We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beringgis Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kinarut
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We have now stayed at the Beringgis on a couple of occasions. It suits our needs because it’s on the way to Menumbok where we catch the car ferry to Labuan. It is a comfortable hotel and the location is pleasant enough. It could do with a lot of work and it should not be regarded as a beach “resort”. And we wouldn’t want to be staying there if we didn’t have our own transport (hire car).

For the accommodation that it offers it is good value, and the facilities are of a reasonable standard, including the pool area which is quite good. Staff do their best to please, and breakfast (the only meal we’ve had there) is fairly reasonable.

We will stay at the Beringgis again. The rooms are OK, the staff are friendly and the location is good for us. We probably wouldn’t swim in the ocean, but we have certainly enjoyed walking along the beach. It would be better if wireless internet was in the room rather than just the foyer, but despite the inconvenience the connection was adequate and at least provided an opportunity to check emails.

If you are on a budget and just need somewhere to stay reasonably close to KK from where you will do a few tours, and you want to be near the beach, the Beringgis is worth consideration.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darwin_Dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

Nice 3* hotel with decent reasonably priced restaurant & friendly staff. Good for families or those on a budget, but their cheap rooms should be avoided. Electrical faults were so bad we had to be moved.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My family stayed at standard room of Beringgis for 7 nights to enjoy a lovely summer holiday. With the offer of US$80 per night, Beringgis is really an affordable beachside resort. Not just for the room rate, the restaurant also offers great Malaysian and international cuisine at a very good price.

We love the huge garden right outside your room, the swimming pool with a slide for the kids, and the peaceful beach with small crabs running around during the low-tide. If you live in a crowded city everyday, Beringgis can give you a few days of escape from the concrete and let you enjoy the nature.

Two downsides for this resort. First, the room is quite dusty because the housekeeping does not use vacuum cleaner. The other disadvantage is that it is 45 mins away from downtown. You definitely need to arrange transportation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MikeKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed here twice in June 2010/July 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The staff were very friendly and constantly looked after us.
Meals at the Cabana Lounge were a little dissapointing except breakfas,t that was always great. There is an excellent Seafood Restaurant 2klm down the road and the resort drove us there for MYR10 and also picked us up when finished.
Also an acceptable basic local eatery over the road who are more than obliging.
A very relaxing place for anyone looking to "unwind". Not suitable for party animals.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAZANSYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Again I read reviews of this place that gave me a negative opinion but fortunately I had a hire car so could check the place out before deciding to stay there.
I don't know what some people expect from their hotel/resort but surely you must be realistic about your travel. If you want 5 star comfort then go stay at a 5 star resort.

Myself and my family ( 2 teenage girls) found this place realy good value except for the restaraunt, that was terrible, in fact it served up the worse food we ate on our whole trip.
Fortunately, having a hire car allowed us to give the dinning room a miss except for breakfast which was good ( it is a bit hard to stuff up an omelette)
The 2 Standard rooms we had were big , clean and comfortable with a fridge and movie channel. The bathroom was clean and in good working order.The aircons worked effeciently
Room service was quick and effecient.Given I could buy 3 cans of Tiger beer for 10 ringitt in Papar ( only 10 k's away) I would get a bucket of ice to take them down to the beach, this was free of charge.
The gardens and landscaping were good and added to the pleasant environment of the place
The beach is kept clean out the front of the resort but be aware the whole coast line around KK is filthy ( go for a walk along the beach). If you want beach swimming in crystal clear water than go to Kudat..
My girls swam and kayaked in the beach, along with others, with no ill afects.
The swimming pool is clean though not real big .
We extended our stay by 2 nights we were so happy with the place.
For 161 RM's a night I found the Beringgis very good value and the hotel staff friendly and helpful.
Don't accept the first rate that you are offered,politely demand the local rate.
Don't try to book for a weekend at short notice, the local people and business's use most better hotel/resorts for conventions during this time. The team building activities are amusing to watch and the people at these functions are confined to the convention area and convention dinning room so don't otherwise affect your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olgazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinarut
38.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,455 reviews
21.3 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
23 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
25.8 km away
Gayana Marine Resort
Gayana Marine Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
489 reviews
5.6 km away
Langkah Syabas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beringgis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beringgis Beach Resort

Address: Km 26, Jalan Papar, Kampung Beringgis, K, Kinarut 89600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kinarut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kinarut
Price Range: $102 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beringgis Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beringgis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beringgis Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing