pumpkin display outside and plenty of space in the car park. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and the public areas were cosy with plenty of seating and very warm. My son joined me for dinner and the food was outstanding. Service was also excellent. I can't recognise the hotel from some of the reviews. It's an old property so has its quirks but surely that is part of the attraction. Will very happily stay again and would recommend that others do too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Rated as a 4 star hotel id give 2 star freezing room heater Dosent work smells of damp and seriously needs blackout curtains or a switch to turn the outer lights off(room 22) night shift man was very healpful

Room Tip: Outer rooms are good just not room 22 very cold as heater Dosent work
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sunset007hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews