We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Suaya(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jenous Hostel(Jose Ignacio)
US$260
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Hale Lau(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$500
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$440
US$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Paradiso(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Garzon Lodge(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
16
16
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
16
6
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We first visited Posada Azul Marino in 2010 during a 3 week visit to Uruguay. It was one of our many wonderful experiences that brought us back to Uruguay to purchase a condo in Montevideo.

Since then, we have returned to Jose Ignacio and Posada Azul Marino twice and have thoroughly enjoyed this family built and operated property. It is peaceful but very close to the Jose Ignacio amenities.

It is located on a quiet laneway just north of the village and a 5 minutes walk to a spectacular beach. The rooms are modern with a Zen type influence and overlook a lovely, private landscape and pool. The property sits on a hill overlooking a pine forest with glimpses of the ocean and many of the rooms have private outdoor covered, furnished decks. The rooms have a lovely private bath and shower, refrigerators, and a lovely view.

Javier, the owner was more than happy to help with anything and booked us reservations prior to arriving at La Huella Restaurante. We also enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the newly opened La Susana and drinks at Hotel Garzon in Pueblo Garzon, a few miles from the posada.

A continental breakfast of fresh café, fruits, breads and juice are served in a bright ahd cheery area overlooking the pool, pines and the ocean in the distance.

We would highly recommend visiting Jose Ignacio and Posada Azul Marino.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoneTropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We've just returned from spending 5 nights at the charming Posada Azul Marino and truly enjoyed our stay with them. I think it's fair to start with some basic notes regarding the location: Jose Ignacio is about 40mins drive from the busy partying areas of Punta del Este but we thought that was definetely a plus. We were on honeymoon so were looking for some relaxing time away from the busy partying and Jose Ignacio was perfect. It's only 20mins drive from La Barra and Manantiales which are now quite trendy areas and where a lot of good restaurants and bars are. After 6 days there we came to the conclusion that Jose Ignacio and Manantiales were much more charming and fun than punta del este itself. The posada is lovely, clean and the owners are geniunly friendly and helpful. They offer their help for a lot of things but they also let you relax and help you out chosing restaurants and things to do. The other thing to note is that a lot of wealthy people have houses in Jose Ignacio (Shakira even owns a house there!) so even though it might appear remote at first, that area is very popular now hence the expensive rates. Also, make sure you have dinner at the restaurant next door (Marismo) that was one of the nicest meals we had in the entire trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Azul Marino 3 nights in November and really enjoyed our stay. The posada is bigger than I anticipated: I went in expecting a home converted into an inn, and instead found a beautifully designed boutique hotel. The rooms were spacious, very clean, with modern/rustic feel and decor. I would definitively recommend staying upstairs to enjoy the views and the balconies, and if you can splurge on the jacuzzi room, it is absolutely worth it. The balcony in this room is the biggest (the size of a livingroom - really big) and since it faces west, you'll be able to enjoy glorious sunsets and a distant view of the Jose Ignacio lighthouse.
Regarding location, the hotel is basically surrounded by nature. When you look out the window all you see are trees and the beach in the distance. It's very peaceful and quiet, most times all you hear is the sound of birds singing. Take the time at night to look up... I have never seen so many stars...
Keep in mind Jose Ignacio is the quiet brother of Punta del Este so don't expect a lot of nightlife around here (especially during off season). The beaches are absolutely amazing and serene, and the hotel is maybe 15 minutes away from what I thought was the best seafood restaurant in town: Parador La Huella (PLEASE have the calamari). The architecture in the area is stunning. I'd say this hotel is better suited for couples or families that want to get away than for young/single travelers that want to sunbathe by day and party by night.
If you do stay here, the hotel is veryyy close to Haras Godiva where you can enjoy horseback riding on the beach.
I greatly enjoyed my stay, and would be happy to go back to this hotel when I return to Jose Ignacio.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

reading some of the other reviews it seems like some people don't know what to expect in terms of the location. Jose Ignacio and the surrounding area is amazing fun for New Year and early January if you know people and can be invited to the parties. If you want nightclubs and busy bars, go to La Barra.

After early January, Jose Ignacio and surroundings is quieter but still chic and fun. There is not ATM, there are hardly any taxis, there are only a couple of small shops for groceries - heavenly for some people and not for others. You need to take cash with you. Rent a car.

It isn't fair that people judge this place on location if they were looking for something else. The staff are friendly, the pool is great, it is right by some awesome restaurants that are open in January. I really enjoyed and we would go back either to totally relax or to use as a base in high season.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatharineBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My wife and I decided to book azul based on adds we read over the internet. Once we arrived, reality set in. This was a glorified bed and breakfast in the middle of nowhere with and owner whose primary objective was to rip you off. We need cash and discovered the ATM was a 20 minute drive away. The only way to get to town to get cash was to rent the owners car for $90 USD!!! He is a crook. Also, you felt like you were imposing on his summer home. We ended up taking a bus to La Barra, which was so cool, and move there for a few days, but incurred major costs. Stay away from this place and stay central.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ASavardCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews