We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The Hotel is located a few kilometers from Punta Del Este. The beach right in the front is great and beautiful. You can walk a few miles to Jose Ignacio Village, which is very charming and has some good restaurants. breakfast is great!!
The only thing I would say is that they could heat the pool.We would have enjoyed more.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tattii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

The place´s such a magnificent landscape, but the incredible service gives the perfect atmosphere to feel the comfort of a warm home. I dont even think that my husband could recognize my favorites as Camila did. She was one of a kind taking care of us, trying always to please our different willings. Added the excellent food and drinks in charge of Marcos during sunset, this was by far, a delightfull staying. We are looking forward to go back. Thanks Playa Vik Team! Was such a pleasure!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cata V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

In one word, what makes Playa Vik a great get-away – people.

The people who run Playa Vik are the most attentive and thoughtful you will find anywhere. By way of example, on valentine's day and I wanted to buy my husband a single red rose to sit on his desk, but there’s no florist within José Ignacio, so without asking Sabrina arranged for someone who was driving through Punta del Este (an hour away in traffic), to stop and pick up a rose and then refused to accept any payment for the rose. I could go on and cite many more examples.

In short, despite being difficult guests (from New York City), this is the 4th time we’ve stayed at Playa Vik and it will not be the last. We highly recommend Playa Vik.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiKinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We went there for a romantic dinner and received a warm welcome in this enclave of luxury and decadence. The place has an incredible architecture (arch. Ott), including a LED illuminated infinity pool. The dinner was a highly individualized creation by the chef of the house and was presented in a perfect fashion. We wish we could go back there, but it's a very restricted venue and unless you are invited or a paying hotel guest, one cannot access this property. Fife stars all the way.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Markus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I stayed here with my family for a few days just after the new year. I can only say we hated to leave. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa, and for me especially it was paradise, as it was like being a child again -- no worries. Anything needed you simply asked for in the main house and it was provided. Food at all hours, towels for the pool (unheated, that was a pity), restaurant reservations, taxis, anything. The views are outstanding, the rooms are beyond wonderful: staying in a gorgeous, art-filled, design paradise. I am sure if we had stayed longer than four days I could find problems with something but I really didn't.
Another thing I really like about Playa Vik is that guests do have a lot of privacy. You can really kick back and enjoy being with the people you are traveling with. It is "small" but so well designed that all guests can have their own wonderful time without infringing upon each other, or feeling annoyed by each other; at the same time, if you want to meet other people, the public spaces provide graceful opportunity for doing so.
Too bad Playa Vik can't control the weather, we had an incredible storm one day, but simply stayed inside and enjoyed the villa.
Jose Ignacio was also a wonderful village to hang around in, we loved going down to La Huella and eating sushi while watching the beautiful people.
I also appreciated the birthday cake that was baked for my husband's birthday the night before we left. I had asked about arranging something months before we came, but my email got lost in the spam account of the hotel. I just forgot about it, but the hotel didn't, so that was very nice!
Great holiday, I recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank heavycat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
3.2 km away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
239 reviews
1.5 km away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
47 reviews
0.4 km away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
99 reviews
2.5 km away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
28.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa VIK Jose Ignacio

Address: Los Cisnes y Los Horneros, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range: $735 - $2,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing