We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Concept in Jose Ignacio Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Vik Hotels is somethig different and new in hotel business . Only less than 50 persons in the hotel
sacluded ,private area and beach The name of the rooms are from the unique artist that paint the room, each room is unique very spatious, bathroom is huge. For guest that want to rest or honeymoon.

Room Tip: Near the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luisc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2015

The VIK is an unusual property - we stayed at the VIK in the beginning of Dec. It is a very special place and is lovely. I would recommend coming here for total rest and relaxation or for that special occasion.

Good points -
Staff very nice, service excellent-
Love the fact water and soft drinks are included in the price - wish more hotels did this
Made my Birthday very special!!!
Amazing pool
Great location - decoration in all the properties is something truly amazing and unique with so much thought.
Rooms are Wonderful and house keeping is expeciational
Food fresh and tasty


However, there are a few things i wish i had been made aware of when i booked. I contacted VIK Directly but didn't get the information until afterwards
1) Drive and get a car!!! Driving is very easy and if i had know i would do this again. Actually made sure you do have a car!!!
2)The Wine is very expensive however VIK wine is expensive in Chile too so they are consistent.
3) Breakfast one day we were the only people in the hotel and they didn't put out a great deal for us. I would have preferred them saying your our only guest we would like to make you breakfast what would you like - a) this would have made it special for us and B) it would have made less waste - when we tried to convey this to the manager i felt like i could explain myself fully as the waitress was listening to our conversation
4)Get rid of the coffee pod machine for breakfast but thats because i don't like these machines and i don't feel they made good coffee.
5)need to improve co-ordination between hotels and restaurant especially in off peak times when there are only a handful of guests in all the properties.

I would like to stay at the vineyard in Chile but as we like a lot of wine I don't think our wallet could stretch. Your paying very high prices even for 5star standards. We like to pay for quality wine but i feel its just too steep and as we are very spoiled with great wine in Chile, this is the one thing that would put me off with booking a stay at the VIK retreat in Chile.

Would i recommend you stay at the VIK - yes. Book it and you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vix2014cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We had dinner at Playa Vik, while staying at Estancia Vik and the service was very good! Their own wine VIK was superb and the swimming pool with the view was incredible.
Is good they let you use the facilities of the other hotels when you stay in one so you can benefit from all. The are so different. Playa is more chic, modern and trendy while Estancia is more to relax and horse rading activities. Not that you cannot relax at Playa but has a different feeling.Each room has a different theme. The design and attention to detail is incredible. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MAXC1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

What a special architect created this special place. It is more like a big Privat mansion than a hotel.very individual design of the individual rooms. The bath with special marble is extra ordinary.
The pool too. At night the stars are shining on the ground. The service is polite and what I liked , always with a smile. Breakfast ok. Menus card too. Food for lunch/dinner very good.

Room Tip: Look for a suite with view to the Atlantic Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

It's rare for a hotel to get everything perfect, as does Playa Vik. Each of the suites are unique, with it's own character created by a selection of fine artwork and furniture. Everything has been thought out in great detail. It's sublimely set among the beaches of Jose Ignacio, which is the backdrop to a spectacular counter-levered infinity pool. If all this isn't enough, what really makes Playa Vik a very special place is the people and service. I cannot praise the staff enough, especially Sabrina, Alfonso and Michelle - thank you! The staff preempt what you need before you have to ask. Our car, for example, was brought up and was ready for us without us asking because they knew we were going out for dinner. This is the third time we've stayed at Playa Vik and it will not be the last. ... oh, I almost forgot to mention the fabulous food - delicious!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SiKinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
1.5 km away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
48 reviews
3.2 km away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
250 reviews
8.3 km away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#7 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
102 reviews
2.5 km away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
155 reviews
28 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa VIK Jose Ignacio

Address: Los Cisnes y Los Horneros, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range: $1,032 - $5,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing