We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

88 - Dunbeacon, Durrus

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
7 nights minimum
Cottage
Detached stone cottage completed in traditional style and standing in large garden with superb westerly views across Dunmanus Bay to the Sheeps Head Peninsular. It is situated in a secluded elevated position about 4 miles from the village of Durrus for nearest shop, pub and restaurant. Nearest beach about a mile. Barley cove for fine sandy beach 13 miles. Sheep's Head Way (45 miles of walks with spectacular coastal paths for walkers and cyclists), winner of the prestigious Eden award. Small lakes, ruined castles, megalithic sites and a wealth of historic monuments. Charming and colourful village of Ballydehob 6 miles. Schull 10 miles for boat trips to the islands. Picnic table and barbecue. Well furnished and equipped with sitting/dining room with multi fuel stove, kitchen, coffee machi...Detached stone cottage completed in traditional style and standing in large garden with superb westerly views across Dunmanus Bay to the Sheeps Head Peninsular. It is situated in a secluded elevated position about 4 miles from the village of Durrus for nearest shop, pub and restaurant. Nearest beach about a mile. Barley cove for fine sandy beach 13 miles. Sheep's Head Way (45 miles of walks with spectacular coastal paths for walkers and cyclists), winner of the prestigious Eden award. Small lakes, ruined castles, megalithic sites and a wealth of historic monuments. Charming and colourful village of Ballydehob 6 miles. Schull 10 miles for boat trips to the islands. Picnic table and barbecue. Well furnished and equipped with sitting/dining room with multi fuel stove, kitchen, coffee machine, conservatory, utility room with washing machine and dryer, bathroom and three bedrooms, one (grd floor) with a double and en suite bathroom with W.C., and stairs to two bedrooms each with a double bed and a separate shower (power) and W.C. Oil fired central heating. Duvets/Blankets. Free to air TV/Soarview TV box, DVD. Radio. Dishwasher. Microwave.  Freezer. Hairdryer. High chair. Travel cot. No smoking. One well behaved pet only. Included: Electricity, Linen, Oil, Towels, WiFi.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
1 Attached (ensuite), 1 Full bath
Show more
About the Manager
Shamrock Cottages (Property Manager Shamrock Cottages)
Languages spoken:English
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:October 2010
Contribute
Reviews (6)
Margaret Z
Margaret Z
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
Me and the frenchie spent days of time scouring the internet to get a remote spot for our week's holiday and boy did we get it. The minute we rounded the driveway and set our sights on this magnificient stone house cuckolded into the mountains and the calmness of Dunmanus Bay in the distance, we were ecstatic. The sun room was by far the best room in the house for us as we ensconsed ourselves on the comfy sofa and watched the sunsets just happen in front of our eyes. By evenings, the frenchie lit the stove in the very comfortable and well laid out sitting/dining room. The house had lots of wood, we loved the old black tiles on the floor and felt really content in this house. It was the perfect base to tour and see the beautiful towns in west cork with their unusual names - Ballydehob, castletownshed with the tree in the middle of the town, Skibereen, Union Hall and Glandore. We enjoyed going to Mizen Head and we spent a very misty day in Cape Clear. Blairs Cove is well worth a visit for a meal and they were very conscious about covid 19. It was thrilling to go through "Goats Pass". The beauty of the region around where Durrus Cheese is made compensated for the fact that the place was closed due to the covid. Everywhere we went, we were flanked on all sides by the reddy orange montbretia and flaming fuschia. We really enjoyed this holiday and the remoteness of the cottage and view made it very special for us. So, keep the fires burning in that stove because we will be back!
Visited August 2020
Written 21 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Meg M
Meg M
33 contributions
If you need to find peace and tranquility in a crazy world, then come here for a week, as my husband and I did. The cottage is beautifully restored, retaining character yet with modern touches, such as new multi-fuel stove, atmospheric lamps and top-quality furniture. The traditional plaster, old tiled floors, stone fireplace and simple sea-themed ornaments all reminded us of our own remote house we had built (now sold) in front of the Skelligs. So it was a privilege, as an artist, to spend time in a similarly crafted, creative environment-even a seahorse, a lighthouse and driftwood as sublime, yet subtle touches. Turning right at the gate leads you to a walking trail over an isolated bog road where you can truly experience peace and alone time, with vistas over the hills and sea below. Special thanks must go to Anna the caretaker, who fulfils the daunting challenge of preparing the house so perfectly and spotlessly for guests, and for answering any queries with kindness and patience. Highly recommended!
Visited August 2020
Written 27 August 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

sueco79
sueco79
14 contributions
Generally well appointed cottage in beautiful surroundings, lovely and quiet. A few little things let it down a bit: 1. The cottage was cold when we arrived, surely it wouldn't cost much to pop the heating on for an hour. The fire was set which was a nice touch. 2. The bed was really uncomfortable and we have done plenty of sleeping out in the woods which have been more comfortable. 3. The oil and electric are not included in the cost. I always think is a bit cheap and leads to a panic at the end of the holiday to go and get cash. The area is a runner and walkers paradise with plenty of good routes on the door step and some truly amazing ones a bit further afield.
Visited December 2019
Written 12 January 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Navigate06889297748
Navigate06889297748
1 contribution
Just returned from a week in this cottage, it is in a stunning location and the cottage itself is lovely, however, it has some issues that need addressing. The garden badly needed mowing and there were weeds all over the patio and step surrounding the cottage, there were 2 sit on mowers in the garage, so can,t understand why this wasn’t,done. The inside of the cottage is very dated and the sun room badly needs decluttering. There were 5 adults on this trip and there were only 2 wine glasses in the cottage,we arrived on the Saturday and then we had no heating from the Monday, luckily, the weather was warm, but we had to rely on an emersion heater to heat the water, which resulted in having to pay 73 euros for the electric at the end of our stay. No washing line to dry our towels etc, the caretaker Anna was really lovely and tried to resolve the heating issue ,but was unable to, which wasn’t,t her fault.Having said all this, we still had a lovely week there, but a little TLC is definately in need for this lovely place
Visited September 2019
Written 22 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RESPONSE FROM COTTAGE OWNER:- Thank you for your review. I’m really sorry that the grass had not been cut prior to your stay. I’ve spoken to the farmer who mows the lawn on a regular basis throughout the season and he said that the grass was too damp to cut around your arrival date and he deliberately avoided using weed killer because it would have been poisonous for your dogs. Your subjective comment of the cottage being ‘dated and cluttered’ is a matter of personal opinion and we have not received that feedback from previous guest who have stayed. Having viewed the inside pictures prior to your booking, you hopefully would have seen the style of the property as to whether it would suit yourself, dogs and other guests. At the start of the season there were 6 x wine glasses, a washing line, a drying rack and a tumble dryer available. I am sorry to hear that some of these items have disappeared and will make sure they are made available again as soon as possible for future guests. I am sorry for the problems you had with the heating during your stay. The boiler is new, having only been installed in 2016 and was recently serviced. Luckily, according to the Meteorological Office, during your stay the temperatures were upwards of 20 degrees centigrade. There were two convector heaters available and obviously the wood burning stove which always keeps everywhere inside the property nice and warm if required. I’ll certainly make sure that ‘reset button’ instructions are visible for future guests. Everything being taken into account, I’m pleased that you had a lovely week at Dunmanus View and hope you had an equally lovely journey back to Birmingham. Best wishes Richard
Written 1 October 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christopher K
Christopher K
Llandysul, United Kingdom7 contributions
This is a great place to stay, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable, in a quiet relaxing and beautiful setting. I would sum this property up as "a few tweaks from perfection " !, it would cost precious little, and take it to the next level,,, perfection ! The wi-fi should be there, just add it to the rental, it takes away precious time from our holiday going shopping for pay as you go mobile vouchers, not appreciated. The TV picture is great, just a pity that we only have 6 channels to choose from, one of which is spoken in Irish, and another which is RTE +1 !. Just buy a soarview box, so that guests can enjoy basic freeview channels like BBC1, BBC2, ITV and Channel 4. The only other thing you need is a washing line, then we are so happy, and can make more of our holiday.
Visited June 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written 30 June 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

caroline h
caroline h
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We visited and stayed in this lovely cottage and it met with all of our expectations. Our children loved the space, exploring the garden, jumping on the trampolene, looking at the wildlife and at the cows in the adjacent field. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this superb location overlooking Dunmanus Bay. Next year we will be back......
Visited September 2015
Written 18 September 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-6 of 6
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Central Heating
Internet Access
Business Travel
Ocean Views
Parking
Private Garden
Towels Provided
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
See more amenities
Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

December 2022

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

January 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Map
+
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2224565517
Frequently Asked Questions about 88 - Dunbeacon, Durrus

88 - Dunbeacon, Durrus is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

88 - Dunbeacon, Durrus has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

88 - Dunbeacon, Durrus has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at 88 - Dunbeacon, Durrus must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.