We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacuare River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

This is exactly what you are looking for in the middle of Costa Rica. Beautiful views and just enough to be comfortable. We got to this location on an amazing two day rafting trip with Exploradores outdoors. There were other lodges along the river, but they looked much more expensive and commercial.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2015

Combined with two half days of whitewater rafting this lodge and experience was well worth the money. Our guide (Giovanni) was rafting instructor, cook, naturalist and comedian. You need to keep what you bring to a minimum (the transport will take your luggage to takeout point). What you bring goes into a huge drysack but you might feel more comfortable if you bring your own to put in the larger one). After a couple of hours white water rafting you arrive at the camp and everyone has to pitch in to carry up the food and equipment to the lodge, no mean feat uphill. However afterwards you can collapse while lunch is whipped up. You can take walks around the area in the afternoon or sit in comfortable chairs watching hummingbirds feed on the bushes in front of you and take in the raging rapid that will be your first challenge of the next day. Pre-dinner drinks and another wonderful meal wind the day up. The "cabins" are a cross between a tent and a hut - roof, netting, two single beds (with sheets brought with us) and curtains that can be pulled across. The views are wonderful and the temperature doesn't really get that cold at night. The bathrooms and showers (cold water only) are shared so don't expect luxury. Next day its off again for another six hour of whitewater rafting. If you are reasonably fit, adventurous and don't mind roughing it (a little bit) for one night then do it!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

My husband loved this place. We had no idea what to expect since this was purchased through a Grey Line package. You raft to this location so you can only bring limited items on this trip. The rest is locked up at the rafting center. We stayed here 2 nights. The raft guides took us down the river, cooked for us, and took us on hikes (one to a waterfall). They were very friendly and you feel part a family. Your room is a cabin with screens to allow airflow which also allows for a great view. The temperatures here do not get hot so the screens are enough. When you come here it feels more like camping so be prepared. The grounds are beautiful and the river ride back was exciting!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Norma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I made a last minute booking at Pacuare River Lodge in May 2014, after discovering it in an online search. Johanna arranged everything for me in a matter of hours, confirming that I could join another family going out the next morning. Kurt and his team picked me up at my hostel, and as we drove out to the launch site, Kurt used his wealth of knowledge to help me map out a plan for the coming weeks of my trip. The guides were an absolute blast to travel with, and we definitely seemed to be having way more fun than the much larger groups! Altogether there were five of us and 2-3 guides on the river. The foods that the guides prepared both on the water and at the lodge was downright gourmet! The setting of the lodge is beautiful, and Kurt is doing a lot of work to make it even better. It was so surreal and awesome to sleep with the sounds of the river and the animals lulling me to sleep. The day trip up to the village was also great, in spite of the rain. I loved the personalization of the entire trip put on by the Pacuare River Lodge owners and staff! If you set looking for more than just a float trip down the Pacuare, this is your company!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMONETTA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacuare River
1 km away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
561 reviews
31.7 km away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
270 reviews
21.8 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 km away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
298 reviews
1.4 km away
Rios Tropicales Lodge
Rios Tropicales Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pacuare River
139 reviews
0.6 km away
Ave Sol River Sanctuary
Ave Sol River Sanctuary
#3 of 3 in Pacuare River
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacuare River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacuare River Lodge

Address: Santa Marta, Bajo de Tigre 7 km | near Siquirres, Pacuare River 170-7150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Pacuare River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pacuare River
Price Range: $756 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacuare River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pacuare River Lodge, Costa Rica! This one-of-a-kind lodge sits amid exotic primary rainforest, indigenous reserves and isolated valleys, and is accessed by raft, 4X4 or horseback. Along a hillside overlooking the Pacuare River, the 12 cabinas are spaced at a comfortable distance from each other; allowing breathtaking panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pacuare River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing