We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spurrell's Heritage Home

16 reviews
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
1 night minimum
Holiday Rental House
Spurrell's Heritage Home is a newly renovated Newfoundland rental cottage nestled on an oceanfront beach in a quiet cove. Situated on the land his Great Grandmother bought in 1930, owner Dustin Spurrell, has recreated a vacation home that has been said to be the best kept secret around. This classic but modern Newfoundland cottage offers breathtaking views of the ocean and rugged coastline and provides the possibility of majestic encounters with icebergs, whales and eagles right from your front door. Truly an authentic Newfoundland experience your family will remember forever. This cottage-style vacation home is situated amongst century old fishing stages that provide a glimpse into Newfoundland's past and times gone by. Imagine being able to relax and fall to sleep to the gentle sounds...Spurrell's Heritage Home is a newly renovated Newfoundland rental cottage nestled on an oceanfront beach in a quiet cove. Situated on the land his Great Grandmother bought in 1930, owner Dustin Spurrell, has recreated a vacation home that has been said to be the best kept secret around. This classic but modern Newfoundland cottage offers breathtaking views of the ocean and rugged coastline and provides the possibility of majestic encounters with icebergs, whales and eagles right from your front door. Truly an authentic Newfoundland experience your family will remember forever. This cottage-style vacation home is situated amongst century old fishing stages that provide a glimpse into Newfoundland's past and times gone by. Imagine being able to relax and fall to sleep to the gentle sounds of the ocean rolling onto the beach. At Spurrell's Heritage Home this is a possibility in every room. Experience Newfoundland and spend your vacation at Spurrell's Heritage Home. Located just 5 minutes away from the Historic Town of Trinity and 15 minutes from Port Rexton (Port Rexton Brewery & Skirwink Trail). Open year round!! The front entrance, porch, kitchen, dining room, stairway, landing and double bedroom is the old structure which was my late Grandmother's one bedroom cabin (from the outside it looks like a barn shaped structure). The landing at the top of the steps was where the washroom was located. During the renovation process we removed the washroom and added a skylight. We also added a skylight in the double bedroom. No other interior walls were removed or relocated. The living room, laundry room, 1/2 bathroom, master bedroom and full washroom is completely new.More
House Rules
Bathrooms
Show more
About the Owner
Dustin S
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:May 2015
Interaction with guests
Once you book your reservation, I will send you a confirmation email with all necessary information for check in. Should you require any assistance a member of my family will come by. Full exclusive use of house and property. Please access the shed for wood to have a fire in either our fire pit or on the beach.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)

11 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016

This place is beautiful. The interior is very well maintained and updated. There is a laundry and dryer, full kitchen and two beds. Beds were very comfortable and the view from the master was incredible . This is a must stay to feel like one...More

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Andrew P
Management response:Responded 19 September 2016

Thank you for the kind words Andrew. We have new blinds ordered. With a busy season we had no time to get in and install them once we were made aware of the issue. This will be done this week however; with a 2 day...More

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Beautiful location, very clean, everything you need available. Communication with the owner very quick and directions were clear. When we first arrived we were so excited by the beach, the view, the surrounding hills and the beautiful house. My only complaint, but for me it...More

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank dmparadise
Management response:Responded 10 August 2016

Thank you very much for you feedback. It is very important to us. The recreational cod fishery in the area is open for 3 weeks from late July into August. I advise this to guest(s) when they book because some may embrace the experience and...More

See more reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We loved are 3 day stay at Spurrell's Heritage Home. The instructions sent on how to get to the home and the signage on the way into the property were all very good and we had no difficulty finding the place. We enjoyed sitting on...More

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank Linda M
Management response:Responded 19 July 2016

Thank you so much for your review, I really appreciate it. The kitchen area, dining room, stairwell, landing and double bedroom was part of my Grandmother's home. I decided to keep the original layout as a bit of extra charm for the house when I...More

A FlipKey verified reviewer
41
Reviewed 13 July 2016

More

Date of stay: July 2016
Management response:Responded 14 July 2016

More

Reviewed 29 June 2016

I loved it - had a great weekend, exploring Trinity and Bonavista. The cottage was beautiful and clean. The little cove was so peaceful and private. Waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach - what could be more peaceful than...More

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank sandraforward
Management response:Responded 30 June 2016

Hi Sandra. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We really enjoyed you staying with us. Hope to hear from you again some tome. Have a great summer!

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Suitable For Children Under 5
Refrigerator
Washer
Outdoor Dining Area
Towels Provided
Ocean Views
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Cycling Trips
Ceiling Fans
Hairdryer
Water Park Nearby
TV
Parking
Rural/Countryside Retreats
City Getaway
Linens Provided
Internet Access
Toaster
Cooker
Grill
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
Fishing Nearby
Alarm Clock
Water Views
Dryer
Freezer
Housekeeping Optional
Cable/satellite TV
Waterfront
Iron
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Hiking Trips
Good Nightlife
Microwave
Balcony
Skiing: Property Is In A Ski Resort
Wi-Fi
Kettle
Watersports Nearby
Terrace
Patio
Fireplace
Deck
See more amenities
Is this holiday rental renovated / up-to-date?YesNoUnsure
Availability
July 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
See more rates and fees
Map
About the neighbourhood
Spurrell's Heritage Home is located in Dunfield (the community where I was born and raised). My family has lived there since the mid 1800's. It is only a short 5 minute drive from Historic Trinity and 15 minutes from Port Rexton (Skerwink Trail and Port Rexton Brewery). Bonavista is approximately a 50 minute drive. Random Passage, Joe's Bar and Rugged Beauty Boat Tours are located in New Bonaventure, just a short 15 minute drive.
Getting around
There is no public transit in our area. There may be taxi service available. Please speak with one of the locals as it changes yearly.
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2226586853