We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Summer Island Maldives(Ziyaaraifushi Island)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$400
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

One&Only Reethi Rah(Reethirah Island)
US$1,823
US$1,650
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,949/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

smartline Eriyadu(Eriyadu Island)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$306
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$469
US$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coco Bodu Hithi(Bodu Hithi Island)
US$546
US$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Coco Prive(North Male Atoll)
US$45,000
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
US$677
US$635
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$446
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$855
US$635
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
402
175
40
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
175
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnurse sharksset menuour waiterfishhermit crabsdive schooloctopusmaldivian nightturtle pointroom boybbq nightrustic charmindian oceandive centrebuffet breakfast and lunchmaldivian stylesunset bar
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We went back. It was an easy choise. A year has passed but nothing has changed. Bathrooms are still nasty and old (please do something!) Food is good, staff is pretty much the same, the bed is excellent. Only the weather has been different with a lot of wind and more rain than year ago. The hotel has been almost full. Everything is working nicely. We have been on turtle snorkeling trip twice already, it was so great! Visibility on house reef has been poor from time to time but we saw some ray from distance and even a quitar shark, about 1,2 m long, from the shore. I hope they had a smaller boat that could take you to snorkelling places nearby with reasonable price. This year we have seen 4-5 jellyfishes at the beach but they have been taken away fast.

We had all inclusive. If you are not using alcohol, there aren't that many drinks to choose from. 4 drinks, 2 of them are good and the other 2...less good. Then soft drinks of course, but only one without sugar. But if alcohol is not a problem, you have a lot to choose from. All inclusive also means that you can have some food from the bar between 16-17. It was nice, I just hope one could take plain fries without extra charge instead of ordering tuna/chicken sandwiches and having them as a side dish. All inclusive gives you unlimited drinks and this one snack time extra, that is all you get. Last year we had full board and it was enough for us. I would say it is worth some extra money but not more than a couple of hundreds. Depending of your alcohol intake

All was so good that these little things I mentioned are just my hopes to do it even better. But guys, you REALLY need to update those bathrooms! At least take that sad old hairdryer thing off the wall.

To those who are going to visit this island: do not feed the stork! It ends up standing at your plate. The staff is giving it food. And for christ sake, do not stand on corals at the reef! We have seen this happening each day, sadly. And for light sleepers, remember to take your earplugs with you, that annoying bird can keep you awake all night long if it feels like it.

Solid 4 stars, even with the bathrooms.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Raisussu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Raisussu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. It is very pleased to read all the positive comments due to our goal is to fulfill your expectations. We regret to read the little details did not pleased you in full as we would have liked and we'll work on that to improve our resort.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again with open arms in our resort

Kindest regards,
Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This resort is totally amazing and completely worthy of the price. It is very close to nature and it's basically like you have your own beach right in front of your bungalow. We went here for our honeymoon in August 2017 and we loved it; Amazing waters for snorkeling and bathing, a lot of wildlife although the Island is very small (various kinds of birds, crabs, fish and also fruit bats flying around). They have some different activities and trips you can go to during the day, because it's not that much to do except relaxing on the Island. The food is AMAZING and the staff as well. Highly recommended to have a all-inclusive package or full board package because the food is just the best I have ever tasted on our many vacations around the world. And a bonus: this resort serves alcohol! (the local islands doesn't).

Room Tip: All bungalows are equally good.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makunudu R, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Julia,

Thank you for the kind review and it's our pleasure to make sure that your stay with us will be a memorable one. We are delighted that you enjoy the food during your stay and service provided by our staff. Thank you again for recommending our island and Should you find yourself planning another getaway, we would be honoured to welcome you back for another memorable holiday.

Best regards,

Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I can't remember my stay without want deeply be there ... this is called in Portuguese "Saudade".

When we were about to book a place to visit maldives , and we take a look on this paradise , and we saw that there was no any kind of nocture diversion we decided right way to book this place. WE ARE NOT REGRETED.

we foundout that the makunudu will always be the paradise for us . the resort was exceed our expectations!!!

It was really just us and the nature , with all that a nature comprises, all kind of wild and great animals... the sound of nature.


if you are in doubt if this is for you ... if you love nature if you want to relaxe and forget your rush life .. if want you just you the sea the nature .THEN FOR SURE BOOK don't hesitate.

AHHHHHHHHHH and the FOOD is amazing .

Room Tip: try the lower number rooms , that are far from the resort electrical pwer generator, so less noise
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makunudu R, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Teresa,

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy that your expectations was exceeded during you stay with us. We will strive and make sure the paradise you visited will be remain the same. Looking forward to welcoming you again to Makunudu Island.

Kind regards,

Makunudu Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The rooms are pretty and better then the pictures. You walk 4 metres and you have your chair lodges. More 5 metres and you enter the sea on your almost private beach with pristine sand and esmeralda sea. The food is amazing, always different, always tasty, always good.
The reef is nice and you can swing.
You don't have tv or any kind of animation. Only the sound of the sea , the wind and the birds.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear pdt01,

What a simply beautiful review, you have captured our natural island in its true essence.We do try our best to deliver the best possible experience to our guests and its an honor to receive such feed backs as a result. Thanks once again for taking time to review our resort.

We look forward to welcome you for a return experience to Makunudu.

Kindly regards,

Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We loved this place, found for us by an agency. We went there blind and it couldn't have been better for us if we had spent days searching.
Only 10 bungalows were occupied if he 36 as out of season.
Do not come here if you don't like nature, you are in the middle of the jungle. You have to leapfrog the hermit crabs to get to the beach and our bathroom had a resident lizard. It sounds awful but it was wonderful.
Thank you to Lateef, Fareed, Habib and Stephanie for the best time ever. A week would be enough unless you are a real sun worshipper.
Ps Don't bring shoes.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Helensheffield66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Helensheffield66,

Thank you for taking time to review Makunudu Island. We are certainly pleased that you appreciate the original Idea of Maldives which has been preserved to provide the old word charm in a natural setting. We have taken note of your observations and delighted that our service and facilities met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back for a return experience

Kindly regards,

Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews