We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know how to describe it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beringgis Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kinarut
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of my "Roughing It" outdoor camp, stayed 2 nights in hammocks 2 nights here. Wonderful dinner and drinks. My room was very comfy, I watched TV alot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIFESUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 142 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at this resort in March. We found the staff very helpful and always smiling. The restaurant was in a lovely setting over looking the sea. Varied breakfast with good hot coffee. The dinner was well cooked they even made us some garlic bread!. We found a fish restaurant near by on Beringgis river, the hotel will take you and pick you up for a price. We also ate at a restaurant opposite which was an experience. Very cheap about £2.50 for two people (I had fish curry, very good). A waitress called Ida looked afer us and made us a fish head curry which is a local dish which she brought from her home, it was very tasty. Our room was over looking the pool on the second floor it was comfortable, very clean with a view over a field at back where the water buffalo graze. The sea was warm but the jelly fish put us off swimming. We had a kayake for an hour which was good fun. The beach does have litter on it but it is so large that this isn't really too much of a problem just a shame. It is a good thirty minutes to KK from the hotel, It cost about £11.00 by taxi each way or you can take the shuttle from the hotel for a charge. Ladies if you would like pearls go to the market on the sea front in KK and haggle for some wonderful pearls. We used stall 100 for ours. haggle, start from half price. Overall I would go back to this resort very laid back. They are refurbishing the rooms at the moment although I quite like the old style.

Room Tip: When allocated go and check the room and make you own mind up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We arrived quite late from KKIA airport at 3pm another 30 minute ride to the resort. Didn't research on the comments here before arriving, so I didn't know what to expect. My family, 2 adults n 2 children booked a hotel a week before departure and was welcomed to stay in Mawar 5, a double storey terraced building facing the inner park of the resort and the back-also entrance to the neighbouring bush land. The first impression was not as expected, as the room on first floor was designed in English style layout, I ment the room looked old and likeness of colonial buildings was. The bedroom and bathroom was big n clean, but clearly it is suited for village surroundings. Probably it explains why the lizard droppings on the verandah facing the inner park.

We requested for an upgrade thereafter to Dinawan Wing 9, a more expensive and bigger designed room with bath tub and shower and toilet separated. The drawback was can children peek through the venetian blinds from the bedroom to the bath/toilet? Towels and toiletries was adequate, water pressure and heat is strong. Sleep quality was good without noise. Dinner at restaurant was quite expensive, 4 pax at RM120. Service was on the other hand prompt.

Beach was superb and exhilarating from soul searching to plain suntan or clam-treasure searching for the kids. There is a swimming pool at the inner park, one deep for adults and a shallow one complete with water slide for the kids.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the village taste, then go for the Mawar 4, 5 and 6. For more space and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mythalbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed at Berringis for about 3 days and loved it! The resort itself is huge, with its own restaurant and right on the beach (even if you cannot swim there because of jelly fish!) There is a swimming pool in the resort too, which is great. Not to mention, its green all around!
The room that we stayed in was close to the beach, quite spacious, airy and was quite lovely. There is also free wi fi! ...The beds were comfortable and going to sleep, listening to waves cannot go wrong, can it?!
The restaurant has good food and the breakfast buffet is not to be missed.
The only critique I might have is that it is slightly away from the city. So having your own transport is good. Though if you are taking organised tours, most of them will pick you up. The resort also has their own shuttle to drop you into the city (though it comes at a cost)
But overall, its a great place to unwind

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Global_Traveller_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

5/5 starting from the front desk, bell boy, the chalet-style deluxe room, the welcome drinks & fruits, the breakfast & the view.


We arrived extremely late that night, nearly 130am, flight from Hong Kong for a short 3D2N stay. Despite the timing, we were greeted by the nicest driver ever (who works for the hotel separately). Upon reaching the lobby, the front desk guy greeted us warmly & did all the registration swiftly. We were then brought to our rooms which turned out to be a chalet-style deluxe room (of two levels).

The master bedroom is at the 2nd level which we did not occupy. So the four of us ladies joined two single beds at the first level and made ourselves comfy. However, the toilet at the master bedroom is a definite 5 stars given the size & everything that they provided for their guests. The first level toilet was no different only that it is slightly smaller & the obvious common toilet.

There were more than enough power points to go around & that was really one of the best part of this place. We didn't have to unplug anything to charge 4 mobiles, 1 macbook, 2 cameras & that is only at the first floor!

Usually hotels do not do "top ups" for their complimentary items, but we were really astonished to the fact that this hotel gave us another set (inclusive of fruits!) the following morning after the room service.

The breakfast was a spread and perfect with the view of the beautiful breezy beach.

The only set back is that this hotel is located really far away from everything else (45mins from the city) & if it hadn't for the driver, we couldn't have had an enjoyable stay in KK.

The swimming pool water wasn't cold enough for KK's temperature & it was a little dirty. The slide wasn't working as it isn't really the pvc slide instead it is concrete & barely any sliding works.

Must have:
1) The driver! Makes going everywhere easier & less tiring due to the scorching weather.
2) Itinerary for your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NyssaNyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinarut
38.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,458 reviews
21.3 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
23 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
760 reviews
25.8 km away
Gayana Marine Resort
Gayana Marine Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
489 reviews
5.6 km away
Langkah Syabas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beringgis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beringgis Beach Resort

Address: Km 26, Jalan Papar, Kampung Beringgis, K, Kinarut 89600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kinarut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kinarut
Price Range: S$103 - S$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beringgis Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beringgis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beringgis Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing