We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tornquist | 855 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Duck

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Front Exterior of Tornquist
Hot tub and Private Pool
Top-Level Great Room with Deck Access
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
5 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
12 guests
7 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
Come enjoy this property located in the Town of Duck. The private pool invites you to enjoy the kids, or walk just a short way to the ocean. Plenty of decks for relaxing and a hot tub by the private pool make this the perfect destination for your friends and family! Top-Level: Great Room with TV, Wood Fireplace, Deck Access, Kitchen, Dining Table seats 6, Additional Dining Table seats 4, Kitchen with Bar seats 4, Loft doubles as 5th bedroom with Queen Bed and Sofa; Queen Bedroom with Deck Access, shares access to Hall Bathroom with Whirlpool. Mid-Level: Queen Bedroom with Deck Access; Queen Bedroom with Deck Access; Bedroom with Bunk Bed and Queen; Hall Bathroom. Ground-Level: Outside Shower and Cabana Half Bathroom. Extras: Private Pool (16 x 32), Hot Tub (4), Wireless Internet Acces...Come enjoy this property located in the Town of Duck. The private pool invites you to enjoy the kids, or walk just a short way to the ocean. Plenty of decks for relaxing and a hot tub by the private pool make this the perfect destination for your friends and family! Top-Level: Great Room with TV, Wood Fireplace, Deck Access, Kitchen, Dining Table seats 6, Additional Dining Table seats 4, Kitchen with Bar seats 4, Loft doubles as 5th bedroom with Queen Bed and Sofa; Queen Bedroom with Deck Access, shares access to Hall Bathroom with Whirlpool. Mid-Level: Queen Bedroom with Deck Access; Queen Bedroom with Deck Access; Bedroom with Bunk Bed and Queen; Hall Bathroom. Ground-Level: Outside Shower and Cabana Half Bathroom. Extras: Private Pool (16 x 32), Hot Tub (4), Wireless Internet Access, DVD player, Wood Fireplace, Charcoal Grill, No Smoking, PETS NOT ALLOWED, Parking: 6 Cars, Distance to the Beach: 855 ft. Additional amenity details:  Private Pools are open from April 29, 2022 until October 14, 2022, April 28, 2023 until October 15, 2023, and May 3, 2024 until October 18, 2024. This property is not equipped for pool heat. Pool heat is not an option for this property. Hot tubs are available year-round. Wood fireplaces are shut down from May 15 until September 15. All Outer Banks Blue properties provide bed linens and bath towels for a small fee added to every reservation. We provide 1 bath towel and wash cloth per advertised occupant. We provide 1 hand towel, 1 bar of soap, and 2 makeup removing wipes per bathroom sink. We also provide kitchen towels. Beds are made prior to your arrival, and we provide a starter supply of toilet paper, bathroom soap, paper towels, and dishwasher detergent. Outer Banks Blue makes every commercially reasonable effort to maintain reliable information about the vacation rental properties we manage. As such, all information and descriptions are subject to daily updates and changes. We are not responsible for changes in furnishing, inventory, and décor implemented by the individual homeowners. Photos, virtual tours, and floor plans are meant to be illustrative in nature. All vacation rental information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. If you have any questions please give us a call. ** The high chair seen in photos is no longer at the property. If baby equipment is needed local rental options can be provided. **More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
2 Full baths
About the Manager
Outer Banks Blue
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:5%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:September 2008
Contribute
Reviews (22)
Kathi B
Kathi B
West Chester, PA3 contributions
This was our first vacation in 10 years with our whole family, children and grandchildren, and it could not have been nicer. We're taking away many great memories. We were extremely happy with the home and its location to the beach (just a short walk) and into the lovely town of Duck. The pool was fantastic and enjoyed tremendously by the children. The bedrooms were spacious and the views from the decks were amazing. The house was very clean upon our arrival and loved the keyless entry. Our one small minor complaint would be that the internet went down most of the week and the televisions need updating. I would definitely return to the house again.
Visited August 2013 Travelled with family
Written 13 August 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

marbogas2 -:- Orange Va
We had a wonderful time. Now I do have some recommendations. The mattress in the bedroom by the bath down stairs was terrible. My daughter is still having problems from sleeping in a hole in the middle of bed. It just pulls you down and both people are falling to middle. It is enough of a problem that we would not consider the home next year. Also we fixed the gate. It needs a new post. It would also be nice to have a beach umbrella and some chairs available to use. The electricity was not working in half of the house and we got it fixed after the weekend. We also missed the nice coffeepot that was there the year before. All in all we had a wonderful vacation.
Visited June 2013
Written 19 July 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Harold -:- New Jersey
This was my family's first time visiting the Outer banks. We loved the house and it's location with regards to the proximity of the beach. The pool was also very nice. We've been renting vacation homes for the past 25 years, this was the first home we've rented that was really bare bones. Not even a sponge or detergent to wash the dishes. Of course you have to buy groceries and toiletries but here we had to buy everything but the kitchen sink. Another huge turn off when on vacation is having a terrible nights sleep because of the beds... the beds seriously need to be updated. There wasn't one bedroom with a comfortable bed. I don't remember the last time we rented a home that didn't have flat screen televisions. Need to upgrade. The blender didn't work, the toaster only worked on one side. It's a great house, on a great location... just need to upgrade and think about at least supplying salt & pepper. :)
Visited July 2013
Written 18 July 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Hebecker8, Thanks for your review of Tornquist. This vacation rental home is conveniently located in Duck, and we love the pool at this house too. Sorry to hear about your comments regarding the deficiencies of the property particularly the beds and televisions. We will be sure to pass this information along to the homeowners. We do not supply anything more than the starter supply of diswash detergent, toilet paper, and paper towels. We apologize that you were unaware of this. We do of course provide all the sheets and towels (beds made too) at no extra charge, but we've just never had a demand for more than a starter supply of items. Thanks again for your feedback. We look foward to serving you again soon. All the best from the beach!
Written 18 July 2013. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christine -:- Mahwah NJ
We have stayed in this house for 2 years and love it. There is plenty of room in the spacious house and it has 2 great wrap around decks. It is close to the beach and a short walk to the bay and shops. The pool and hot tub were a must! The house was spotless when we arrived and the keyless entry was great. Only thing missing was a picnic table for outside.
Visited August 2012
Written 27 August 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lmgck -:- Canton, Ohio
We had several problems with our stay that were unfortunate... We had an ant problem, the air conditioning broke mid-week and when we first got there the place was dirty...not how you want to start a vacation! The house was nice but in need of a major deep cleaning. Our disappointment with cleanliness was due to the fact that the cleaning service left spilled food in the fridge, dead bugs on the window sills, the bathrooms had not been cleaned and we found several things left behind from last visitors...like prescriptions in the bathroom drawers. The pool was great...bigger than most. Mixed emotions on this one...probably would't recommend unless you knew some staring changes were made with cleaners.
Visited July 2012
Written 5 August 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ms. Kandel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on "Tornquist." As you can see by the other reviews on this property we are not used to seeing something less than very good regarding this property. It would seem your largest concern was with cleanliness, but unfortunately we never heard from you during your stay so these issues could not be resolved during your stay. The house did in fact have a deep clean done just a few weeks prior to your stay, but of course the houses are heavily used during guest stays and require a great deal of effort to clean properly. It is not an easy job to leave the property in a condition such that it looks like no one has ever used the property (week after week). We can assure you that the house was fully cleaned prior to your stay and the items you point out now could have been corrected in the matter of a few minutes. The ant issue was of course called in to us and we had an exterminator dispatched to the property to correct the issue the same day you called. The a/c that broke actually was just the matter of a less than 5 minute services call as the problem was a tripped circuit breaker which does happen when renting another person's home. We think in retrospect you would agree that "Tournquist" is an excellent value in a super location and your review is slightly over dramatic. Our other guests in this property have consistently said that this house is a great value and so the house rarely has openings for new guests.
Written 5 August 2012. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

The Knight's -:- Richmond, VA
Tornquist is an absolutely wonderful beach house. There is so much room, a huge kitchen, the most wonderful pool...best you will ever have and a great hot tub. Our family had a wonderful time! We had a Keurig coffee maker!!! Our favorite. Reason for a couple of less than five stars is that some mattresses need updating as well as a some of the pans in the kitchen. Other than that it is perfect!!!
Visited September 2011
Written 28 September 2011. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

LD -:- Connecticut
The house was nice but things could have been updated and cleaned better. Good location not far from the shops and the beach.
Visited July 2011
Written 18 August 2011. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

etc -:- richmond, va
the proximaity to beach is excellent as well as proximity to town of Duck. Liked keyless entry and beds made, towels provided. House needs a little updating but has all the necessities.
Visited July 2011
Written 11 August 2011. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jay -:- Northern Virginia
The outside of the house is mildly deceptive, but the inside is pretty good. The house is very nicely kept and labelling everything in the house was definitely a plus. The pool gave us a bit of trouble with the jets, but the pool guy came over quick to fix it in under 30 mins. Overall a great time, very short walk to the beach as well.
Visited July 2011
Written 10 August 2011. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Arbogast -:- Charlottesville, VA
We love this house because it has plenty of room for our family of 8. The distance to the beach is fantastic, we love the location in Duck. We can walk to shopping and dinner. We also enjoy the pool because we've got young children ages 5,2, and 1. We can stroll down to the beach and come back and jump in the pool, bake in the sun, and hang out on the nice deck. We love not having a key. The keypad is great. This is our 2nd year at this house and likely will always be our house every year. We only wish we could get free internet. That is the only downside really. Oh, the price is the best we've seen. That is the main reason we choose this home. The price can't be beat by any other house or company that we've investigated and for the location and all of the amenities, nothing can compare.
Visited June 2010
Written 12 July 2010. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 22
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Air Conditioning
Grill
Central Heating
Deck
Dishwasher
Dryer
Fireplace
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Hot Tub
Business Travel
Microwave
Parking
Private Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
Washer
Wi-Fi
See more amenities
Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

December 2022

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

January 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Come enjoy this property located in the Town of Duck. The private pool invites you to enjoy the kids, or walk just a short way to the ocean. Plenty of decks for relaxing and a hot tub by the private pool make this the perfect destination for your friends and family! Top-Level: Great Room with TV, Wood Fireplace, Deck Access, Kitchen, Dining Table seats 6, Additional Dining Table seats 4, Kitchen with Bar seats 4, Loft doubles as 5th bedroom with Queen Bed and Sofa; Queen Bedroom with Deck Access, shares access to Hall Bathroom with Whirlpool. Mid-Level: Queen Bedroom with Deck Access; Queen Bedroom with Deck Access; Bedroom with Bunk Bed and Queen; Hall Bathroom. Ground-Level: Outside Shower and Cabana Half Bathroom. Extras: Private Pool (16 x 32), Hot Tub (4), Wireless Internet Acces...
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2222042565
Frequently Asked Questions about Tornquist | 855 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Duck

Tornquist | 855 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Duck is able to accommodate up to 12 guests. See all property details.

Tornquist | 855 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Duck has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Tornquist | 855 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Duck has 5 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Tornquist | 855 ft from the beach | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Duck must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.