We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
98
111
81
40
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
111
81
40
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice swimming poolcentral stockholmmini breakromantic weekendlocal trainneeds renovationview of the waterspa areashower curtainbaltic seaclassic hotelhotel restaurantenjoyed my staybreakfast buffetsteinway pianobilliardsslussen
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

And only in a good way!! It has an old world feel to it, it is old and are waking up from its beauty sleep with ongoing updates all over the property, supervised by the Doyenne of the hotel, Charlotte and her team! We had a great stay with a fantastic dinner in the French Diningroom, the following day was packed with outdoor activities on the Baltic!

It's 30 minutes outside the Stockholm city center and is sort of the gateway to the Baltic Sea, perfect fir a quick pick-new-uper or a romantic weekend with your loved ones!

Book the Harbor view rooms, they are the best & remember, it's an old dame so it can be some cracks on the facade!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank magnus l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Receptionschef at Grand Hotel Saltsjobaden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Magnus,
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! And what a lovely feedback. we are most glad to hear that your stay was a success.
Welcome back again soon. Kind regards, Jenny Höglund, Front Office Manager with Charlotte and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The hotel is away from the city noise and very quiet place to set and enjoy the sunrise and the sunset,walking around the harbor early in the morning before the sunrise is very enjoyable.
The breakfast is very good,the staff of the hotel is very nice and kind.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony, harbor view is the best.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jihad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I came here with work for just a day and a night. The service at dinner were terrible, I’m a vegetarian and had to ask for food five times, 10 minutes after the others in my company finished their starters I finally got mine, then it was the same thing with the main course, I got basically the same food for a starter as for the main course: mushrooms. When I was going to bed the lights by the bed didn’t work, I asked in the reception if they could fix it and they offered me to change rooms, but at 10.30 pm fo a one night stay I just didn’t think it was worth the trouble.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Birthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Receptionschef at Grand Hotel Saltsjobaden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Birthe,
Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. This is not how we wish our guests to experience their stay with us at all. We do hope we get a second chance to welcome you back. You are more than welcome to contact me directly.
Kind regards, Jenny Höglund, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Great location - Old hotel - Great restaurant
We would have loved staying longer than one night. Very peasant place. The restaurant is really nice. The rooms need a make-over, but it is clean and tidy. Nice staff. We will come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Receptionschef at Grand Hotel Saltsjobaden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Jan,
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your experience!
Welcome back soon. Kind regards, Jenny Höglund, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed a weekend on August at Saltsjöbaden, which is a beautiful place, worth to visit just 30 minutes from Stockholm! Please eat at at Holmen Kök och Bar, it is very nice!

It is so shame that the Grand Hotel Saltsjöbaden was disappointment. We had booked spapaket weekend including products for individual treatment at the spa. The products were samples!!! and on Friday when we arrived and visited the spa there was no staff. In the room there was no wineglasses, no ironing equipments or bath products. The service was not good - just apathetic when we were trying to get information or help.

Because this was important weekend for us we choose not to care and enjoyed the things we could: great breakfast, beautiful room with balcony and the hotel restaurant with the staff was great! And Saltsjöbaden all in all. Go for a walk see the town. It is beautiful! Very Swedish that we liked.

We will go again but next time we will book B&B.

Room Tip: Room with balcony was nice!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 745annip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Receptionschef at Grand Hotel Saltsjobaden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience, we appreciate your feedback!
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations regarding the spa and room facilities. Our room categories differ in size and come with different facilities. Is saddens us to hear that you did not get the information, help and service as expected. This is a main concern for us and we take it seriously. Do not hesitate to contact me directly before your next visit.
Welcome back soon. Kind regards, Jenny Höglund, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews