We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Shelter | Ocean Side | Private Pool, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly | Duck

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Front Exterior of Sea Shelter
Top-Level  Great Room with Deck Access
Top-Level  Great Room with Deck Access
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
8 bedrooms
5 bathrooms
18 guests
3 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
New for 2023: Property will become dog friendly as of September 11, 2022. “Sea Shelter” is a great value beach house for your family vacation! 8 bedrooms and 5 baths gives you the space you need for everyone, plus it is in the middle of Duck Village. You can walk to the beach without having to cross a busy street in the Saltaire subdivision. Private parking at the beach is available for a single "supply" vehicle. Take a walk around the village to check out the sites, do some shopping, or take the kids to the town playground. The expanded Boardwalk entrance across the street winds along the Sound for sunset, wildlife and shopping strolls. At the house the private pool and hot tub gives you a place to unwind and the kids to play, or take a walk around the village to check out the sites, do ...New for 2023: Property will become dog friendly as of September 11, 2022. “Sea Shelter” is a great value beach house for your family vacation! 8 bedrooms and 5 baths gives you the space you need for everyone, plus it is in the middle of Duck Village. You can walk to the beach without having to cross a busy street in the Saltaire subdivision. Private parking at the beach is available for a single "supply" vehicle. Take a walk around the village to check out the sites, do some shopping, or take the kids to the town playground. The expanded Boardwalk entrance across the street winds along the Sound for sunset, wildlife and shopping strolls. At the house the private pool and hot tub gives you a place to unwind and the kids to play, or take a walk around the village to check out the sites, do some shopping or take the kids to the town playground. The ground level rec room has a wet bar and mini fridge convenient from the pool for snacks and drinks. Two king master bedrooms is a sweet treat too! Duck Village is known for its charm, shops and village ambiance. The house is located right in the middle of Duck Village for an easy walk for shopping, meals, coffee or just strolling along the waterfront.  Top-Level: Great Room with TV, DVD, Game Table seats 4, Deck access with Sound View, Kitchen with Bar seats 4, Dining Table seats 10, King Bedroom with TV and Deck Access, shares access to Hall Bathroom. Mid-Level: King Master Bedroom with TV, Deck Access, and 2 Sink Vanity; King Bedroom with TV and Deck Access; Bedroom with 2 Twin Beds has TV with DVD; Bedroom with Duo Bunk and TV;  Hall Bathroom Ground-Level: Rec Room with TV, Wet Bar with Mini Fridge, Access to Patio leading to Gated Pool Deck and Hot Tub, King Master Bedroom with TV; Bedroom with Duo Bunk and TV, Shares Access with Hall Bathroom; King Bedroom with TV; Laundry with Washer/Dryer. Extras: Private Pool (11 x 22), Hot Tub, Wireless Internet Access, Pool Table, Gas and Charcoal Grill, No Smoking, Dogs Allowed, Parking: 4 Cars, Distance to the Beach: 2700 ft. Additional amenity details:  Private Pools are open from April 29, 2022 until October 14, 2022, April 28, 2023 until October 15, 2023, and May 3, 2024 until October 18, 2024. This property is not equipped for pool heat. Pool heat is not an option for this property. Pets are not allowed in pools under any circumstances. An additional fee will be charged to the leaseholder for the chemical balance, cleaning, or damage that would cause the replacement of a vinyl pool liner. Hot tubs are available year-round. All Outer Banks Blue properties provide bed linens and bath towels for a small fee added to every reservation. We provide 1 bath towel and wash cloth per advertised occupant. We provide 1 hand towel, 1 bar of soap, and 2 makeup removing wipes per bathroom sink. We also provide kitchen towels. Beds are made prior to your arrival, and we provide a starter supply of toilet paper, bathroom soap, paper towels, and dishwasher detergent. Outer Banks Blue makes every commercially reasonable effort to maintain reliable information about the vacation rental properties we manage. As such, all information and descriptions are subject to daily updates and changes. We are not responsible for changes in furnishing, inventory, and décor implemented by the individual homeowners. Photos, virtual tours, and floor plans are meant to be illustrative in nature. All vacation rental information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. If you have any questions please give us a call.   Additional amenities: Pool TableMore
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
5 Full baths
About the Manager
Outer Banks Blue
Languages spoken:English
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:September 2008
Contribute
Reviews (2)
Betty H
Betty H
1 contribution
The first thing upon entering was the filthy carpet, stairs with food crumbs, and poorly made beds. All the sliding doors to outside decks and railings were dirty and covered in cobwebs. The price we paid for our week should have provided us with clean and well maintained facility. There were many broken items and should have been remedied by Outbanksblue had they previewed the property in advance.
Visited July 2019
Written 4 August 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Connector49787633040
Connector49787633040
This is the response I provided for the previous review since you are the same group. Sea Shelter is a lovely vacation rental and a great value, especially for an 8 bedroom property. Guests seem to be having a very different experience than you and I think this has to do with our recommendations being ignored. Midges are an unfortunately pest on the Outer Banks. The Town of Duck seems to get them the worst lately. They have a short life span but show up in huge numbers and die within a day or two usually staying stuck to the exterior of the property until removed. We did send someone out on Wednesday to power-wash them off. If you leave your lights on all night they will swarm your vacation rental, which was the case here. We did advise you of this. You also left the doors propped open, over and over, which let them in and made things worse. We also advised you against this. We sent housekeeping twice to get rid of the bugs that got in. We sent a carpet cleaner twice to remove the stain, because you complained about it twice, but you refused the service both times (we had to take care of it in-between guests). The one broken shower door (not multiple) was fixed the next day, we apologize for that inconvenience and wish the previous guest had reported it. I think sometimes people think when they break something they're going to be charged for it so they don't always speak up. The bunk bed has a loose rail, which once we were made aware we fixed right away. I'm sorry you felt these things that went wrong were our responsibility. We do wish we caught the bunk bed railing and shower door before you had arrived; for that we do apologize.
Written 8 August 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thankina
Thankina
Seattle, WA3 contributions
ST005-Sea Shelter is disgusting and was filfty. The rental agency - Outer Banks Blue didn't preview the property prior to renting it . We took extensive photos of the stained carpets, dead insects lining all the sliding and outer doors, outdoor tables. Broken shower doors where one member of the family couldn't exit and had to take a panel apart to exit, Midges (similar to mosquitoes but don't bite) occupied the downstairs the minute the door opened at night. covering the walls and ceilings. Requested housekeeping who the next day had to vaccum them off walls and ceilings. Bunk bed broken, overall poorly maintained. Outer Banks Blue should be held responsible. Never rent thru this agency.
Visited July 2019
Written 3 August 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Connector49787633040
Connector49787633040
Sea Shelter is a lovely vacation rental and a great value, especially for an 8 bedroom property. Guests seem to be having a very different experience than you and I think this has to do with our recommendations being ignored. Midges are an unfortunately pest on the Outer Banks. The Town of Duck seems to get them the worst lately. They have a short life span but show up in huge numbers and die within a day or two usually staying stuck to the exterior of the property until removed. We did send someone out on Wednesday to power-wash them off. If you leave your lights on all night they will swarm your vacation rental, which was the case here. We did advise you of this. You also left the doors propped open, over and over, which let them in and made things worse. We also advised you against this. We sent housekeeping twice to get rid of the bugs that got in. We sent a carpet cleaner twice to remove the stain, because you complained about it twice, but you refused the service both times (we had to take care of it in-between guests). The one broken shower door (not multiple) was fixed the next day, we apologize for that inconvenience and wish the previous guest had reported it. I think sometimes people think when they break something they're going to be charged for it so they don't always speak up. The bunk bed has a loose rail, which once we were made aware we fixed right away. I'm sorry you felt these things that went wrong were our responsibility. We do wish we caught the bunk bed railing and shower door before you had arrived; for that we do apologize.
Written 8 August 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-2 of 2
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Air Conditioning
Grill
Central Heating
Deck
Dishwasher
Dryer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Hot Tub
Business Travel
Microwave
Parking
Private Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
Washer
Wi-Fi
See more amenities
Availability
November 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
New for 2023: Property will become dog friendly as of September 11, 2022. “Sea Shelter” is a great value beach house for your family vacation! 8 bedrooms and 5 baths gives you the space you need for everyone, plus it is in the middle of Duck Village. You can walk to the beach without having to cross a busy street in the Saltaire subdivision. Private parking at the beach is available for a single 'supply' vehicle. Take a walk around the village to check out the sites, do some shopping, or take the kids to the town playground. The expanded Boardwalk entrance across the street winds along the Sound for sunset, wildlife and shopping strolls. At the house the private pool and hot tub gives you a place to unwind and the kids to play, or take a walk around the village to check out the sites, do ...
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2229207235