We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SPECIAL AT RETREAT - Amazing Views - Free HBO & WiFi - 2 Miles to Downtown

30 reviews
Save
Winter with snow in the valley....
All time favorite reading spot
View from the master bedroom window
1 of 46Winter with snow in the valley....
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
4 guests
5 nights minimum
Cabin Holiday Rental
You can see North Carolina, Georgia & Tennessee From The Retreat Cabin! SPECIAL! I'm running a special from Monday June 29 with a departure on Monday July 13....Because of the Coronavirus cleaning policy I'm only taking reservations for two weeks (or more). Please email for the prices for those two weeks.. Coronavirus Update: Murphy, NC has lifted restrictions on vacation rentals, hotels, shops and restaurants. We have decided to reopen our Retreat cabin for rentals and are putting in place the following precautions, guidelines and commitments to our guests. For the foreseeable future our cabin will have 3 days vacancy on either side of each rental for our cleaners and guests safety. Because of that, until further notice we will only accpt 1 week rentals. Let me be clear: This ...You can see North Carolina, Georgia & Tennessee From The Retreat Cabin! SPECIAL! I'm running a special from Monday June 29 with a departure on Monday July 13....Because of the Coronavirus cleaning policy I'm only taking reservations for two weeks (or more). Please email for the prices for those two weeks.. Coronavirus Update: Murphy, NC has lifted restrictions on vacation rentals, hotels, shops and restaurants. We have decided to reopen our Retreat cabin for rentals and are putting in place the following precautions, guidelines and commitments to our guests. For the foreseeable future our cabin will have 3 days vacancy on either side of each rental for our cleaners and guests safety. Because of that, until further notice we will only accpt 1 week rentals. Let me be clear: This house is the bomb diggety! My Cabin is 'artsy, crafts, cozy' with tasteful furnishings and personal touches throughout. It's perfect, it really is! The Retreat Above The Clouds in Murphy, NC features a screened in porch that is carpeted and feels like an extension of the living/dining area. The porch has killer views of Murphy, Tennessee and Georgia, a dining table for outside dining, 2 rockers and a lounge chair. I guarantee you, weather permitting, you'll spend all your time out there. Right below the porch is an open deck taking full advantage of the ever changing mountain views. It's glorious. The deck has a great swing, picnic table, lounge chair and gas grill. The cabin is perched on the side of a cliff and the cabin itself is not childproof, so we don't allow children here at the Retreat. UNLESS of course, you'd like to cozy up on one of three recliners or the oversized couch to watch a movie on the flat screen TV with the Direct TV extended viewing package (Choice Extra Classic and HBO premium) or read a good book sitting next to the stone fireplace with a remote controlled gas burning insert. The kitchen is a newly redesign kitchen will make you feel right at home. It's small but everything you need to make the perfect meal is there for you. Coffee maker, crock pot, toaster, blender, some spices, micro, dishwasher and whatever else you may need. There is a half bath on the main floor as well. On the second floor are two homey furnished bedrooms. The stairs are steep so if your not good on stairs, contact me as I have other options. The master bedroom has an super comfortable king size bed, lots of closet and dresser space and a flat screen TV that's mounted near the ceiling for perfect 'in bed TV viewing'. The guest bedroom has a queen bed, a dresser and Trigger, my very cool rocking horse that I am in the process of re-doing. Both bedrooms have great views from the large windows. The full bath is upstairs as well. It's small but super cute. We have an iron and ironing board, washer and dryer, central air and heat....the whole shebang. Our location is fantastic. I'm not kidding. From the wildlife to the views, you will feel that you are miles from no-where, when in effect you’ll be only two miles from downtown, 4 miles from Wal-Mart, and 7.5 miles from John Campbell Folk School. We're 5 miles from the new Harrah's Cherokee Casino, but again, you'll feel like your out in the woods on our very private and exclusive mountain. While there are about 10 homes on our private mountain, there is no one directly on either side of the cabin. All the windows, sliders, porch and deck face out toward the back so the view is of the mountain ranges....and again; At the 'Retreat', being outdoors is where it's at... I have spent 6 years fixing up the 'Retreat' and I've put my heart and soul in it. It's one of my most favorite places. I think it will be yours too. I give short notice discounts (booking 7 days or less before arrival). Again: Remember this isn't a cabin that is suitable for children (I'm sorry, I have two boys so it's not personal) and there are stairs to get to the bedrooms so this is not a cabin for persons with limited mobility. More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
Both Bedrooms are upstairs and the staircase is steep so if you have any health issues or problems going up stairs this is not the cabin if you have mobility problems. There is also one small step up to each bedroom and there are stairs going from the main floor covered porch to the bottom open deck. This isn't a cabin that is suitable for children (I'm sorry, I have two boys so it's not personal).
Bathrooms
1 Full bath, 1 Half bath
Show more
About the Owner
Joanie W
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:83%
Response Time:Within a day
Listed Since:July 2014
Write a reviewReviews (30)

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2020

Great place. Clean and had anything you could need readily available. Great location for hiking, biking, rafting, wineries and everything else!

Date of stay: June 2020
1  Thank GMW-GLMW
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Reviewed 28 October 2019

More

Date of stay: October 2019
Reviewed 8 June 2019

First, the cabin is neat, clean, nicely equipped and has beautiful mountain views. There is an open deck and a screened-in deck with lovely, upscale furnishings to make deck naps mandatory! Gas grill makes it great for cooking-in evenings. We went to the casino, drove...More

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Keith W
Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

This was our first time on a vacation where we didn’t stay in a hotel. We had an amazing stay at the cabin. The scenery was beautiful. The cabin was comfortable and felt like home. The fireplace gave it that perfect touch (since it was...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Mstesa72
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

This cabin had a gorgeous mountain view along with trees and nature, including birds and squirrels. The location is super close to town, which was great, and having wifi was a plus. We enjoyed the fireplace as well. It was near perfect and we are...More

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Paula R
Management response:Responded 20 January 2018

Thanks so much Paula, we loved having you there.

See more reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

There is the most spectacular view from this cabin. Everything is there to make your stay enjoyable. We got to enjoy a totally unexpected pleasure when we awoke on Friday morning to find the mountain covered in snow, a lot of it! You cannot imagine...More

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Ron P
Management response:Responded 14 December 2017

Thank you so much for staying at the Retreat, we just loved having you there. I loved, loved, loved the pictures of the snow that you sent me! I have looked at them over and over because I've never seen that much snow on our...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017

My wife and I came up to get out of the way of Hurricane Irma and staying here was a last minute decision and opportunity and our first trip to Murphy, NC. First of all, Joanie was incredible and went out of her way to...More

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank Mark W
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We stayed for a whole week at the retreat from the end of April to early May. Our stay was absolutely magnificent, in spite of the weather not cooperating. The title of this review COMFORT IS THE KEY TO LIFE is what I always say...More

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Vic S
Management response:Responded 28 May 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful review Victor and a special thank you for taking such good care of my cabin and for leaving it so nice. I really appreciate that!!! I do hope you come back to the Retreat because I love sharing...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We love this place! I would love to keep it to myself but that really wouldn't be too nice. First of all, the view is .just amazingly spectacular. You look out over a valley surrounded by mountains from the whole rear of the house. The...More

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank SharonK561
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Joanie's home is most beautifully decorated and well equipped. With the covered and screened in porch, I spent many hours at the home itself while I was there. On cooler days the fireplace was a very welcome source of warmth and made one feel even...More

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank Mamasan2014
Management response:Responded 10 April 2017

Oh Thank you Tanya for the beautiful cabins you left for me and the card . Also, My cleaner was so touched that you left her a card and chocolates.....that was SO nice of you. I wish you had let me know about wanting walking...More

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
Air Conditioning
Alarm Clock
Grill
Blender
Books
Ceiling Fans
Central Heating
Deck
Dishwasher
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Hairdryer
Internet Access
Iron
Linens Provided
Local Guides/Maps
Microwave
Mountain Views
Outdoor Dining Area
Paper Towels Provided
Parking
Porch
Private Garden
Safe
Cable/satellite TV
Shared Garden
Cooker
Telephone
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
June 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
River and lake fishing, Hiking, Boating & pontoon boating, John Campbells Folks School (free Friday Night Concerts and Tuesday Night Square Dancing), White River Rafting, Ziplining, Renown Field of the Woods, Hiawassee Dam and Lake, Hanging Dog Lake, Lake Chatuge, Blue Ridge Scenic Railroad, Flea Markets, Antique Shops, Golfing, Konehete River Walk/Park/Rec Center/Tennis Courts (4 miles away) Downtown Murphy (2 miles away), Horseback riding, Kayaking in the Natahala or Ocoee, Mountain Biking, Appalachian Trials, Scenic Cherohala Skyway,
Access
Car recommended
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Still can't find what you're looking for?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2224798322
Frequently Asked Questions about SPECIAL AT RETREAT - Amazing Views - Free HBO & WiFi - 2 Miles to Downtown

SPECIAL AT RETREAT - Amazing Views - Free HBO & WiFi - 2 Miles to Downtown is able to accommodate up to 4 guests. See all property details.

SPECIAL AT RETREAT - Amazing Views - Free HBO & WiFi - 2 Miles to Downtown has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

SPECIAL AT RETREAT - Amazing Views - Free HBO & WiFi - 2 Miles to Downtown has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at SPECIAL AT RETREAT - Amazing Views - Free HBO & WiFi - 2 Miles to Downtown must last at least 5 nights. See all property details.