We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, good value for money. Will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beringgis Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kinarut
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a lovely resort, it is basic but the rooms are clean and have everything you could want. It is also situated directly on the beach, a feature they don't seem to take advantage of (see below). The staff are also very friendly and helpful. People tend to come here for a few days after touring around Borneo. Below I have reviewed a couple of aspects and included my thoughts on easy improvements that could be made:
The Beach - This really could do with a daily clean, just the area the hotel overlooks it would be so much more inviting. Clear the area to the side of the Cabana Restaurant (where volley ball nets are), lay this to lawn, plant a couple of tree's and put some sunbeds and sunshades up, this would vastly improve the area guests (Particularly European) have available to sunbathe. At the moment there are three broken down shades along a sand ledge at the front. It's clear the tide comes to far in to have sunbeds on the actual beach.
Cabana Bar & Restaurant - The bar is good and the happy hour excellent which encourages guests to stay on the premises and spend their money, however the restauarant menu needs improving. How about adding some authentic Malaysian Dishes like, Lhaksa, Rendang, Sayur Manus, chicken curry, noodle soups served traditinaly in a deep bowl. The Oxtail Assam Pedis is excellent, let's have more like this. A large part of visiting your country is to sample your great food, so don't be scared to offer it.
Overall we loved our stay and will definitely come again. A big thanks to all the great staff.

Room Tip: Dinawan Block is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agentwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This is our family trip and was thinking to relax at the beach. However, bad customer service was really spoilt our mood.

First, booking online done through email and was told that BBQ facilities subjected to availability in email. But, 2 days before actual date, called reservation for BBQ facilities confirmation, line passed to cabana restaurant as they did not know about it. From cabana restaurant passed to another section which told us that they are unable to talk in English, must speak Malay. So, we end up cancelled the BBQ plan.

Second, we reached at 1pm and was told that check in time was 2pm. So, we waited until 2pm. Check in process done but was told housekeeping still cleaning might need another half an hour as previous guest checked out at 2pm. All of us lost patience as we paid but did not get the best service supposed to. Receptionist ignored those guests waiting with sour face. 230pm we asked for room key, receptionist smile and asked us 'Sabar la', the housekeeping still cleaning.

Then we requested to talk to manager, whereby she just sat next to him. That's terrible! She only said sorry and get a room to let us rest temporarily.

We only managed to get room key at 3pm whereby room key card stated check in time at 1pm. That's really terrible and bad customer service!

We asked to get special rate as checked in later for 2 hours but no as it is company policy.

What a waste! As we only stayed a night and wasted 2 hours there. Definitely a bad experience in Beringgis resort!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annte21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a quality spot to stay. The hotel was a bit out of the central area, but the vans into town made life easy, and weren't very expensive to take. On a more late night in town it wasn't really that bad to get a taxi back. We had most of what we wanted at the hotel. Nice place, lovely quiet pool area, beach at the back and a nice room.
The staff were really nice, and they kept the room clean too. The complimentary breakfast was pretty nice, especially the fresh eggs section. There was loads of choice too. I'm a stingy traveler so some folks might not agree with my value rating. One thing that has to be said is that the location really is far out of the city, so if you wanna be in town or near the docks for boat trips and outings more often this may not be the spot for you.

Room Tip: You're fine basically anywhere here, beach at one end and pool in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eski1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was looking for a reasonable priced beach resort. As all beach resorts are at 5 star in Kota Kinabalu. Beringgis Beach Resort was the only 3 star and its' facilities are closed to 4 star. The resort has direct access to the beach and having a cool beer with very beautiful sunset.
The pool was nice and relaxing. Beautiful garden, very Fresh seafood BBQ dinner. Breakfast was good and the resort is what we were look for. It was good value for money.

Room Tip: The Dinawan wing is very good and quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

When i first went i wasnt satifiesd because we stayed in a single.room and my second tripw was awesome becuse the room was and we went with family friends so it was great!!!!!! Loved the trrip worth going again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehadverapalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinarut
38.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,456 reviews
21.3 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
23 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
25.8 km away
Gayana Marine Resort
Gayana Marine Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
489 reviews
5.6 km away
Langkah Syabas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beringgis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beringgis Beach Resort

Address: Km 26, Jalan Papar, Kampung Beringgis, K, Kinarut 89600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kinarut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kinarut
Price Range: S$102 - S$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beringgis Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beringgis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beringgis Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing