We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Old Bakehouse(Chulmleigh)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Highbullen Hotel(Chittlehamholt)
US$147
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George(South Molton)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Hatherleigh)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
39
11
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
11
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfour posterlovely roommodern bathroomboth morningsan evening mealdevonelliedog
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice last time was great however this time not so good, found it hard to sleep as they had music blasting out till gone midnight and peoole shouting, the room smelt really fusty and damp. And the service at breakfast was terrible this morning the door to the pub was locked so we knocked and they let us in.. No one came to serve us or give us drinks infact they said they didn't realise we was down so we wanted over an hour for a cooked breakfast and the egg was black and gritty... we didn't each much service was really bad to be honest. Such a shame as had a better time at this hotel last year. Improvement is definately needed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Having spoken to you on the telephone, the day after your stay, where we discussed the issues that your experienced. Our understanding was that you had appreciated our explanation as to why our normal high standards had not been met this time round and that you were happy with the compensation that you had received.

We were therefore quite surprised that you had chosen to write this post on Tripadvisor.

That weekend our accommodation was fully booked and we also had a singer performing in the pub. As is our normal practice when we have guests the music was stopped at midnight.

We are in the process of redecorating all of our rooms and the room you stayed in had been decorated that week, which will explain the odour.

The breakfast issues were quite simply due to the fact that the waitress was late for her shift. This has highlighted some training issues for other members of staff who were on site and how they should have stepped in for such an unforeseen event, which we are rectifying now.

All we can do now is apologies to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights. There was a darts match on and staff apologised in advance if there was any noise but we could not hear them at all. Comfy spacious room (4). Good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We recently returned to the Red Lion as word had got around that the pizzas were back, that is the delicious thin crispy based brilliantly topped pizzas! And they are. We called in recently when my brother and family were staying with us and we were thrilled to find the pizzas were just as delicious as they had been in the past. Simply terrific!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Enjoyed good pizza and burger supper here. We were made to feel very welcome and found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. Very dog friendly too which is a bonus. They were very busy but informed us when we ordered that there would be a wait for our food which we appreciated. Lots of people order their pizzas to take away. Didn't end up having to wait as long as they said we might.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived very late in Devon and the Pub was kind to accommodate us. We ordered 4 pizza's and wow fantastic pizza's for the taste and size. Great thin dough pizza's and amazing flavoured toppings! And we also had some fries and also wow!! Definitely all homemade! Can definitely recommend! Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Freysen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews