We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$56
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$53
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eminent Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$31
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jia by SKYPOD(Kota Kinabalu)
US$44
US$22
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winner Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$34
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seapark Condotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
44
111
60
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
111
60
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach resortbreakfast buffetfew daysout of the waydeluxe roomstayed nightsshuttle servicecouple of daysthis place offersheavy trafficmain buildingenjoyed my staythe check in processrunning aroundnoodlesrooms are nicerelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

5/5 starting from the front desk, bell boy, the chalet-style deluxe room, the welcome drinks & fruits, the breakfast & the view.

We arrived extremely late that night, nearly 130am, flight from Hong Kong for a short 3D2N stay. Despite the timing, we were greeted by the nicest driver ever (who works for the hotel separately). Upon reaching the lobby, the front desk guy greeted us warmly & did all the registration swiftly. We were then brought to our rooms which turned out to be a chalet-style deluxe room (of two levels).

The master bedroom is at the 2nd level which we did not occupy. So the four of us ladies joined two single beds at the first level and made ourselves comfy. However, the toilet at the master bedroom is a definite 5 stars given the size & everything that they provided for their guests. The first level toilet was no different only that it is slightly smaller & the obvious common toilet.

There were more than enough power points to go around & that was really one of the best part of this place. We didn't have to unplug anything to charge 4 mobiles, 1 macbook, 2 cameras & that is only at the first floor!

Usually hotels do not do "top ups" for their complimentary items, but we were really astonished to the fact that this hotel gave us another set (inclusive of fruits!) the following morning after the room service.

The breakfast was a spread and perfect with the view of the beautiful breezy beach.

The only set back is that this hotel is located really far away from everything else (45mins from the city) & if it hadn't for the driver, we couldn't have had an enjoyable stay in KK.

The swimming pool water wasn't cold enough for KK's temperature & it was a little dirty. The slide wasn't working as it isn't really the pvc slide instead it is concrete & barely any sliding works.

Must have:
1) The driver! Makes going everywhere easier & less tiring due to the scorching weather.
2) Itinerary for your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NyssaNyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I am currently staying in this hotel come convention centre, they should rename it from Resort and Spa as this is not what i feel it is. Following reviews on Agoda i went ahead and booked 4 nights here to start my trip in Borneo. I had planned 4 days of R&R (it is advertised as a peaceful resort) before I embark on a wildlife adventure. However I find myself surrounded by university students, locals and hoards of children. The hotel seems to host an endless amount of conventions and family days there is not one place to find some quiet in the resort so i headed for the beach from the pictures i had imagined lush white sand and rippling clean water instead i found Blackpool (England). The beach was scattered with cars full of local families some even using the chairs of the resort, the sand was far from clean and overall the beach was just awful. I retreated to the lobby the one place you are able to get some wifi access and it is overrun with local kids and families checking in for another convention of some sort. The room itself has just been refurbished and we are apparently the first guests in it they have done a nice job with upgrading however the works are still continuing on the block opposite they have done their best to conceal this and noise disruption isn't too bad either they are quiet workers or the sound of all the kids over powers the work!!! I knew the hotel was quite a way from town its $30 return in the hotel run shuttle and takes about 45minutes but I didn't mind its distance as i wanted the quietness away from the hustle and bustle of the city however i now find myself imprisoned with all these people miles from any escape. I am not one for writing bad reviews and in fact this is my first bad one i would advise anyone looking at staying here to check with the hotel for conventions and other goings on before booking if you want some quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Lovely relaxing place,a little out of the way but not a problem, the hotel has a good shuttle bus service to the city at a charge and the reception can arrange other trips/tours. The room was spacious with a large bed comfortable and clean with the usual facilities also an effective aircon system(+fan), doors onto a patio/balcony area with table and chairs and a view of the garden which was lovely, very pleasant to walk around the grounds quite spread out.and very well kept. The pool was also well kept and clean.The staff were great very helpful, friendly, attentive and courteous.(five stars to them). the Cabana restaurant was good quite a good choice will miss the breakfasts, looking out to sea.The beach, lovely, very good for a walk but a little spoiled - a lot of litter. Would recommed the wildlife park at Lok Kawi and the river boat trip was excellent,proboscis and silver monkeys and in the evening fireflies. This is a place that you can do as much or as little as you like with no hastle. Iwould visit again.

Room Tip: Depends what you prefer on room choice -size/family,garden view, pool view, quieter area, private balcony. We found that we could get pretty good internet access on the balcony as we were near the main building.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misswickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you want a typical western chain hotel with all the mod cons and access to shops and nightlife then go elsewhere. If like us you would prefer peace and tranquility, out of the way, with a great natural beach, visits by monkeys and waterbuffalos and happy smiley staff then come here!
The rooms are basic but they were being renovated as we left. We stayed in the studio apartment but should have stayed in a Dinawan which is a little more luxurious. We didn't spend much time in the rooms. When we were not touring the country we spent time at the quiet but very nice pool, swimming and running along the long sandy beach (with great sunsets). We were visited by monkeys and waterbuffalo which was great. Although there is a shuttle bus to KK i suggest hiring a car. It is very easy to get about - we visited Mount Kinabalu (arranging the hike from the UK), a couple of islands off KK (beautiful), Klias wetlands (1hr west - lots and lots of proboscis and silverleaf monkeys and macaques and fire flies) and Lok Kawi zoo. Visiting these places yourself is easy and is much cheaper than booking via a company. The restaurant food was ok but not great. However, the staff more than made up for this - they are so happy and friendly without being overbearing (i.e. if you want to be left alone then you will be!). If we were to stay in northern Sabah again we would definately stay here. If you want to visit Sepilok - be aware it is over 6hrs drive each way. We considered visiting but didn't want to spend so much time travelling. Maybe we will visit Sabah again and stay in the south east near Sandakan. Hope this review helps you chose a hotel...

Room Tip: Choose a Dinawan - more expensive but probably worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulCathyTheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for 4 days over Christmas 2011. We didn't have high expectations due to some of the (quite ridiculous frankly) reviews previously submitted on Trip Advisor!

We have nothing but positives re this place. The staff were FANSTASTIC, extremely obliging, courteous and helpful. The complex itself is big with plenty of space to relax. The beach is lovely for a walk and there were plenty of people swimming in the sea when we were there. Our room was spacious, with aircon and a view of the pool.

The city is only half an hours drive a way (hardly remote as some people have described it) with plenty to do and see. Recommend taking a speed boat to one of the beautiful islands off the coast of KK. The wildlife park is also worth a visit. The extremely helpful ladies at reception will help you with any trips you wish to take.

I'd like to reiterate how great myself and my husband found this hotel - we will be back!

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool view
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyndseyg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews